Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

RICO NASTY - Nasty

, 22:37 - Permalink

This is a new trend with today's rappers: they want to be rock stars. Though their subject matters – sex, drug and money – remain pretty much the same, their nihilist attitudes and imageries are heavily influenced by hardcore punk. See Playboi Carti's Die Lit cover art, for example. And the same goes with Rico Nasty on her latest mixtape, the first since she joined a major label. Nasty, indeed, his full of angry songs, blended with abrasive voices and furious guitars, like "Trust Issues", "In the Air", and the one summarizing it all: the outstanding "Rage".

RICO NASTY - Nasty

Atlantic ‎:: 2018 :: buy this mixtape

This, however, is not the face Maria Kelly used to show. By 2016, the Maryland resident's first songs like "iCarly" and "Hey Arnold" talked about sex and drugs, but they were melodic, catchy, and even syrupy, and they were titled according to Nickelodeon characters. Until now, the cover arts of her mixtapes were full of dolls, kitties and pink shades, and she displayed toys and colorful wigs in her videos. As long as he promoted her own rap subgenre coined "Sugar Trap", her posture was joyous and childish. In 2017, though, by the time she released her "Poppin'" single, she turned tough. She featured with a guitar in her "Spaceships" video, and her hairstyles became as aggressive and spiky as a punk rocker's.

Nasty is the final stage of this evolution. It is also, probably, Rico Nasty's very best project, and this is partly due to Kenny Beats. Back from his journey in electronic music, the producer took care of a significant portion of Nasty, and he managed to provide it with the decadent sounds it needed. His music – his own, or the one he borrowed from Noreaga and The Neptunes' "Superthug", on "Countin' Up – is dry and robotic. It goes well with Trap Lavigne, Rico Nasty's evil and angry alter ego. And when the production is not handled by Kenny Beats, Lex Luger, another heavy artillery specialist, is stepping in with "Transformer". With such beats, Rico Nasty is well armed to claim her hatred toward others, and more particularly men, on tracks like "Pressing Me". This music underlines her wild posture. It highlights her "I don't give a fuck" attitude, like with the opening track "Bitch I'm Nasty".

And though, when her anger stops, Rico Nasty reconnects with Tacobella, her previous character. Nasty, indeed, still has a few happy tracks. It has nursery rhymes on "Hockey", and Auto-Tune on "Won't Change". Her obsession with childhood is still here, like with the video game music of "Ice Cream", an X-rated track disguised as a song about candy. Rico Nasty, actually, still plays the same role: she is a teenager who grew up too quickly, others don't recognize anymore ("Life Back"); she is an adolescent, oscillating between angry bitterness and an anxious kind of hedonism ("Why Oh Why"). She is one same and unique character. But with "Rage" and Nasty's other highlights, she found the best way to play it.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

RICO NASTY - Nasty

C'est une caractéristique de la nouvelle génération de rappeurs : ils veulent maintenant être les rock stars à la place des rock stars. Même si leurs thèmes, sexe, drogue et argent, demeurent ceux habituels au genre, leur attitude nihiliste, leur imagerie même (cf. la pochette du récent Die Lit, de Playboi Carti), n'hésitent plus à s'inspirer de la scène punk et hardcore. Et ce jugement peut désormais s'étendre à Rico Nasty, dont la dernière mixtape, Nasty (la première depuis que la rappeuse a rejoint la major Atlantic), multiplie les morceaux où elle s'adonne à des accès de colère, voix abrasive et guitares furieuses à l'appui, comme par exemple "Trust Issues", "In The Air", et ce titre, le meilleur, celui qui résume tout: "Rage".

