YOUNG JEEZY - The Real Is Back 2

Jeezy's most glorious days took place in 2005. That very year, he released his (classic) mixtape Trap or Die, a record from his band, Boyz n da Hood, and his (classic, again) solo album, Let's Get It: Thug Motivation 101. By then, he was just the most important rapper on Earth, period. The following years, though, would be good ones as well, especially when, from 2009 through 2012, from Trap or Die Part 2 to It's Tha World, he released some of his best mixtapes. Among those, The Real Is Back 1 & 2, released respectively in May and September 2011, and produced essentially by Lil Lody, deserve to be mentioned. Originally aimed at heralding a new album, Hustlerz Ambition, the last of his Thug Motivation trilogy, they were actually significantly better.

YOUNG JEEZY - The Real Is Back 2

The second installment - a part, like the other, of DJ Drama's prestigious Gangsta Grillz series - is the catchier of the two, for two reasons. First, it is short, with only 11 tracks spread over 45 minutes. And then, most importantly, it contains some true bangers, like "Trump", where Jeezy compares himself to the business magnate, "Chicken No Flour", about his key subject matter, drugs, the gun-clap-introduced "Bandana", and the devastating "Grizzly". As for the rest, this was Jeezy at his very purest. This trap music godfather, indeed, hadn't changed his formula much. He just continued with his usual leitmotivs. He pretended to be the most authentic thug in the rap game. He reminded all that he was a dealer more than a rapper -"I was a boy in the 'hood before I ever knew Puffy". And he did it, again, on a smoother and conclusive song, "Real Nigga Anthem". His real aim was to distinguish himself from frauds and fake bandits.

This project, though, had something special. On it, Young Jeezy promoted his new protégé, a rising star he had just recruited in CTE. Freddie Gibbs, indeed, featured on four tracks, "Gotta See This", "Rough", "Nicks 2 Bricks" and "Sittin' Low", and he outshined easily other guests like Birdman and Yo Gotti. The rapid, precise and controlled raps of the Indiana rapper, completed the harmed bear groans the Atlanta snowman extirpated from the very depths of his throat. Jeezy, though, was still the main star. He was no longer "Young", or the king of trap music – he'd been deposed by his rival, Gucci Mane. But he still had the same hunger, the same old fire.

Download this mixtape
Buy this mixtape

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer
  • HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love
  • KASH DOLL - Brat Mail KASH DOLL - Brat Mail
  • MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World
  • QUEEN KEY - Your Highness QUEEN KEY - Your Highness
  • RICO NASTY - Nasty RICO NASTY - Nasty
  • OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

YOUNG JEEZY - The Real Is Back 2

, 22:46 - Lien permanent

L'heure de gloire de Jeezy, ce fut sans conteste 2005, quand il sortit sa mixtape (classique) Trap or Die, puis l'album de son groupe Boyz n da Hood, et enfin son solo (classique) Let's Get It: Thug Motivation 101. Il fut le rappeur le plus important de cette année là, point barre. Mais la suite de sa carrière a eu aussi ses grands moments, notamment cette phase de 2009 à 2012, quand, de Trap or Die Part 2 à It's Tha World, il proposa quelques unes de ses mixtapes les plus appréciées. Parmi celles-ci, figurent les deux exemplaires de The Real Is Back, sortis en mai et en septembre 2011, et produits tous deux pour l'essentiel par Lil Lody. A l'origine, ils étaient destinés à faire monter la pression avant la sortie d'un nouvel album, le dernier de la trilogie des Thug Motivation, Hustlerz Ambition. Mais quelques années plus tard, ils seraient mieux passés à la postérité que cet opus.

YOUNG JEEZY - The Real Is Back 2

CTE World :: 2011 :: télécharger la mixtape :: acheter le disque

Le deuxième The Real Is Back, sorti comme l'autre dans la série des Gangsta Grillz de DJ Drama, est le plus digeste des deux, et à cela deux raisons : d'abord, il est très court, se limitant à 11 titres et à trois quarts d'heure ; ensuite, et surtout, il contient une poignée d'uppercuts trap qui font bien mal, comme ce "Trump" où il s'identifie au personnage du même nom, ce "Chicken No Flour" qui s'attaque au cœur du sujet, la drogue, ce "Bandana" qui s'ouvre sur vieux cliché efficace qu'est la rafale de mitraillette, et ce dévastateur "Grizzly". Pour le reste, c'était toujours du Jeezy. Le parrain de la trap music n'aura jamais vraiment changé sa formule. Dès le début, il s'employait à répéter ce qui, au fil de ses sorties, a toujours été son leitmotiv : qu'il est le voyou le plus authentique du rap game, qu'il est au fond un dealer plutôt qu'un vrai rappeur ("I was a boy in the 'hood before I ever knew Puffy"). Et il le répétait encore dans un finale au beat plus doux, "Real Nigga Anthem", dont le but était de se démarquer des imposteurs de toute espèce.

L'autre particularité de cette mixtape, c'est que Jeezy y mettait en valeur un rappeur qui était alors en pleine ascension, et qu'il venait de recruter chez CTE : Freddie Gibbs. Ce dernier, en effet, partageait la vedette avec son nouveau mentor sur quatre titres, "Gotta See This", "Rough", "Nicks 2 Bricks" et "Sittin' Low", supplantant d'autres invités dont Birdman et Yo Gotti étaient les plus illustres. Et les raps rapides, précis et maîtrisés du natif de l'Indiana complétaient admirablement les râles d'ours blessé du Snowman d'Atlanta, lesquels jaillissaient, comme d'habitude, des profondeurs douloureuses d'une gorge en feu. Car au fond, même si, en cette fin 2011, Jeezy n'était plus tout à fait "Young", et qu'il n'était plus le roi de la trap music, ayant été détrôné les années précédentes par son rival Gucci Mane, il était toujours habité par la même faim, par la même flamme.

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 2011

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 2011. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet