BILLY WOODS & KENNY SEGAL - Hiding Places

We didn't really notice that last year, when listening to Armand Hammer's third album, Paraffin, but Kenny Segal contributed to two tracks in there. If we had paid even more attention, we would have noted that this old acquaintance from the West Coast underground scene had participated to his previous project as well, Rome. It is through Elucid that the New-York duo connected with that heir of the Project Blowed community. In 2015, they had worked together on So the Flies don't Come, the album from Milo (well, milo...), produced by Kenny Segal. But after last year's joint effort, it is with the other half of Armand Hammer, Billy Woods (well, billy woods...) that the Californian teamed up, and delivered one of the best albums of 2019 so far.

BILLY WOODS & KENNY SEGAL - Hiding Places

Kenny Segal is the one who took the initiative: he proposed a restricted selection of beats to Billy Woods. However, when listening to Hiding Places, it looks like the complete opposite. What is predominant there, is the dark and rough rap of the New-Yorker, more than the playful and facetious style the Californian had disclosed on his album Ken Can Cook, ten years ago already. The only Angelino touch on the album, is the one brought on "Speak Gently" by Self Jupiter, the veteran from Freestyle Fellowship, and Kenny Segal's partner in crime in the duo The Kleenrz.

Straight away, the disturbing guitars on "SpongeBob" set the tone: this album will be unsettling, dissonant, and discordant. The music, as a matter of fact, is minimalistic and noisy ("Steak Knives"), it is made of tampered voices and interferences ("Bedtime"), unexpected bifurcations ("Crawlspace"), guitar laden storms ("Spider Hole" and "Speak Gently"), with just a handful of deceiving pauses like "Houthi", or Mothermary's ghostly song on "A Day in a Week in a Year".

It talks about money, like on 95% of all American rap albums. But not the one that flows and slips through your fingers. Quite the opposite: Billy Woods talks about the money he misses, on "A Day in a Week in a Year", or when he checks his bank account on his phone, by the end of "SpongeBob". He is loyal to his world, the lower class, for example when he criticizes Nas about his symphonic escapades at the Carnegie Hall, on "Spider Hole". His own lyrics are different: they aren't inconsequential. To the contrary, they are full of literary or geopolitical references.

Unsurprisingly with this son of a Zimbabwean politician, Billy Woods alludes to the white farmers in his old country. And on another track, he shares the perspective of an Afghan terrorist. With his political rap, in addition to being a noise and experiments addict, he is a disciple of Public Enemy, like so many others in the underground scene he belongs to.

I got a letter from my insurer the other day, opened and read it,
said the treatment wasn’t covered, turned to the family like 'I guess just forget it'.

Hijacked from the mythic "Black Steel in the Hour of Chaos", this verse from "bigfakelaugh" says everything about how Billy Woods relates to Chuck D's legendary band. At the end of the day, this is still the same kind of rap music, the one for the disappointed, the one for those who admonish and rail against the great injustice of the world. This rapper, though, is no longer criticizing America and the government. He bartered his revolutionary fury for a defeatist depiction of his gloomy life; or, on "Red Dust", for a blasé look at the current state of hip-hop.

Rage and wrath are still there, but they are blanketed by scorn and a cryptic kind of humor, like with "Steak Knives", when Billy Woods reverts the lyrics of OutKast's "Elevators" to mock his status as an unsuccessful artist. He has no illusion about the nature of the world, so he stays away from it, like he says on the acrimonious "Spider Hole". This strange rapper, a misanthrope who refuses to disclose his face, looks for a space where to disappear, he seeks a hiding place.

Billy Woods, actually, is exactly like the shaky house on the cover art. He is the product of an old and disillusioned kind of rap music, of old and disillusioned ideals, of an old and disillusioned America. He is an adult rapper, but in the best sense of the term: the one who, after so many years of maceration in the darkness of a cellar, ages like a good wine; a tough wine, not so far from turning into vinegar, and nonetheless harsh, tannic, and powerful.

Buy this album

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch
  • SAMEER AHMAD - Apaches SAMEER AHMAD - Apaches
  • POLO G - Die a Legend POLO G - Die a Legend
  • AZJAH - Princess Diaries AZJAH - Princess Diaries
  • LIL DEBBIE - Debbie, avr. 2020 LIL DEBBIE - Debbie
  • KATE TEMPEST - Let Them Eat Chaos KATE TEMPEST - Let Them Eat Chaos
  • NADIA ROSE - Highly Flammable NADIA ROSE - Highly Flammable
  • LEIKELI47 - Acrylic LEIKELI47 - Acrylic

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

BILLY WOODS & KENNY SEGAL - Hiding Places

C'est un détail qu'on avait à peine remarqué l'an passé, au moment où avait été vanté le troisième album d'Armand Hammer, Paraffin. Parmi les producteurs, contribuant à deux titres, figurait une vieille connaissance issue de l'underground californien : Kenny Segal. Et si l'on était plus vigilant encore, on notait que ce dernier avait participé aussi à Rome, le projet précédent. C'est via Elucid que la connexion entre le duo new-yorkais et l'héritier de la vaste communauté Project Blowed s'est d'abord effectuée. Ils s'étaient côtoyés en 2015 sur l'album So the Flies don't Come de Milo (enfin, milo…), que Kenny Segal avait produit. Mais après la collaboration de l'an dernier, c'est avec l'autre moitié d'Armand Hammer, Billy Woods (enfin, billy woods…) que s'est embarqué le Californien, et qu'il a livré l'un des meilleurs albums du début 2019.

