AZJAH - Princess Diaries

The contemporary rap scene in Los Angeles is not specifically known for its feminine faces. Recently, though, someone occupied this niche: a rapper called Azjah pretended that she was the "Princess of Compton". In reality, this young lady had secretly written raps and practiced freestyles for a while, as an amateur. But in 2017, though, things accelerated. After her brother Cholo was sentenced to prison for murder attempt, she dedicated a single to him, "The Warm Up", and it was a viral success. It was followed soon after by another one, the even more successful "Time For It". Thanks to these, Azjah gained some respect from DJ Mustard, YG, and Ty Dolla $ign, she got a distribution deal with EMPIRE, and she was praised by some media.

AZJAH - Princess Diaries, avr. 2020

Released in April, Princess Diaries is her first album. Per the cover art, where the rapper shows up with a bulletproof vest and a dog on a leash, it delivers some street-oriented kind of rap. More a tomboy than a doll, Azjah is not particularly emphasizing her female identity. Her lyrics are mostly about the pain and responsibilities of her thug life, and they are gender-neutral. However, except for relentless tracks like the bouncing "Ride for Me", "On a Mission", a duo with another rising star from L.A., 1TakeJay, and the quite good "Play Bout Me", her style of music is leaning toward the sad and melancholic sort of gangsta rap typical of our times. It is some modernized blues, amplified by atmospheric sounds and Auto-Tuned words. Such is, actually, the rapper's formula on "Time for It", "Testimony", and "Back n Fourth", a love song.

The most definitive track in that vein is "Loved Ones". This is the expected tribute to her lost ones, some murdered in the street, others dead for different reasons. There, she sings in a melodic way, with the help of a guitar, and she closes it with a thrilling cry of pain: "tell me who you call when all you got is the streets". This track was originally destined to be her main single, and she had planned to turn it into a banger. But the death of Nipsey Hussle changed it all. It put the entire L.A. scene into a dark mood, and the co-called Princess of Compton with it. Musically speaking, though, it worked well: when Azjah is sad, she is at her very best.

Buy this album

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • LIL DEBBIE - Debbie, avr. 2020 LIL DEBBIE - Debbie
  • LEIKELI47 - Acrylic LEIKELI47 - Acrylic
  • ASIAN DOLL - Drippin' in Glo ASIAN DOLL - Drippin' in Glo
  • NEILA - Better Late Than Never NEILA - Better Late Than Never
  • TOMMY GENESIS - World Vision TOMMY GENESIS - World Vision
  • DESSA - False Hopes DESSA - False Hopes
  • LORD NARF - Witchcraft LORD NARF - Witchcraft
  • ETERNIA - It’s Called Life ETERNIA - It’s Called Life

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

AZJAH - Princess Diaries

La scène rap actuelle, à Los Angeles, ne brille pas par sa présence féminine. Récemment, pourtant, quelqu'un a pris la place et revendiqué le titre de "Princess of Compton". La carrière d'Azjah n'a certes pas commencé d'un coup. La jeune femme s'est longtemps adonnée aux freestyles et à l'écriture en amateur, avant de faire parler d'elle. Mais il y a peu, un événement a précipité les choses : en mars 2017, à la suite de la condamnation à vie de son grand frère Cholo pour tentative de meurtre, elle lui a dédié un premier single, "The Warm Up". Celui-ci connut alors un certain succès viral, et le titre suivant, "Time For It", plus encore. Tout cela lui valut la reconnaissance de collègues prestigieux (DJ Mustard, YG, Ty Dolla $ign, etc.), ainsi qu'un contrat de distribution avec EMPIRE et, dans la foulée, les honneurs de la presse spécialisée.

AZJAH - Princess Diaries

Sorti en avril dernier, l'album Princess Diaries est le résultat de tout cela. Comme le montre la pochette, où la rappeuse s'exhibe en gilet pare-balle et un chien en laisse, elle y opte pour le rap de rue. Garçon manqué plus que poupée, elle ne met pas en avant son identité féminine. Ses paroles, qui portent sur son labeur et ses responsabilités de délinquante, sont unisexes. Toutefois, hormis quelques passages soutenus comme le bondissant "Ride for Me", cet "On a Mission" (avec une autre valeur montante de la ville, 1TakeJay), et le très bon "Play Bout Me", le répertoire adopté est celui, de saison, du gangster mélancolique et résigné, dont le vague à l'âme est amplifié par des sons atmosphériques et des raps chantonnés à l'Auto-Tune. C'est le registre qui domine sur 'Time For It", "Testimony", ou la chanson d'amour "Back n Fourth".

L'aboutissement de cette approche, c'est "Loved Ones", l'hommage classique à tous les proches qu'elle a perdus, qu'ils aient été tués dans la rue ou autrement. Elle l'interprète ici sur une guitare et de manière suprêmement mélodique, et le conclut par ce cri de détresse : "tell me who you call when all you got is the streets" (dis-moi qui appeler quand tu n'as que la rue). Ce morceau, destiné à être le single clé de l'album, Azjah avait d'abord voulu en faire un banger. Mais la mort de Nipsey Hussle a changé la donne. Elle a précipité l'ensemble de la scène angelena dans une humeur maussade, et la rappeuse a accompagné cette déprime. Bien lui en a pris, car c'est dans cette posture triste et pathétique qu'elle se distingue le mieux.

Acheter cet album

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Vous pourriez aussi aimer...

  • OPIO - Triangulation Station OPIO - Triangulation Station
  • YOUNG SLO-BE - Red Mamba YOUNG SLO-BE - Red Mamba
  • ALLBLACK - TY4FWM ALLBLACK - TY4FWM
  • BENNY THE BUTCHER - The Plugs I Met 2 BENNY THE BUTCHER - The Plugs I Met 2
  • BROCKHAMPTON - Roadrunner: New Light, New Machine BROCKHAMPTON - Roadrunner: New Light, New Machine
  • HUS KINGPIN – Portishus HUS KINGPIN - Portishus
  • POOH SHIESTY - Shiesty Season POOH SHIESTY - Shiesty Season
  • MAX B - Vigilante Season MAX B - Vigilante Season

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.