LIL DURK - Signed to the Streets

At first Durk Banks, a.k.a. Lil Dirk, didn’t benefit from the craze around Chicago’s drill music. Others like Chief Keef, Lil Reese, or King Louie, captured the attention. In 2012, when this subgenre went national, the young man struggled with legal problems due to gun possession, unsurprisingly in Chiraq’s violent context. However, he had been approached by Def Jam after the success of his "L's Anthem" song. And the support from the rap world was visible the year after on his fourth mixtape, a project released under French Montana’s Coke Boys’ label, and with the sponsorship of DJ Drama. That very release would be his defining one, his most iconic.

LIL DURK - Signed to the Streets

In 2013, Signed to the Streets was the most important release in drill music. It wasn't only a high quality mixtape; it was also a milestone in the evolution of this subgenre. After adapting to their own realities the rude lyrics and the synthetic sounds of trap music, the young rappers of Chicago continued to be influenced by Atlanta. But this time, it was the sung raps from the likes of Future, they appropriated. Their figurehead, Chief Keef, had given it a try on his Almighty So mixtape. The one who would perfect this formula for good, however, was Lil Durk.

The background was still the same. The rapper was still talking about the danger and violence of the hottest streets in Chicago. It was all about the urgency, coldness, and social considerations that separated drill music from its southern sources. It was about the "Street Life", per that song’s title. It was about the clan mentality, on "Dont Understand Me", the only value in such a place. OTF, such was the name of Lil Durk’s very label. Only The Family. This harsh kind of rap, however, delivered with strong melodies, and sometimes ethereal ambiances in a cloud rap mode, like with "100 Rounds". And this would deeply influence many others, inclusive of France’s own PNL, who would name their first album after Lil Durk’s label.

Signed to the Streets had a few fillers, but most of the time, Lil Durk’s approach was highly efficient. Not so much on "Who Is This", the most Atlantan track there, thanks to its little melody typical of Zaytoven, but the introductive "Traumatized", a banger, or "Hittaz", or the grandiloquent "Oh My God" – a track closer to more traditional drill music, with its hammered lyrics and the absence of Auto-Tune effects. And also, later on the mixtape, Young Chop, Chief Keef’s producer, delivered a great "One Night" and an intense "52 Bars Pt 2.". And, finally, the outstanding "Times" was the perfect apotheosis, for this undeniable drill music landmark.

Download this mixtape

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer
  • HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love
  • KASH DOLL - Brat Mail KASH DOLL - Brat Mail
  • MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World
  • QUEEN KEY - Your Highness QUEEN KEY - Your Highness
  • RICO NASTY - Nasty RICO NASTY - Nasty
  • OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

LIL DURK - Signed to the Streets

Durk Banks, alias Lil Durk, n'a pas tiré immédiatement profit du moment où, en 2012, la scène drill de Chicago a explosé au grand jour. D'autres que lui, comme Chief Keef, Lil Reese et le vétéran King Louie, ont bénéficié alors de l'attention médiatique. Sans surprise, dans le contexte violent de Chiraq, le jeune homme d'une vingtaine d'années était alors en prise à des déboires judiciaires en raison d'un port d'armes illicite. Il avait pourtant déjà été approché par Def Jam, avec le succès du titre "L's Anthem". Et le soutien de l'industrie du rap serait visible quand, l'année d'après, il sortirait sous l'étiquette du Coke Boys de French Montana et sous le parrainage de DJ Drama, une quatrième mixtape qui le propulserait à l'avant-plan, Signed to the Streets, aujourd'hui encore, plus que ses albums, son projet le plus emblématique.

LIL DURK - Signed to the Streets

Cette sortie a été, en 2013, la plus importante en matière de drill music. Sa qualité y était pour beaucoup, mais aussi le fait qu'elle marquait une évolution capitale dans le son de ce sous-genre. Après avoir adapté à leur réalité les paroles rudes et les sons synthétiques de la trap music, les jeunes pousses de Chicago continuaient à puiser l'essentiel de leur inspiration à Atlanta. Cette fois, c'étaient les raps chantés à l'Auto-Tune peaufinés par Future, qu'ils s'accaparaient. Leur figure de proue, Chief Keef, s'y était essayé lui-même la même année, avec la mixtape Almighty So. Mais celui qui maîtriserait au mieux la formule, serait ici Lil Durk.

L'arrière-plan demeurait le même. Il n'était pas tant question, comme pour Future, d'exposer ses états d'âme, mais plutôt de rendre compte du contexte violent et dangereux des rues chaudes de Chicago, avec l'urgence, la froideur et l'épaisseur sociale qui distinguaient la drill music de ses influences sudistes. Il fallait rendre compte de la "Street Life", pour paraphraser l'un des titres présents. Il fallait aussi parler, par exemple sur "Dont Understand Me", de cet esprit de clan qui est le seul recours en ces lieux. OTF, s'appelle d'ailleurs le label de Lil Durk : Only The Family. Ce rap dur, cependant, était décliné avec un sens de la mélodie décuplé, et parfois des ambiances atmosphériques limite cloud rap, comme avec "100 Rounds", des ingrédients que ne manqueraient pas de reprendre bientôt, à leur sauce, les Français de PNL.

Malgré une poignée de ratés, l'approche de Lil Durk se montrait redoutable sur Signed to the Streets. Pas tellement sur "Who Is This", le plus Atlanta de tous les titres, du fait de sa petite ritournelle typique de Zaytoven, mais plutôt sur "Traumatized", le tube qu'il nous offrait d'entrée, sur "Hittaz" aussi, sur un "Oh My God" pompier et plus conforme à la drill habituelle avec ses syllabes détachées et l'absence d'Auto-Tune, puis en fin de parcours avec deux sons de Young Chop, le producteur de Chief Keef ("One Night", et surtout l'intense "52 Bars Pt 2."), et l'apothéose que Lil Durk nous offrait avec "Times", le meilleur titre de cette mixtape jalon.

Télécharger cette mixtape

Vos 10 albums rap 2010-19

Désignez vos 10 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de la décennie 2010-19. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, et la sélection de Fake For Real en parallèle.

Album #01

Album #02

Album #03

Album #04

Album #05

Album #06

Album #07

Album #08

Album #09

Album #10

Évaluer ce billet

5/5

  • Note : 5
  • Votes : 1
  • Plus haute : 5
  • Plus basse : 5

Vous pourriez aussi aimer...

  • POP SMOKE - Meet the Woo POP SMOKE - Meet the Woo
  • DIGGA D - Double Tap Diaries DIGGA D - Double Tap Diaries
  • LD - The Masked One LD - The Masked One
  • MERYL - Jour Avant Caviar MERYL - Jour Avant Caviar
  • WNC WHOP BEZZY - Addy World WNC WHOP BEZZY - Addy World
  • DUKE DEUCE - Memphis Massacre 2 DUKE DEUCE - Memphis Massacre 2
  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • ICEWEAR VEZZO - Drank Baby ICEWEAR VEZZO - Drank Baby

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.