RICO NASTY - Nasty

Atlantic ‎:: 2018 :: acheter cette mixtape

Cela n'est pourtant pas tout à fait le visage que Maria Kelly, une résidente du Maryland, nous avait habitués à montrer. Les premiers titres par lesquels elle s'est fait connaître en 2016, "iCarly" et "Hey Arnold", nous parlaient certes de sexe et de drogues, mais ils étaient mélodiques, entêtants, voire sirupeux, et ils étaient nommés d'après des personnages de la chaîne pour enfants Nickelodeon. Sur les pochettes de ses mixtapes pleines de poupées, de petits chats et de tons roses, dans ces vidéos où elle s'exhibait avec des jouets, avec ses perruques fluo et bariolées, Rico Nasty se mettait en scène dans un univers joyeux et enfantin. Elle voulait promouvoir un genre à elle qu'elle avait baptisé, comme deux de ses mixtapes, la Sugar Trap. Et puis, en 2017, elle s'est faite plus dure, comme sur le single "Poppin'". On l'a vu arborer une guitare dans le clip de "Spaceships", et elle a adopté des coiffures plus agressives, iroquoises et mèches en piques à la punk.

Nasty est l'aboutissement de cette approche. Il est aussi, sans doute, le meilleur projet sorti à ce jour par Rico Nasty. Et l'une des explications de cette réussite tient en deux mots : Kenny Beats. Revenu d'aventures dans la musique électronique, le producteur s'est occupé d'une grosse portion de Nasty, et il a su apporter à la jeune femme les sons qui convenaient à son rap décadent. Sa musique sèche et robotique (fut-elle empruntée au "Superthug" des Neptunes et de Noreaga, sur "Countin' Up"), est celle qui va le mieux à Trap Lavigne, l'alter-ego méchant et furibard de la rappeuse. Et quand ce n'est pas Kenny Beats qui la fournit, c'est un expert en artillerie lourde, Lex Luger, qui s'y colle sur "Transformer". C'est sur de tels beats que Rico Nasty crie sa défiance envers les autres, les hommes en particulier ("Pressing Me"). Ce sont eux qui décuplent son attitude farouche et je-m'en-foutiste, comme sur l'introductif "Bitch I'm Nasty".

Cependant, passée la colère des premiers titres, l'autre personnage de Rico Nasty, Tacobella, pointe le bout de son nez. Car Nasty compte aussi des morceaux sautillants, chantonnés sous la forme de comptines comme "Hockey", et parfois agrémentés d'Auto-Tune, comme "Won't Change". Les références à l'enfance demeurent, comme avec la musique de jeu vidéo vintage qui accompagne "Ice Cream", un morceau qui tient des propos X en usant du vocabulaire des sucreries. Cependant, l'un dans l'autre, Rico Nasty joue toujours le même rôle : celui de l'adolescente qui a grandi trop vite, que les autres ne reconnaissent plus ("Life Back"), et qui balance entre une aigreur démonstrative et un hédonisme inquiet ("Why Oh Why"). Elle est toujours le même personnage, mais avec "Rage" et les autres temps forts de Nasty, elle vient de trouver la meilleure façon de l'incarner.

Évaluer ce billet

5/5

  • Note : 5
  • Votes : 1
  • Plus haute : 5
  • Plus basse : 5

Vous pourriez aussi aimer...

  • DIGGA D - Double Tap Diaries DIGGA D - Double Tap Diaries
  • LD - The Masked One LD - The Masked One
  • MERYL - Jour Avant Caviar MERYL - Jour Avant Caviar
  • WNC WHOP BEZZY - Addy World WNC WHOP BEZZY - Addy World
  • DUKE DEUCE - Memphis Massacre 2 DUKE DEUCE - Memphis Massacre 2
  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • ICEWEAR VEZZO - Drank Baby ICEWEAR VEZZO - Drank Baby
  • GHETTO - Ghetto Gospel GHETTO - Ghetto Gospel

Commentaires 2

  • Je note une forte proportion de rappeuses dans les chroniques de ces derniers mois... Les spéculations sur la préparation d'un quatrième livre sont ouvertes ! :)

    Par Robert Pyrex

  • @Robert Pyrex : Tout est envisageable !

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.