SAMEER AHMAD - Apaches

Since his album Perdants Magnifiques, in 2014, Sameer Ahmad is praised by French critics, even though his career started much before this. He is less known than other rappers, but contrary to many of them, he rarely disappoints. His latest project, though, is even better. The guy from Montpellier worked hard on it. Apaches is short but dense, and it benefits from some crucial support. Others contributed to make it a beautiful item, such as illustrators Lasse Russe and Hector de la Vallée, as many producers as we have tracks, and a couple of rappers, LK de l'Hôtel Moscou and Nakk Mendosa. That being said, this album is primarily Ahmad's thing.

SAMEER AHMAD - Apaches

On Apaches, he excels at his own kind of rap, one that evokes instead of telling, one that plays primarily with assonances and analogies. Listening to it is like hunting treasures. It is a journey, through a multitude of personal references, showing that Sameer Ahmad is an educated man – he is a teacher in real life – as well as a pop culture addict. He alludes to hip-hop heroes like Kool Herc, Tupac, Biggie, Wu-Tang Clan, Suge Knight, or André 3000, as well as other African American legends, such as Malcolm X or Iceberg Slim. He mentions Serge Gainsbourg twice, and he refers to the Bible, with words from the Book of Genesis, the Book of Ezekiel, the Last Supper, and the Crucifixion. His other hobby is cinema. He quotes several movies such as the expected Scarface and The Godfather, of course, but also Apocalypse Now, The Scent of Green Papaya, Rocky, Planet of the Apes, Once Upon a Time in the West, A Bronx Tale... This is a thick album, with lots of double meanings, and surprises and discoveries with each new listen.

Behind the Western movie theme, highlighted by an excerpt from Little Big Man, or a few Native American chants – on "Sitting Bull", and then "Safar", with a sample that sounds a lot like the beginning of The Breeders' "Cannonball" – the main subject matter shows through. This album is about Sameer Ahmad's own existence. It is about his life as a son of Iraq immigrated to France to escape Saddam Hussein's bloody regime. Behind the Apache, is the Arab. He talks a lot about the Middle East, and the cover of "Sitting Bull" shows his own father, after he was tortured. He is the boy who settled in the "nice country of Jacques Mesrine" (France's most legendary gangster) and became obsessed with America. The one who, on "Southside", draws a parallel between Outkast's Dirty South and Southern France, to signify he is a marginal rapper.

This album could have been the boring escapade in someone's abstruse and egotist world. However, to make it more appealing, the producers delivered first-class beats. These are made of some ecumenic and ageless music, with old-fashioned samples as well as trap music rhythms, that takes time before settling, through long instrumental intros and closings. This is full of smart ideas, like when John Cale's violin on "Venus in Furs", is recycled on "Papa Legba". Despite the many producers, the quality is constant, even though some highlights are to be noticed, like "Sitting Bull", "C.A.B", "Logos", and the conclusive and magnificent "H2O". There is absolutely no doubt, when Apaches ends, that Sameer Ahmad has delivered his masterpiece.

Buy this album

Rate this entry

5/5

  • Note: 5
  • Votes: 1
  • Higher: 5
  • Lower: 5

You may also like

  • GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch
  • POLO G - Die a Legend POLO G - Die a Legend
  • AZJAH - Princess Diaries AZJAH - Princess Diaries
  • BILLY WOODS & KENNY SEGAL - Hiding Places BILLY WOODS & KENNY SEGAL - Hiding Places
  • LIL DEBBIE - Debbie, avr. 2020 LIL DEBBIE - Debbie
  • KATE TEMPEST - Let Them Eat Chaos KATE TEMPEST - Let Them Eat Chaos
  • NADIA ROSE - Highly Flammable NADIA ROSE - Highly Flammable
  • LEIKELI47 - Acrylic LEIKELI47 - Acrylic

