2 CHAINZ - T.R.U. REALigion

Not all major rappers in the early 2010's were newcomers. The obvious example was 2 Chainz. Tauheed Epps had to pass his 30th birthday, indeed, to finally become a star. Prior to this, he had a career as a member of Ludacris' label, Disturbing tha Peace, and as one half of the Playaz Circle duo, jointly with his friend Dolla Boy. These two met some success around 2007, with the single "Duffle Bag Boy", featuring a Lil Wayne in his apogee. After two albums, though, their days came to an end. 2 Chainz had to reinvent himself as a solo artist, and he did it smartly: he chose a new alias, the previous one, Tity Boi, being a bit embarrassing for an aspiring star. He used his address book to collaborate with first-class rappers. And he became an ambassador of trap music, delivering a rather generic kind of it, but in a pleasant, catchy and goofy way.

2 CHAINZ - T.R.U. REALigion

Along with Codeine Cowboy, he released a few months earlier, T.R.U. REALigion is 2 Chainz's reference mixtape. It is, actually, better than Based on a T.R.U. Story, the official album he would release later on, in 2012, with Def Jam. Very quickly, judging by the guest list, it was obvious that he was now a heavyweight. This project, indeed, another edition of DJ Drama's prestigious Gangsta Grillz series, was produced by the biggest beatmakers of the moment (Mike WiLL, Lex Luger, Southside, Drumma Boy, Fatboi, etc.), and it was supported by people as diverse as Birdman, T.I., Young Jeezy, Yo Gotti, Big Sean, Jadakiss, a few emerging talents like Meek Mill and Kreayshawn, and also, surprisingly, by New-York's Wu-Tang veteran Raekwon.

According to 2 Chainz the late bloomer, his success was due to a concept of his own, he introduced at the beginning of the mixtape: "griming", a mix of hard work (grinding) and good timing. The former was illustrated by 2 Chainz's career and perseverance, while the latter translated into the rather standard sounds of his release, and their adequacy to the current times and place. The first track, indeed, the great "Got One", was a tribute to Atlanta, while the others were variations of its music and style: relentless drums, strident synthesizers, and the inescapable themes of sex, drugs and money. These were what this release was made of.

The content was generic and expected, but it fitted 2 Chainz well. With "Undastatement", Lex Luger leveraged with success one of his typical and legendary brutal beats. With "Stunt", 2 Chainz and Meek Mill engaged into some braggadoccio competition on whirling synthesizers. "Murder" was both violent and burlesque, inclusive of Kreayshawn's contribution. "Kesha" was a nice but politically incorrect love song for bad boys. "Riot" was a banger, as well as the remixed version of "Spend It", with T.I., a track which had been 2 Chainz's passport to success.

The more it banged, the better it was. As shown with the syrupy and boring "K.O.", featuring Big Sean, and a quieter but much less exciting second half of the mixtape, this rapper needed it loud and fast. He required sounds on par with his juvenile vigor and his exalted raps. Under such conditions, 2 Chainz was 2011, and 2011 was 2 Chainz. He was the guy to listen to, years after, to catch the spirit of the times, to fully understand what rap looked like, in these days.

Download this mixtape

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer
  • HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love
  • KASH DOLL - Brat Mail KASH DOLL - Brat Mail
  • MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World
  • QUEEN KEY - Your Highness QUEEN KEY - Your Highness
  • RICO NASTY - Nasty RICO NASTY - Nasty
  • OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

2 CHAINZ - T.R.U. REALigion

A y regarder de près, on remarque que certains rappeurs importants des années 2010 ne sont pas de toute première jeunesse. Le cas d'école, c'est 2 Chainz. C'est en effet la trentaine bien sonnée que Tauheed Epps est devenu une figure de premier plan. Avant cela, il avait été membre de Playaz Circle, avec son ami Dolla Boy, un duo signé sur le label de Ludacris, Disturbing tha Peace. Les deux hommes avaient eu leur heure de gloire en 2007, avec le single "Duffle Bag Boy", où figurait un Lil Wayne au sommet de sa carrière. Mais après deux albums, l'aventure avait pris fin, et le rappeur avait dû se réinventer en solo. Il le fit en mettant toutes les chances de son côté : il adopta un nouveau pseudonyme, moins embarrassant que celui d'avant, Tity Boi (en gros, "Garçon Nichon") ; il déploya son carnet d'adresse déjà bien rempli pour empiler une jolie collection de featurings ; et il représenta mieux que personne un trap rap relativement générique, mais cocasse, loufoque et presque bon enfant.

