KODAK BLACK - Back For Everything

Few medias will tell you the truth. Not many will say that this is one of the best rap albums released so far in 2022. This is not due to their bad taste, or their lack of discernment. No. They just decided not to talk about this personage, now infamously known for unqualifiable sexual assaults. Actually, a few critics acknowledged that Kodak Black was important, that he can't be totally ignored. But those are careful, they aren't praising him too much, or too loud. Oh, true, they are doing that for others, like this older rapper who recently triumphed at the Super Bowl, though he is notoriously known for his past misbehavior with women. "Too big to fail" is a universal principle, it is not only about big companies. But Kodak Black is not one of these: he's been targeted by the cancel culture, even though he is, by far, one of the greatest of today.

KODAK BLACK - Back For Everything

Ten years have passed since Kodak Black started, and on this fourth official album, he says he is back. As a matter of fact, the Floridian never really left. His stay in prison was shortened by Donald Trump. He had delivered a few other projects in the last few years, like Bill Israel and Haitian Boy Kodak. And he was in the headlines just a few weeks ago, when someone shot him at a party organized by Justin Bieber. Nevertheless, due to the success of "Super Gremlin", his prodigious single from the Sniper Gang compilation, Back for Everything looks like a comeback.

Its title says it clearly: this album is about resilience. It is also about the many harms of a man, who confesses multiple times killing his pains with drugs, and who admits on the eponymous song that he is vulnerable to the treasons of his friends and mistresses. The rapper is still a figurehead of the kind of delinquent blues popularized a while ago by Boosie, a style that ended up being a key marker of rap music in the 2010's. Back for Everything is a melancholic rap record, and a great one. Built with an impressive set of producers like Boi-1da, London on da Track, Murda Beatz, Zaytoven, BandPlay and Scott Storch - to mention just the notorious ones - it is made of quiet and smooth beats. Some are quite atmospheric. And on those, with only one guest – Lil Durk, another depressed street rapper – Kodak Black confides to us.

With his muttered and painful voice, he talks about his misfortunes. The man who will remain his entire life the "project baby" that named two of his mixtapes, is both proud and ashamed for being locked in his own universe, a world made of opps and Glocks, like on the heartbreaking "Grinding All Season", or on "He Love the Streets". He sings about the hungry ones who have nothing, on the magnificent piano and flutes of "On Everything". He shares long confessions on the delicate guitar of "Omega". On another guitar, with "Love Isn’t Enough", he delivers a desperate love song. On "Take Your Back", with Lil Durk, he urges a lover fed-up with his unfaithfulness to come back. As for the great "Super Gremlin", it is a lament about the end of his friendship with Jackboy, and the opportunity lost by them both to become superstars.

His blues, his distress, his resentment even, is also about the quasi-boycott against him. On the introductive "Let Me Know", Kodak Black says that he is too gangsta to be given a Grammy Award, and he complains he lost to Khalid at the 2017 MTV Video Music Awards, but he rejoices about his influence on Cardi B's "Bodak Yellow" hit single. He is the accursed artist, the unsung hero, people fail to celebrate as they should, but whose posterity and legend are already considerable. And this new and well-rounded album, undeniably, contributes to such an aura.

Buy this album

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • MACH-HOMMY - Pray For Haiti MACH-HOMMY - Pray For Haiti
  • CASEY - Tragédie d'une Trajectoire CASEY - Tragédie d'une trajectoire
  • DEVIN THE DUDE - Soulful Distance DEVIN THE DUDE - Soulful Distance
  • GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch
  • SAMEER AHMAD - Apaches SAMEER AHMAD - Apaches
  • EEKWOL & MILS - The List EEKWOL & MILS - The List
  • POLO G - Die a Legend POLO G - Die a Legend
  • AZJAH - Princess Diaries AZJAH - Princess Diaries

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

KODAK BLACK - Back For Everything

Peu de médias vous diront que cet album est l'un des meilleurs sortis en 2022, à ce jour. Non pas parce qu'ils ont mauvais goût, ou parce qu'ils sont de mauvaise foi. Mais tout simplement, parce qu'ils refusent de parler d'un personnage connu pour d'inqualifiables faits d'agression sexuelle. Ou bien, pour ceux qui ont compris qu'il n'est pas raisonnable dl'ignorer Kodak Black, parce qu'ils ne peuvent se permettre d'en dire trop de bien. Et tant pis si, pendant ce temps-là, un autre artiste connu pour son indélicatesse passée envers les femmes triomphe au Super Bowl (le principe du "too big to fail", ça ne s'applique pas qu'aux entreprises). Et tant pis si celui qui est visé ainsi par la cancel culture est en fait l'un des plus grands rappeurs de notre temps.