BILLY WOODS & KENNY SEGAL - Hiding Places

Ce serait Kenny Segal qui aurait imposé à Billy Woods une sélection restreinte de beats. Mais à l'écoute de Hiding Places, on jurerait qu'il s'est passé exactement le contraire. Ce qui domine ici, c'est le rap sombre et rude du New-yorkais, plutôt que le style plus ludique et facétieux par lequel le Californien s'est fait connaitre sur Ken Can Cook, il y a dix ans déjà. La seule touche angelena de l'album, c'est celle apportée au morceau "Speak Gently" par Self Jupiter, ancien de Freestyle Fellowship, et comparse attitré de Kenny Segal au sein du duo The Kleenrz.

D'emblée, les guitares inquiétantes de "SpongeBob" donnent le ton : ce sera dissonant, discordant et déstabilisant. Minimaliste et bruitiste ("Steak Knives"), la musique sera faite de parasites et de voix trafiquées ("Bedtime"), de bifurcations impromptues ("Crawlspace"), d'orages de guitare ("Spider Hole" et "Speak Gently"), le tout entrecoupé de faux calmes comme "Houthi", et le chant fantomatique de Mothermary sur "A Day in a Week in a Year".

L'album parle d'argent, comme 95% du rap américain. Mais pas de celui qui coule à flot et qui vous file entre les doigts. Non, tout au contraire, c'est de celui qui manque dont nous parle Billy Woods sur "A Day in a Week in a Year", ou quand il consulte son compte bancaire au téléphone à la fin de "SpongeBob". Il reste fidèle à son milieu, celui des pauvres, lançant sur "Spider Hole" une pique à Nas et à ses escapades symphoniques au Carnegie Hall. Et ses paroles à lui, loin d'être inconséquentes, sont émaillées de références littéraires, voire géopolitiques.

Comme il se doit pour le fils d'un ancien membre du gouvernement zimbabwéen, on l'entend sur "SpongeBob" faire allusion aux fermiers blancs de son pays d'origine. Ou bien, sur le même morceau, il adopte la perspective d'un terroriste afghan. Avec ce rap politique (en plus d'être bruitiste et expérimental), Billy Woods est en fait, comme une bonne portion de cette scène marginale et underground à laquelle il appartient, un lointain descendant de Public Enemy.

I got a letter from my insurer the other day, opened and read it, said the treatment wasn’t covered, turned to the family like 'I guess just forget it'.

J'ai reçu une lettre de mon assurance l'autre jour, je l'ai ouverte, je l'ai lue, elle disait que mon traitement ne serait plus couvert, je me suis tourné vers ma famille façon "on oublie tout ça".

Paraphrasant l'introduction mythique de "Black Steel in the Hour of Chaos", cette phrase issue de "bigfakelaugh" dit tout sur la relation entre le légendaire groupe de Chuck D et cet héritier tardif qu'est Billy Woods. Au fond, c'est toujours le même rap qui est à l'œuvre, celui des déçus du monde et des gens qui admonestent, toutes viscères dehors. Mais ce rappeur-là a troqué la furie dénonciatrice et la fougue révolutionnaire des débuts. Il a abandonné les adresses à l'Amérique et à son gouvernement, préférant se lancer dans la description défaitiste d'un quotidien morne ; ou bien, sur "Red Dust", jeter un regard blasé sur l'état actuel du rap.

La rage et la colère sont là, mais souvent elles s'effacent derrière la dérision et un humour cryptique, comme quand, sur "Steak Knives", Billy Woods inverse les propos du "Elevators" d'Outkast, pour ironiser sur son statut d'artiste sans succès. Il ne se fait aucune illusion sur le monde, il préfère s'en tenir éloigné, comme il le dit sur le fielleux "Spider Hole". Misanthrope, ce rappeur qui ne dévoile jamais son visage cherche un lieu où se cacher, une "hiding place".

Billy Woods, au fond, se montre comme cette vieille baraque branlante qui orne la pochette. Il est le produit d'un rap vieux et désabusé, d'idéaux vieux et désabusés, d'une Amérique vieille et désabusée. Il est le rap adulte, mais dans le bon sens du terme : celui qui, après des années de macération dans la pénombre des caves, vieillit comme le bon vin. Un vin costaud à avaler, et à deux doigts de tourner au vinaigre, mais plus que jamais âpre, tannique et puissant.

Acheter cet album

Vos 10 albums rap 2010-19

Désignez vos 10 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de la décennie 2010-19. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, et la sélection de Fake For Real en parallèle.

Album #01

Album #02

Album #03

Album #04

Album #05

Album #06

Album #07

Album #08

Album #09

Album #10

Évaluer ce billet

5/5

  • Note : 5
  • Votes : 5
  • Plus haute : 5
  • Plus basse : 5

Vous pourriez aussi aimer...

  • MOZZY - Beyond Bulletproof MOZZY - Beyond Bulletproof
  • SHOOTERGANG KONY - Red Paint Reverend SHOOTERGANG KONY - Red Paint Reverend
  • CUTTHROAT - The Takeova CUTTHROAT - The Takeova
  • RHYMEFEST - Blue Collar RHYMEFEST - Blue Collar
  • GOONEW & LIL DUDE - Homicide Boyz 2 GOONEW & LIL DUDE - Homicide Boyz 2
  • RIO DA YUNG OG - Ghetto Babies RIO DA YUNG OG - Ghetto Babies
  • MC SOLAAR - Prose Combat MC SOLAAR - Prose Combat
  • KA- Descendants of Cain KA - Descendants of Cain

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.