2 CHAINZ - T.R.U. REALigion

Avec Codeine Cowboy: A 2 Chainz Collective, qui l'a précédée de quelques mois, T.R.U. REALigion est la mixtape référence de celui qui s'appellerait désormais 2 Chainz, et une sortie plus réussie que l'album qui suivrait en 2012 chez Def Jam, Based on a T.R.U. Story. D'emblée, dès la liste des gens présents, on voyait qu'on avait affaire à un poids lourd. Ce projet s'inscrivait dans la prestigieuse série des Gangsta Grillz de DJ Drama, il avait des titres produits par tous les producteurs du moment (Mike WiLL, Lex Luger, Southside, Drumma Boy, Fatboi, etc.), et il comptait des grands noms du rap, aussi variés que Birdman, T.I., Young Jeezy, Yo Gotti, Big Sean, Jadakiss, quelques valeurs alors émergentes comme Meek Mill et Kreayshawn, et même, presque à contre-emploi, le vétéran New-yorkais Raekwon.

2 Chainz accorde son succès tardif à un concept qui lui est propre, et qu'il présente en introduction : le griming, mélange de travail de longue haleine ("grinding") et d'accord avec le temps présent ("timing"). Le premier terme est illustré par la persévérance qu'il a fallu à 2 Chainz pour se faire une place. Le second, quant à lui, est confirmé par la nature presque standard, en 2011, que nous offre la mixtape. Le premier vrai titre est un excellent "Got One", en quelque sorte un hommage à sa bonne ville d'Atlanta. Et celui-ci comme tous les autres s'évertue seulement à décliner le son local, rythmes trépidants et synthétiseurs claironnants, et à traiter des incontournables thèmes du sexe, de la drogue et de l'argent.

Tout est conventionnel, mais tout ou presque va à 2 Chainz. Sur "Undastatement", Lex Luger décline avec bonheur l'un de ces sons bastons qui en ont fait le beatmaker du moment. Sur "Stunt", 2 Chainz et Meek Mill rivalisent de vantardises sur des synthétiseurs tourbillonnants. "Murder" est à la fois violent et burlesque à souhait, contribution de Kreayshawn incluse. "Kesha" est une jolie chanson d'amour pour mauvais garçon, politiquement incorrecte. "Riot" remplit à merveille son rôle de single qui tabasse, de même qu'une version remixée de "Spend It" avec T.I., le titre qui a été pour 2 Chainz un passeport vers le succès.

Plus ça tape, plus ça lui va, comme le prouve le sirupeux et ennuyeux "K.O.", avec Big Sean, dans une seconde moitié de mixtape moins jubilatoire que la première. Il faut à ce rappeur les sons qui vont avec sa vigueur juvénile et sa posture de grande gueule exaltée. Dans de telles conditions, 2 Chainz est 2011, et 2011 est 2 Chainz, la personne à faire écouter plus tard à tous ceux qui voudront comprendre à quoi pouvait bien ressembler le rap de ces années-là.

Télécharger la mixtape

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 2011

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 2011. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Vous pourriez aussi aimer...

  • POP SMOKE - Meet the Woo POP SMOKE - Meet the Woo
  • DIGGA D - Double Tap Diaries DIGGA D - Double Tap Diaries
  • LD - The Masked One LD - The Masked One
  • MERYL - Jour Avant Caviar MERYL - Jour Avant Caviar
  • WNC WHOP BEZZY - Addy World WNC WHOP BEZZY - Addy World
  • DUKE DEUCE - Memphis Massacre 2 DUKE DEUCE - Memphis Massacre 2
  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • ICEWEAR VEZZO - Drank Baby ICEWEAR VEZZO - Drank Baby

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.