KODAK BLACK - Back For Everything

Il s'est passé dix ans depuis les débuts de Kodak Black, et sur ce quatrième album officiel, il dit qu'il est de retour. Certes, le rappeur de Floride n'est jamais vraiment parti. Son séjour en prison a été écourté par une grâce accordée par Donald Trump. Il a délivré d'autres projets long format les deux années précédentes, Bill Israel et Haitian Boy Kodak. Et il faisait encore les gros titres il y a quelques semaines, quand il s'est fait tirer dessus en marge d'une soirée organisée par Justin Bieber. Néanmoins, sorti après le succès de "Super Gremlin", l'excellent single issu d'une compilation du Sniper Gang, Back for Everything a tout d'un retour triomphal.

Comme l'annonce le morceau-titre, c'est bien de sa résilience dont il est question ici. Mais c'est aussi, avant cela, des peines et des douleurs de cet homme qui dit à maintes reprises s'assommer de drogues et qui, sur le morceau du même nom, avoue être vulnérable aux trahisons de ses amis et de ses maîtresses. Le rappeur, l'un des meilleurs représentants de ce spleen du délinquant qui, dans la lignée de Boosie, a fini par définir le rap des années 2010, ne fait pas défaut à ce registre. Back for Everything est un grand disque de rap mélancolique. Construit avec un nombre impressionnant de producteurs parmi lesquels figurent Boi-1da, London on da Track, Murda Beatz, Zaytoven, BandPlay et Scott Storch, pour les plus illustres, il repose sur des sons souvent calmes et posés, et parfois même atmosphériques. Et sur ces derniers, avec pour seul invité un autre grand dépressif de la rue, Lil Durk, Kodak Black se livre.

D'un rap douloureux et marmonné, il parle de ses malheurs. Celui qui, toute sa vie, sera le "project baby" qu'il déclarait être sur deux ses mixtapes, revendique et pleure à la fois l'enfermement dans son univers fait de Glocks et de "opps", comme sur le déchirant single "Grinding All Season", ou sur "He Love the Streets". Il chante la faim de tout de ceux qui n'ont rien, sur les magnifiques piano et flûte de "On Everything". Il se confesse longuement sur la guitare délicate de "Omega". Sur celle de "Love Isn’t Enough", il se lance dans une chanson d'amour désespéré. Sur "Take Your Back", avec Lil Durk, il implore une amante fatiguée de ses infidélités de lui revenir. Quant au fantastique "Super Gremlin", il est une longue lamentation sur la fin de son amitié avec Jackboy, et sur leur occasion perdue de devenir des superstars.

Ce vague-à-l'âme, cette détresse, cette rancœur même, Kodak Black l'exprime à l'égard de ce quasi-boycott qui le frappe. Le morceau introductif, "Let Me Know", le voit prétendre qu'il est trop gangster pour recevoir un Grammy, se plaindre d'avoir perdu face à Khalid aux MTV Video Music Awards de 2017, mais se réjouir de son indéniable influence quand Cardi B a cartonné avec "Bodak Yellow". Kodak Black est l'artiste maudit, le héros incompris, celui qu'on refuse de célébrer à sa juste mesure mais dont l'influence, la postérité et déjà la légende, sont les plus grandes. Et ce nouvel album abouti, incontestablement, y apporte une nouvelle contribution.

Acheter cet album

Évaluer ce billet

5/5

  • Note : 5
  • Votes : 3
  • Plus haute : 5
  • Plus basse : 5

Vous pourriez aussi aimer...

  • COOTIE - Welcome to the Trap COOTIE - Welcome to the Trap
  • Z MONEY - Back 2 the Blender Z MONEY - Back 2 the Blender
  • RAPPIN' 4-TAY - Don't Fight the Feelin' RAPPIN' 4-TAY - Don't Fight the Feelin'
  • GUNPLAY - Off Safety DJ P-CUTTA & GUNPLAY - Off Safety
  • NUTSO THUGN - Apeface NUTSO THUGN - Apeface
  • BANDGANG BIGGS - Biggs Campaign BANDGANG BIGGS - Biggs Campaign
  • DEM FRANCHIZE BOYZ - On Top of Our Game DEM FRANCHIZE BOYZ - On Top of Our Game
  • KEY GLOCK - Yellow Tape 2 KEY GLOCK - Yellow Tape 2

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.