CASEY - Tragédie d'une trajectoire

The year 2006 was a key time for Casey. The rapper originally from Rouen had been in for a decade, she had built her own place in the French rap universe, through various collaborations and contributions to mixtapes and compilations. She never released any proper record, though, until that very rich year, when she delivered the Ennemi de l'ordre ("Enemy of Order") maxi single, the retrospective street-CD Hostile au stylo ("Hostile with my Pen"), a gargantuan project with no less than 64 tracks, and her first album. The latter, Tragédie d'une trajectoire ("Tragedy of a Trajectory"), would strengthen her status as one of the most respected rappers in France; one of those, also, whose aura shines much beyond the limits of hip-hop music.

CASEY - Tragédie d'une Trajectoire

With that opus, Casey shows that she's already an old-timer. She is from the previous decade. Mostly produced by Hery and Laloo, her music is made of classic boom bap, with the expected scratches. And her lyrics comply with the French chanson tradition, with their literary turn and their serious messages. No surprise, considering this, that Cathy Palenne would be invited soon to Radio France (the French BBC), and that she would spend time with writer Virginie Despentes. On "Je lutte" ("I Fight"), she says that she's a target for the elite, but in reality, that same elite – or more exactly, another subset of the elite – loves her. She delivers exactly what these people expect: outstanding writing skills, which she dedicates to social commentaries.

In a Public Enemy way, the rapper shoots one target after the other: the music industry and the wack rappers on "Pas à vendre" ("Not for Sale"); the police, the judges and the politics on "Qui sont-ils?" ("Who are they?"); the journalists, the critics, and the mainstream artists on "Une lame dans ma veste" ("A Blade in my Jacket"); and more broadly, the jerks and the idiots on "Mourir con" ("Dying Dumb"). That being said, Casey is not your typical moaning and whining French rapper. She is not only a sermonizer. Besides the usual ego-trips on "Suis ma plume" ("Follow my Quill"), the allegiance to her territory on "Banlieue nord" ("Northern Slums") and the clan spirit on "On ne présente plus la famille" ("No Need to Present the Family"), with Ekoué from La Rumeur, she learned an important trick from the US rappers: you don't have to be apologetic.

Casey does the complete opposite: she strikes back. The wounded animal she describes on the introductive and eponymous "Tragédie d'une trajectoire", doesn't complain much: it rebuffs. She heals humiliation through violent lyrics, like on "Ma haine" ("My Hatred"), when she portrays her resentment like an old pal. She responds to her troubles through fights on "Je lutte", or threats on "Une lame dans ma veste", "Mourir con", and "Quand les banlieusards sortent" ("When the Slummers Go Out"), a track where the vengeful rapper confirms all the dark fears and fantasies average citizens entertain about the youngsters from the 'hood.

To express her rage, Casey uses a hostile and surly voice, an asexual posture and, at times, like on "Suis ma plume" and the atrabilious "Qui sont-ils?", the heavy guitar sounds of rock music. The gem on the album, however, "Chez moi" ("At Home"), doesn't follow that framework. It is a homage to her family land, the French Caribbean Island of Martinique, which she describes in an authentic way, with none of the clichés the ignorant and patronizing people from mainland France have about it. This track is like the others: it destroys stereotypes. But it is less frontal, explicit and expected than the others. And as a result, this attack is the most powerful of all.

Sometimes on the album, Casey can look a bit too studious. But she will improve overtime. She will let loose, she will be more and more open about her parallel passion for rock music, while staying equally angry and remaining an outstanding writer. As she says on the hook of "Tragédie d'une trajectoire", there was limited chance that her hatred softens in her old age.

Buy this album

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • KODAK BLACK - Back For Everything KODAK BLACK - Back For Everything
  • MACH-HOMMY - Pray For Haiti MACH-HOMMY - Pray For Haiti
  • DEVIN THE DUDE - Soulful Distance DEVIN THE DUDE - Soulful Distance
  • GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch
  • SAMEER AHMAD - Apaches SAMEER AHMAD - Apaches
  • EEKWOL & MILS - The List EEKWOL & MILS - The List
  • POLO G - Die a Legend POLO G - Die a Legend
  • AZJAH - Princess Diaries AZJAH - Princess Diaries

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

CASEY - Tragédie d'une trajectoire

L'année 2006 est une période clé pour Casey. Cela fait alors une décennie que la rappeuse originaire de Rouen s'est fait une place dans le monde du hip-hop français, à travers des collaborations, ainsi que sa participation à des mixtapes et à des compilations. Et pourtant, toujours pas de sortie longue durée. Jusqu'à cette année faste où elle propose coup sur coup le maxi Ennemi de l'ordre, le street-CD rétrospectif Hostile au Stylo, gargantuesque avec ses 64 morceaux, ainsi que son premier album officiel, Tragédie d'une Trajectoire, une œuvre qui consolide son statut, qui la consacre comme l'une des personnalités les plus respectées de la scène française, l'une de celles, aussi, dont l'aura dépasse le milieu du rap stricto sensu.

CASEY - Tragédie d'une Trajectoire

Avec cet opus, Casey nous rappelle qu'elle est de la décennie précédente. La musique, produite principalement par Hery et Laloo, est faite d'un boom bap sombre et de bon aloi, scratches occasionnels à l'appui, et les paroles suivent la tradition bien établie en France de la chanson à texte, d'un rap à messages qui n'a que faire du second degré. Nulle surprise donc, si à l'avenir, Cathy Palenne sera invitée dans les studios de Radio France, si elle fréquentera Virginie Despentes et si, en vérité, l'élite dont elle s'estime la cible sur "Je Lutte" (ou plutôt un autre pan de l'élite), l'adorera. A ces gens, elle offre ce qu'ils attendent, une certaine forme de rap "conscient", écrit avec une plume très littéraire, et qui investit le registre du réquisitoire.

A la manière de Public Enemy, la rappeuse dégomme cible après cible : l'industrie de la musique et les rappeurs à deux sous sur "Pas à Vendre", la police, la justice et les politiques sur "Qui Sont-Ils?", les journaliste, les critiques et les artistes grand public sur "Une Lame dans ma Veste", et plus globalement, les imbéciles et les bouffons sur "Mourir Con". Cependant, Casey sait se distinguer de l'ordinaire pleurnichard et donneur de leçons d'un certain rap français. Si elle a retenu un principe des Etats-Unis, en dehors des habituels routines de l'égo-trip ("Suis ma Plume"), de la fidélité au territoire ("Banlieue Nord") et de l'esprit de clan ("On ne Présente plus la Famille", avec Ekoué), c'est que les rappeurs n'ont rien à gagner à faire profil bas.

Au contraire, ils doivent savoir rendre les coups. L'animal blessé, qu'elle dépeint sur le titre introductif et éponyme "Tragédie d'une Trajectoire", ne fait pas que se lamenter sur son sort : il se rebiffe. A ses humiliations, Casey répond par la violence des textes, comme quand sur "Ma Haine", elle présente son ressentiment comme un vieux compagnon. Elle leur réplique par le combat sur "Je Lutte", elle assène des menaces corsées sur "Une Lame dans ma Veste", "Mourir Con", et surtout sur "Quand les Banlieusards Sortent" où, vengeresse, la rappeuse donne corps à toutes les craintes et à tous les fantasmes des honnêtes gens envers les jeunes des quartiers.

Pour exprimer toute cette rage, Casey use de sa voix hostile et revêche, de sa prose asexuée et parfois, comme sur "Suis ma Plume" et sur le hargneux "Qui Sont-Ils?", de la lourdeur et des guitares du rock. Cependant, le bijou de l'album, "Chez Moi", n'appartient pas à ce registre. Il s'agit plutôt d'un hommage à sa terre d'origine, la Martinique, qu'elle décrit telle qu'elle, à rebours des images de carte postale. Ce titre est comme les autres, une dénonciation, celle des clichés entretenus sur les Antilles par une métropole ignorante et condescendante. Mais moins frontale, moins explicite, moins prévisible aussi, cette attaque n'en est que plus puissante.

Parfois en effet, Casey peut paraître trop appliquée. Mais elle se bonifiera avec le temps, se lâchant quelque peu, exprimant encore davantage sa passion pour le rock, sans jamais rien ne perdre ni de sa plume, ni de sa colère. Car comme elle le dit à juste titre sur le refrain de "Tragédie d'une Trajectoire", il y aura eu peu de chance que tout cela se tasse avec la vieillesse.

Acheter cet album

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Vous pourriez aussi aimer...

  • BALLOUT - RedEye Music BALLOUT - RedEye Music
  • BABY KEEM - The Melodic Blue BABY KEEM - The Melodic Blue
  • YOUNG DOLPH & KEY GLOCK - Dum and Dummer 2 YOUNG DOLPH & KEY GLOCK - Dum and Dummer 2
  • DAVE - We're All Alone In This Together DAVE - We're All Alone In This Together
  • LIL' RUE - Pure Mob 2 LIL' RUE - Pure Mob 2
  • YOUNG STONER LIFE, YOUNG THUG & GUNNA - Slime Language 2 YOUNG STONER LIFE, YOUNG THUG & GUNNA - Slime Language 2
  • SKILLA BABY - Standing On Business SKILLA BABY - Standing On Business
  • MACH-HOMMY - Pray For Haiti MACH-HOMMY - Pray For Haiti

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.