Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

TOOLSHED - Illustrated

, 07:36 - Permalink

Illustrated is made of the same wood as Schemata, the very good album thanks to which we discovered Toolshed, in 2002. It is also of the same ilk as the previous album, an untitled one, they released in 2000. And maybe, it is similar to the group's other recordings, now untraceable. Timbuktu (MC, producer), Choke and Psyborg (MCs), B Swizzle (DJ), Danny Miles (percussionist), Andrew McCormick (bassist) and Pat Giles (guitarist) are not trying to change their recipe and flavor.

TOOLSHED - Illustrated

Dehsloot :: 2003 :: buy this record

They are doing just the opposite. They are proceeding with the energetic kind of rap they are so good at. They are more at ease than ever with their live-sounding beats, their dynamic lyrics and this music which, to oversimplify, looks like a mix between The Roots and The Shape Shifters. So they are persevering.

Talking about the Shifters, one of them, Awol One, is guest appearing on this record. And Oldominion's Sleep as well. Thesis from Bending Mouth is also there, as with the previous album – a bit less surprising, since this guy is coming from the same place of Canada as they do. Mcenroe, this workaholic, is helping them as well with the record's mastering. The main players of Toolshed, however, are never eclipsed by these heroes or semi-heroes of the hip-hop indie scene.

As with Schemata, most of the interest is guaranteed by the band's quick raps and the many instruments on the record. All of these are defying the usual loops and routines of hip-hop. There are so many that we never know if they are sampled or played live. Organs, pianos ("Earmuphs", "Mystery Shot"), basses ("Crawls Space") and contrabasses, guitars ("Breakthroughs"), flutes ("Happiness"), trumpets (the great " Suntinesoom "), saxophones ("What do you Think") are colliding on Illustrated, with the same success as with the previous records.

For Toolshed, this very convincing fourth album is a new step in an almost flawless career, a more and more fructuous and exciting one. Let's just hope now that this band of Canadians gets better exposed over time. It deserves a better coverage.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

TOOLSHED - Illustrated

Illustrated est du même tonneau que Schemata, le très bon album qui nous avait fait découvrir Toolshed en 2002. Il est aussi de la même veine que le disque sans titre qu'ils ont sorti encore auparavant, en 2000. Et, sans doute, que leurs autres enregistrements, presque introuvables. Timbuktu (raps, prod), Choke et Psyborg (raps), B Swizzle (cuts), Danny Miles (percussions), Andrew McCormick (basse) et Pat Giles (guitare) ne cherchent pas à changer de style et de saveur.

TOOLSHED - Illustrated

Dehsloot :: 2003 :: acheter ce disque

Le rap énergique qui les caractérise leur réussit, ils sont à l'aise avec ce hip-hop fait de sons live et de lyrics foisonnants, avec cette musique où, pour schématiser, les Roots semblent s'encanailler auprès des Shapeshifters. Alors ils persévèrent.

Tiens justement, en parlant des Shifters, Awol One est de passage sur ce disque. De même que Sleep d'Oldominion et que Thesis de Bending Mouth, lequel avait déjà collaboré avec eux, proximité géographique aidant. Mcenroe aussi est ici, ce bourreau de travail, qui mastérise le tout. Les protagonistes de Toolshed, cependant, ne sont jamais éclipsés par ces gloires ou demi-gloires du rap indé.

Comme sur Schemata, l'essentiel est assuré par les raps en rafale et par les innombrables instruments du groupe, tellement évolutifs et hostiles à la dictature de la boucle qu'on ne sait plus lesquels sont joués et lesquels sont samplés : orgues, pianos, ("Earmuphs", "Mystery Shot"), basses ("Crawls Space") et contrebasses, guitares ("Breakthroughs"), flûtes ("Happiness"), trompettes (le très chouette "Suntinesoom"), sax ("What do you Think") se mélangent et se bousculent sur Illustrated, avec le même bonheur que sur les disques précédents.

Pour Toolshed, ce quatrième album très probant est le nouvel épisode d'une carrière presque sans faute, une carrière de plus en plus fructueuse et excitante. Vivement que cette bande de Canadiens inventifs sorte de la confidentialité.

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Vous pourriez aussi aimer...

  • RHYMEFEST - Blue Collar RHYMEFEST - Blue Collar
  • GOONEW & LIL DUDE - Homicide Boyz 2 GOONEW & LIL DUDE - Homicide Boyz 2
  • RIO DA YUNG OG - Ghetto Babies RIO DA YUNG OG - Ghetto Babies
  • MC SOLAAR - Prose Combat MC SOLAAR - Prose Combat
  • KA- Descendants of Cain KA - Descendants of Cain
  • BLUE SKY BLACK DEATH  - The Holocaust BLUE SKY BLACK DEATH - The Holocaust
  • THE GAME - Doctor's Advocate THE GAME - Doctor's Advocate
  • GHOSTFACE KILLAH  - Fishscale GHOSTFACE KILLAH - Fishscale

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.