ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately

Last year, Lonnie Bands from Detroit's BandGang released KOD, one of 2019's remarkable rap albums. A track on this project was "Detroit to Inglewood", a very strong posse cut underlining the many connections between the Midwest and Californian scenes, featuring people like Drego & Beno, and, on the West Coast side of the guest list, Ice Burgandy. It was nice hearing him again, considering that the only recent news about him related to the sordid death of his old friend Rosemo, after a beef with the rappers The Game and Boskoe. Apart from this, this Bloods affiliate appeared to have dropped rap for a good reason: he earned no revenue from it. But then he resurfaced, exactly as before, far away from his Californian base in Inglewood.

ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately

Ice Burgandy, indeed, had previously been an affiliate to Atlanta's 1017 Brick Squad collective. In 2012, he even released one of the many anthological mixtapes recorded by Gucci Mane's band, a project named Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately. The guy in that group he was the closest to, actually, was Waka Flocka Flame. He was enrolled by him into his Brick Squad Monopoly subdivision, along with some other local rappers, after a trip the guy had made to California. He had featured on "Homies", one of Flockavelli's tracks, and Waka Flocka was very visible on his own mixtapes. On Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately, however, the man from Inglewood was unquestionably the main star, along with Purps from the 808 Mafia, who produced all of the mixtape, except for contributions from Southside and Lex Luger.

The main subject matters were those expected from a Brick Squad folk. It was all about drug stories, told from the dealer or the consumer perspective. And in addition to these, the rapper had a few lyrics about cars, money, clubs, and girls. Ice Burgandy's, though, imported from California a laid-back attitude, and better lyrical skills than most of his Atlanta peers. Also, except for the dispensable "My Benz", a track produced by Lex Luger and featuring Waka Flocka, he didn't limit himself to the devastating bangers these two were famous for. Some songs were relentless, like the gang anthem "Right Side Hangin", the pack celebration "Northside Rose Mo" – one of Southside's contribution –, the proud "Troublesome", or "Warrents". But others were slower and more insidious, like the melancholic "Death around the Corner", or the dealers' song "PMBB", probably the highlight on the mixtape with its screwed hooks, in case one needs to be identified on this remarkably strong and homogeneous release.

Download this mixtape

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love
  • KASH DOLL - Brat Mail KASH DOLL - Brat Mail
  • QUEEN KEY - Your Highness QUEEN KEY - Your Highness
  • RICO NASTY - Nasty RICO NASTY - Nasty
  • OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless
  • STEFFLON DON - Real Ting STEFFLON DON - Real Ting
  • KATIE GOT BANDZ - Bandz and Hittaz KATIE GOT BANDZ - Bandz and Hittaz
  • IGGY AZALEA - Ignorant Art IGGY AZALEA - Ignorant Art

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately

L'an passé, Lonnie Bands de BandGang a sorti KOD, l'un des albums à retenir, en 2019, de la fourmillante scène de Detroit. Or, sur ce projet, figurait le remarquable "Detroit To Inglewood", l'un de ses meilleurs morceaux, un posse cut qui rappelait une fois encore les connexions entre le rap du Midwest et celui de Californie en mêlant aux voix de Drego et Beno, entre autres, celle d'Ice Burgandy. Croiser ce dernier dans les parages était une bonne surprise, après des années où, à part pour un sordide fait divers (la mort de son pote Rosemo, suite à une embrouille avec les rappeurs The Game et Boskoe), ce membre des Bloods n'aura pas fait beaucoup parler de lui, ayant laissé tomber le rap parce qu'il n'en tirait aucun revenu. Cependant, ce n'est pas la première fois que le Californien représente sa cité d'Inglewood au-delà de ses bases.

ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately

A l'origine, c'est auprès des gens d'Atlanta et du 1017 Brick Squad qu'il s'était d'abord fait connaître. Et il n'y avait pas fait que de la figuration, comme l'avait démontrée en 2012 Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately, l'une des mixtapes d'anthologie de la bande à Gucci Mane. Au sein de cette clique, c'est en fait de Waka Flocka qu'Ice Burgandy était proche. Celui-ci l'avait enrôlé au sein du Brick Squad Monopoly, avec d'autres rappeurs locaux inconnus, au cours d'une virée en Californie. Il l'avait invité sur "Homies", un titre de Flockavelli, et il était bien en évidence sur ses mixtapes. Toutefois, sur Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately, l'homme d'Inglewood était bel et bien l'acteur de sa réussite, avec Purps de la 808 Mafia qui, à l'exception de l'aide passagère de Southside et de Lex Luger, en produisait la quasi entièreté.

Les thèmes étaient ceux attendus du côté du Brick Squad. C'était les histoires de drogue habituelles, développées sur le mode du vendeur ou sur celui du consommateur, avec en prime quelques affaires de bagnole, de fric, de club et de femmes. Ice Burgandy, cependant, importait de sa Californie une décontraction, une maîtrise dans les raps et des jeux de langage qui n'appartenaient qu'à lui. A un dispensable "My Benz" près, produit par Lex Luger et secondé par Waka Flocka, il ne se limitait pas aux coups de butoir caractéristiques de ce dernier. Quelques titres étaient trépidants, comme l'hymne de gang menaçant "Right Side Hangin", la rituelle célébration en meute du quartier "Northside Rose Mo" (l'une des contributions de Southside), "Ice Ice Baby", le fier "Troublesome" ou encore "Warrents". Mais d'autres étaient plus lents et plus insidieux, comme le mélancolique "Death Around the Corner", ou surtout ce remarquable "PMBB" de dealers au refrain screwed, le sommet de cette mixtape, s'il fallait absolument en trouver un à cette sortie de qualité très homogène.

Télécharger cette mixtape

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 2012

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 2012. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Vous pourriez aussi aimer...

  • POP SMOKE - Meet the Woo POP SMOKE - Meet the Woo
  • DIGGA D - Double Tap Diaries DIGGA D - Double Tap Diaries
  • LD - The Masked One LD - The Masked One
  • MERYL - Jour Avant Caviar MERYL - Jour Avant Caviar
  • WNC WHOP BEZZY - Addy World WNC WHOP BEZZY - Addy World
  • DUKE DEUCE - Memphis Massacre 2 DUKE DEUCE - Memphis Massacre 2
  • ICEWEAR VEZZO - Drank Baby ICEWEAR VEZZO - Drank Baby
  • GHETTO - Ghetto Gospel GHETTO - Ghetto Gospel

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.