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

SAMEER AHMAD - Apaches

, 20:21 - Lien permanent

Bénéficiant des honneurs critiques depuis son album de 2014, Perdants Magnifiques, mais actif depuis plus longtemps encore, Sameer Ahmad fait du bon travail. Plus discret que beaucoup de rappeurs, il est une valeur plus sûre que la plupart. Cependant, sur son dernier projet, sorti à la mi-année, le garçon de Montpellier a mis les bouchées doubles. D'une durée courte, condensé, Apaches a tout d'abord profité d'un nombre appréciables de renforts. Parmi ceux qui ont concouru à la création de ce bel objet, figurent ces vieilles connaissances que sont les illustrateurs Lasse Russe et Hector de la Vallée, presque autant de producteurs que de morceaux, et les rappeurs LK de l'Hôtel Moscou et Nakk Mendosa. Mais que l'on ne s'y trompe pas, cet album est en premier lieu la chose de Sameer Ahmad.

SAMEER AHMAD - Apaches

Bad Cop Bad Cop ‎:: 2019 :: acheter cet album

Avec Apaches, il excelle à son style de rap, un rap qui évoque plutôt qu'il ne raconte, jouant en permanence d'analogies, d'assonances, d'associations d'idées. L'album est un immense jeu de piste, un voyage à travers une myriade de références personnelles, où se devine autant l'homme instruit qu'est l'auteur (il est professeur dans la vraie vie), que l'adepte de pop culture. Sameer Ahmad empile les allusions aux grandes figures du hip-hop (Kool Herc, Tupac, Biggie, Wu-Tang Clan, Suge Knight, Andre 3000...) et de l'univers culturel afro-américain, comme Malcolm X ou Iceberg Slim. Il cite Serge Gainsbourg à deux reprises, il se réfère plusieurs fois à des passages de la Bible (les premiers mots de La Genèse, le Livre d'Ézéchiel, la Cène, la crucifixion...) et bien sûr, il exprime sa grande passion, le cinéma : outre les prévisibles Scarface et Le Parrain, sont évoqués ici Apocalypse Now, L'Odeur de la Papaye Verte, Rocky, La Planète des Singes, Il Etait une Fois dans l'Ouest, Il était une fois le Bronx... Ce disque est si touffu, il est si riche en tiroirs et en double-sens, qu'il est de ceux qui se redécouvrent à chaque écoute.

Derrière la thématique western du disque, soulignée ici par un extrait de Little Big Man, là par les samples de chants indiens sur "Sitting Bull" (ou sur "Safar" par des sons qui sonnent comme tels, ceux qui ouvraient autrefois le "Cannonball" des Breeders), c'est la biographie de Sameer Ahmad qui affleure, celle du fils d'Irak qui a fui le régime de Saddam Hussein pour s'établir en France. Derrière l'Apache, c'est l'Arabe qui se cache, via ses références au Moyen-Orient, à travers aussi la pochette du single annonciateur de l'album, "Sitting Bull", où figure une photo de son père après une séance de torture. C'est celui qui s'est établi dans le beau pays de Jacques Mesrine, comme il l'appelle, et qui y est devenu fasciné par l'Amérique, que l'on entend sur "Southside" établir un parallèle entre le Dirty South d'Outkast et ses bases montpelliéraines, et évoquer son statut de marginal du rap français.

Tout cela pourrait n'être qu'une virée absconse et égotiste dans l'univers personnel du rappeur. Mais comme pour rendre ce dernier plus avenant et plus universel, la production se montre de haut niveau. Elle est faite d'une musique oecuménique et sans âge, qui sait mêler samples à l'ancienne et rythmiques trap contemporaines, et qui prend parfois tout son temps pour se déployer, à l'occasion de longues introductions ou conclusions instrumentales. Elle est astucieuse, comme dans le cas de ce "Papa Legba" qui recycle intelligemment le violon de John Cale sur "Venus in Furs". Et malgré la pluralité des producteurs, sa qualité est constante, même si quelques temps forts se distinguent, comme "Sitting Bull", "C.A.B", "Logos", et le très beau finale de "H2O". A l'issue de l'écoute de Apaches, il n'y a plus aucun doute : Sameer Ahmad nous a bel et bien délivré sa grande œuvre.

Évaluer ce billet

5/5

  • Note : 5
  • Votes : 5
  • Plus haute : 5
  • Plus basse : 5

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet