KASH DOLL - Brat Mail

The main doll, the most visible of them all, is Arkeisha Knight. Discovered through a remix of Tinashe's "2 On", and then through her take on AV's "Run Me My Money", she's been seen alongside people from her own city, Detroit, like Icewear Vezzo and FMB DZ, but she also worked with more famous people, like B.O.B. and Trina, who featured on Keisha Vs. Kash Doll, her first mixtape after she joined BMB Records. Later on, she also collaborated with Drake, Metro Boomin and Big Sean. Also, she was supposed to feature on a YG song, before that one, "She Bad", went to Cardi B, which ignited a short conflict between the two ladies. These two had much in common, though: both of them had been strippers, before turning into rappers.

KASH DOLL - Brat Mail

As a matter for fact, Kash Doll's posture on Brat Mail, her 2018 mixtape, is the same as the New-Yorker's: she celebrates her success, on musical formulas coming from Atlanta, more than their respective cities. "Dancin", for example, is typical of the A-Town with its absurd anthem to luxury brands and other signs of wealth, and the little melody from Zaytoven. The same goes with "I Want" and "Rich Talk", two duos with Scrilla. On "Serious", with a hook from Natasha Mosely, the rapper explores a similar theme, claiming that she prefers riches over men. Everywhere on the mixtape, Kash Doll shows why she is called that way: she is the doll who likes cash money; preferably in seven-digit numbers, as she says on "Dividends".

Kash Doll's objective, on this short 22-minute project, is to celebrate herself. From the introductory a cappella through the project's best track, "Check", she delivers good old ego-trips. With the Instagram-like cover art of her mixtape and its two millions "likes", and with the praise she gave to her fans during the 2017 BET Hiphop Awards ceremony, she included to the end of Brat Mail, Kash Doll enjoys her notoriety on social networks. On this project released on March 14, the very day of her twenty-fifth birthday (also the twenty-fourth anniversary of her father's death…) the rapper from Detroit does a bit of self-persuasion: she is not the superstar she fantasizes about, she is not that famous yet. But of course, it absolutely doesn't matter.

Buy this mixtape

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love
  • QUEEN KEY - Your Highness QUEEN KEY - Your Highness
  • RICO NASTY - Nasty RICO NASTY - Nasty
  • OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless
  • STEFFLON DON - Real Ting STEFFLON DON - Real Ting
  • KATIE GOT BANDZ - Bandz and Hittaz KATIE GOT BANDZ - Bandz and Hittaz
  • IGGY AZALEA - Ignorant Art IGGY AZALEA - Ignorant Art

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

KASH DOLL - Brat Mail

La doll proéminente, la plus visible des poupées qui prolifèrent aujourd'hui dans le rap, est Arkeisha Knight. Celle qui a été lancée par un remix du "2 On" de Tinashe, puis confirmée après sa version du "Run Me My Money" d'AV, a été aperçue auprès des figures de sa ville de Detroit, d'Icewear Vezzo à FMB DZ. Mais elle a aussi côtoyé des personnes plus notoires, comme B.O.B. et Trina, qui figuraient dès 2015 sur Keisha Vs. Kash Doll (sa première mixtape après sa signature sur le label local BMB Records), puis Drake, Metro Boomin et Big Sean. Elle aurait aussi pu collaborer avec YG sur un morceau, avant que celui-ci ne devienne "She Bad" et qu'il ne soit réservé à Cardi B, provoquant un beef éphémère entre ces deux femmes qui ont en commun d'avoir été danseuses dans des strip clubs, avant de se lancer dans le rap.

KASH DOLL - Brat Mail

Sur sa mixtape de 2018, Brat Mail, c'est le même refrain que celui de la New-yorkaise que nous sert Kash Doll : celui de la réussite. Tout comme l'autre, également, elle s'inspire des formules musicales d'Atlanta, plutôt que du son de sa propre ville. "Dancin", par exemple, est typique d'A-Town, avec son ode absurde aux marques et autres signes de richesse, et sa petite mélodie signée Zaytoven. Même chose avec "I Want" et "Rich Talk", deux collaborations avec Scrilla. Sur "Serious", avec l'appui de Natasha Mosely au chant, la rappeuse poursuit sur un thème voisin, proclamant préférer aux hommes les biens matériels. Partout sur cette mixtape, Kash Doll donne raison à son pseudonyme : elle est la poupée qui aime l'argent, elle est celle qui n'accepte que les nombres à sept chiffres, comme elle le répète sur "Dividends".

Le but de Kash Doll sur ce projet compact de 22 minutes, c'est de s'autocélébrer. Dès l'a cappella introductif, ou plus tard sur le meilleur titre du projet, "Check", elle se lance dans de bons vieux égo-trips. Avec cette pochette sous forme de photo Instagram, deux millions de "like" en prime, avec cet hommage qu'elle avait rendu à ses fans lors des BET Hiphop Awards de 2017, et qu'on retrouve en conclusion de Brat Mail, Kash Doll se délecte de la notoriété qu'elle a bâtie sur les réseaux sociaux. Sur ce projet sorti à la date symbolique du 14 mars 2018, le jour de son vingt-cinquième anniversaire (et du vingt-quatrième de la mort de son père…), la rappeuse de Detroit, en praticienne américaine de la méthode Coué, célèbre crânement un triomphe personnel que, pourtant, elle n'a pas encore tout à fait rencontré.

Acheter cette mixtape

Vos 10 albums rap 2010-19

Désignez vos 10 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de la décennie 2010-19. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, et la sélection de Fake For Real en parallèle.

Album #01

Album #02

Album #03

Album #04

Album #05

Album #06

Album #07

Album #08

Album #09

Album #10

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Vous pourriez aussi aimer...

  • POP SMOKE - Meet the Woo POP SMOKE - Meet the Woo
  • DIGGA D - Double Tap Diaries DIGGA D - Double Tap Diaries
  • LD - The Masked One LD - The Masked One
  • MERYL - Jour Avant Caviar MERYL - Jour Avant Caviar
  • WNC WHOP BEZZY - Addy World WNC WHOP BEZZY - Addy World
  • DUKE DEUCE - Memphis Massacre 2 DUKE DEUCE - Memphis Massacre 2
  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • ICEWEAR VEZZO - Drank Baby ICEWEAR VEZZO - Drank Baby

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.