RICH GANG - The Tour, Part 1

A rap business veteran from New-Orleans, rejuvenated through his collaboration with two rising stars of the new decade, on a joint mixtape: this story actually, looks familiar. In 2013, it happened already with the Louie V Mob, a trio made of Master P, Fat Trel, and Alley Boy. One year later, though, Birdman goes the same way. He is now the sponsor of two emerging rappers from Atlanta, Rich Homie Quan and Young Thug. Jointly, they are the Rich Gang, and they released a free album called The Tour Part 1. However, the comparison stops there.

RICH GANG - The Tour, Part 1

Unlike his competitor, Birdman doesn’t play a major role in this. He doesn’t rap much on this mixtape. His main contribution is the notoriety of his name, and the Rich Gang label, he already used in 2013 to rename his Cash Money / Young Money stable. Essentially, though, this project belongs to the two other rappers, jointly with London On Da Track, who produces most of it. There, Rich Homie Quan and Young Thug deploy their respective kinds of raps: Future-like melodic ones for the former – on the formidable "War Ready", "Hate I", and "Everything I Got" -, and some off-the-wall kind of trap music for the latter – on "See You", the excellent "730", "Pull Up", and "Who's on Top". And at times, they step into each other’s territory, like with "Flava".

The lyrics are generic. They are some nouveau riche braggadocio, or about love for bitches. The forms, however, are innovative, and the two guys complete each other perfectly well. The most remarkable of the two, though, the real star there, is Young Thug, thanks to his unpredictable style. The Young Thug there, however, is neither the same as on 1017 Thug, nor the weirdo rivaling with the equally eccentric Bloody Jay on their Black Portland collaborative mixtape.

As a matter of fact, it is quite the opposite. The new Young Thug, the one now sponsored by Birdman, is a calmer. He is a tamed and retained one, as if, while becoming more and more famous, Young Thug was more careful with not scaring his audience with his hysteric and excessive manners; as if he was more concerned with the doubts some expressed about his sexual orientation. Some might miss his weirdest demeanors and his most furious raps. And as a matter of fact, he sometimes gets almost boring, especially on the second half of the mixtape. However, a careful listener will continue to perceive his incredible versatility. It is just more controlled and more restrained. Sometimes, this mixtape sounds too clean, and it is definitely too long. The most visionary rapper of our times sounds blander, at times. But he is still there. He only delivers what might be the most pop and presentable facet of his complex personality.

Download this mixtape

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer
  • HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love
  • KASH DOLL - Brat Mail KASH DOLL - Brat Mail
  • MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World
  • QUEEN KEY - Your Highness QUEEN KEY - Your Highness
  • RICO NASTY - Nasty RICO NASTY - Nasty
  • OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

RICH GANG - The Tour, Part 1

, 10:45 - Lien permanent

Un vieux briscard, rappeur et entrepreneur notoire de La Nouvelle-Orléans, s'achète une nouvelle jeunesse en s'acoquinant avec deux figures émergentes de la génération 2010, le temps d'une mixtape. Cette histoire, on la connait déjà. Elle a été celle, en 2013, du Louie V Mob, un trio formé avec Master P par Fat Trel et Alley Boy. Un an plus tard, elle est aussi celle de Birdman, qui a pris sous son aile d'homme oiseau deux valeurs montantes du rap d'Atlanta, Rich Homie Quan et Young Thug, et a sorti avec eux, sous le nom de Rich Gang, un long album gratuit, The Tour Part 1. La comparaison entre les deux projets, cependant, s'arrête là.

RICH GANG - The Tour, Part 1

Autoproduit :: 2014 :: télécharger la mixtape

Contrairement à son concurrent, Birdman n'intervient que très peu dans l'histoire. Il rappe à peine sur cette mixtape. Il ne fait, pour l'essentiel, que prêter sa notoriété, son nom et celui du Rich Gang (en 2013, c'est l'ensemble de l'écurie Cash Money / Young Money qui avait été baptisée ainsi) aux deux autres rappeurs. Pour l'essentiel, The Tour Part 1 est leur affaire, et celle de London On Da Track, qui en produit l'essentiel. Rich Homie Quan et Young Thug y déploient les styles par lesquels ils se sont fait respectivement connaitre, deux styles emblématiques du rap contemporain : un rappé-chanté à la Future pour le premier (le formidable "War Ready", "Hate I" et "Everything I Got"), et un post-trap bizarre et dérangé pour le second ("See You", l'excellent "730", "Pull Up", "Who's on Top"), empiétant parfois l'un sur le territoire de l'autre, comme sur le quasi-tube "Flava".

Si quelques thèmes généraux se dégagent de l'album, celui, classique, du délire nouveau riche, ou l'amour des rappeurs pour les bitches, c'est avant tout sur la forme que les deux hommes s'illustrent. Qu'ils s'expriment sur le même titre ou sur des morceaux solo, ils se complètent à merveille. Mais bien sûr, celui qu'on remarque le plus sur cette mixtape, c'est aussi celui qui surnage dans le paysage rap actuel avec son style expérimental, imprévisible et épileptique : à savoir Young Thug. Pourtant, ce n'est pas le même Young Thug que d'habitude que l'on entend ici, celui de 1017 Thug, celui que l'on entendait rivaliser d'étrangetés et d'absurdités avec un autre détraqué, Bloody Jay, sur la mixtape Black Portland.

Non, c'est au contraire un Young Thug domestiqué, apprivoisé, presque calme, que Birdman parraine ici ; un Young Thug en sourdine, en retenue ; un Young Thug qui, alors que sa notoriété ne cesse de grandir, chercherait à ne plus effaroucher le grand public avec ses manières de folle hystérique qui ont fait douter certains de sa sexualité. D'aucuns pourront regretter son côté allumé et ses raps de fous furieux qui vous sautent à la gorge. Et de fait, des titres creux sont présents ici, surtout dans la seconde moitié. Mais à bien écouter, l'incroyable versatilité de Young Thug affleure toujours, au-delà de ce côté plus maîtrisé. Le rappeur le plus inspiré de notre temps ne s'affadit qu'en partie sur cette mixtape bien trop propre et bien trop longue, mais forte de quelques grands moments. Il ne fait que nous livrer, une fois encore, une nouvelle facette de lui-même : sa facette la plus pop.

Évaluer ce billet

3/5

  • Note : 3
  • Votes : 1
  • Plus haute : 3
  • Plus basse : 3

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet