Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

JESSE DANGEROUSLY - Humble & Brilliant

, 22:40 - Permalink

Jesse Dangerously always deserved more than the nerdcore label he's been associated with. Several releases proved this, already, where the Canadian demonstrated how funny, astute and good a rapper he was. And in 2011, our bearded and bespectacled white MC raised the bar even higher with Humble & Brilliant, a damned good album he released after 3 years of work, along with a 70 pages leaflet with contributions from the likes of Buck 65, a comic strip writer (Mike Holmes) and two cartoonists (Bryan Lee O'Malley and Hope Larson).

JESSE DANGEROUSLY - Humble & Brilliant

Backburner Recordings :: 2011 :: dangerously.ca :: acheter ce disque

The nerdy pose was still there, through the rapper's quirky look, and a first track, "file_id.diz", named after some computing jargon. The man for Halifax – now relocated to Ottawa – was not confined to this niche, though. With his spirited humor inspired by 80's hip-hop, his versatile flow, his dynamic music full of "real" instruments, unpredictable skits like the country music sounding "Make Hymn Cry", unlikely samples like the tap dance beat on "Bring Your Girlfriend to Rap Day", and light ego-trips like "Halifax Rap Legend" – though the rapper was making fun of the title, he also demonstrated that it was well deserved – Jesse D. delivered the full formula his Backburner collective is known for.

However, except for the few contributors to the leaflet, one singer – Jeannie Taylor of Curse in the Woods – and the brief support of Audra Williams and Timbuktu, Jesse Dangerously was the one and only guy on Humble & Brilliant. As said the title of the track where Toolshed's rapper guest appeared – "Tim I Said No Guests!" – he didn't need anybody, he could do everything on his own. He did almost all the raps, and produced the complete record; including doing the scratches and playing instruments like drums, organ, ukulele, and glockenspiel.

Humble & Brilliant, also, was built as a whole. It was a true concept album, split into two parts – "Balling Out of Control" et "Balling Out Uncontrollably " – the first playful and bouncing, with punchy tracks like "Tim I Said No Guests!", or this "Holocaust Cloak" which sounded both old school and rock'n'roll; the second quieter and introspective, ending with a "Triptych" where the rapper shared confessions and thoughts about pornography, and which end was a superb apotheosis. Humble and brilliant? Yes, indeed. With this record, however incredible it may seem, Jesse Dangerously has proved that one could be both.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

JESSE DANGEROUSLY - Humble & Brilliant

, 23:06 - Lien permanent

Jesse Dangerously a toujours valu mieux que l'étiquette nerdcore qui lui colle à la peau. Plusieurs sorties, où le Canadien a su se montrer drôle, astucieux et bon rappeur, l'ont prouvé. En 2011, notre gros Blanc barbu et à lunettes a même placé la barre plus haut que jamais avec Humble & Brilliant, un vrai bon album, bien foutu, conçu après 3 ans d'effort, et accompagné d'un livret de 70 pages auquel ont contribué Buck 65 et des figures de la BD ou du dessin-animé (Mike Holmes pour la pochette, Bryan Lee O'Malley et Hope Larson pour les autres illustrations).

JESSE DANGEROUSLY - Humble & Brilliant

Backburner Recordings :: 2011 :: dangerously.ca :: acheter ce disque

La posture nerdy est toujours là, via le look décalé du rappeur bien sûr, et un titre, l'introductif "file_id.diz", qui sent bon le jargon informatique. Mais l'homme d'Halifax, aujourd'hui basé à Ottawa, ne se limite pas à cela. Plus généralement, à travers cet entrain et cet humour inspirés du hip-hop des années 80, ces skits imprévus (le countrisant "Make Hymn Cry"), ces samples improbables (des claquettes sur "Bring Your Girlfriend to Rap Day" !), ce flow versatile, ces productions dynamiques et organiques parsemées de vrais instruments, cet égo-trip léger (comme sur "Halifax Rap Legend", un intitulé que Jesse D. tourne en dérision, en même temps qu'il en confirme le bien-fondé), c'est tout l'esprit du collectif canadien Backburner, auquel le rappeur appartient, qui est présent ici.

Et pourtant, mis à part les concepteurs du livret, une chanteuse (Jeannie Taylor de Curse in the Woods), et le bref renfort d'Audra Williams et de Timbuktu aux raps, Humble & Brilliant est l'affaire du seul Jesse Dangerously. Il le précise avec le titre du morceau où se manifeste le rappeur de Toolshed ("Tim I Said No Guests!") : il n'a besoin de personne, tout est de lui. Il ne signe pas seulement la quasi totalité des raps, il produit aussi l'intégralité du disque, il s'occupe des scratches, et il joue de tous les instruments dont il l'assaisonne, ukulélé, glockenspiel, orgue, batterie.

Humble & Brilliant, par ailleurs, est un vrai concept album, construit en deux phases ("Balling Out of Control" et "Balling Out Uncontrollably "), l'une enjouée et sautillante, avec le très punchy "Tim I Said No Guests!" et cet "Holocaust Cloak" à la fois old school et rock 'n' roll, l'autre plus calme et introspective, qui s'achève par un "Triptych" où se mêlent réflexions sur la pornographie et confessions, et dont le dernier volet est toute bonnement superbe, offrant au disque son apothéose. Humble et brillant ? Oui, en effet. Aussi improbable que cela paraisse, avec ce dernier disque, Jesse Dangerously a prouvé que l'on pouvait être les deux.

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 2011

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 2011. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet