Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

QUEEN KEY - Your Highness

, 23:05 - Permalink

Queen Key is the embodiment of rap's specific take on feminism. Instead of desexualizing women, she talks about her lust, loudly and proudly. Her approach, however, is different from the one CupcaKke, her Chicago colleague, opted for. Ke'Asha McClure is not that frontal and pornographic, she goes the humorous way, with a raspy voice that sounds older than she is. To male rappers who like to say "suck my dick", she answers Eat my Pussy with her last EP, the very project aimed at accelerating her career, now that she joined Machine Entertainment Group.

QUEEN KEY - Your Highness

Self-released :: 2016 :: download this mixtape

This EP received positive reviews, and it was included to many year-end lists. Its strong moment is "My Way", one of the rapper's most powerful anthems. But the greatest of Queen – her first nickname, before she realized that some rock band had been named the same – might be found on her two Your Highness mixtapes. Nowadays, Queen Key transcends the artificial borders segmenting the Chicago rap scene. She is able to collaborate with drill music artists like King Louie, Dreezy and G Herbo, as well as with Tink, or Joey Purp on his Quarterthing album. Your Highness, though, was quite homogeneous, it was exclusively made of trap music.

It was full of excessive and over-the-top ego-trips, like the freestyles on Famous Dex's "Drip from My Walk", and O.T. Genasis' and Young Dolph's "Cut It". On "Panic", Queen Key positioned herself above her female peers. Per this project's title, she presented herself like a superior being on "Been a Fan", with another drill music figurehead, Sasha Go Hard. With "Killa", on a sample from the above-mentioned rock band, as well as with "WTF You Looking At", "Exposed", "Fuck Y All", and the two episodes of "Queen Shit", she was hostile and threatening. She assaulted each and everyone, independently from their genders. And she enjoyed drugs and lust on "Baked as a Pie", the single that had revealed her in 2015.

None of this was entirely new, except maybe her feminine view. But that, this inverted perspective, was precisely the essential part of the project. What mattered was, through the frequent mention of "eaters", her strong taste for cunnilingus; or her way to approach men on "Disrespect", with the same derogatory mode they had used for decades, toward women. "I got mo balls than yo dick boy", stated the diminutive lady on "Senile"; and indeed, she had guts.

Queen Key was there to make a point. And sometimes, she managed it, with memorable tracks like "Panic", the banger on this mixtape, or the pornographic nursery rhymes of "Hit a Lic". Your Highness was not perfect, far from it. But it was enough to identify a potential star in Queen Key. On "Panic", some guy stated the following: "See. There's two types of chicks in this world, chicks that make it happen, and chicks that watch it happen. What kind of chick is you?". As far as Queen Key was concerned, there was absolutely no ambiguity about the answer.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

QUEEN KEY - Your Highness

Queen Key est l'incarnation du féminisme à la manière du rap américain. Celui qui, plutôt que de désexualiser la femme, proclame à hauts cris son droit aux plaisirs de la chair. Son approche, toutefois, est distincte de celle de CupcaKke, sa collègue de Chicago. Plutôt que pour la pornographie et la manière frontale, Ke'Asha McClure opte pour un humour et une gouaille qui conviennent à sa voix éraillée qui fait plus que son âge, la petite vingtaine. En réponse à l'habituel "Suck My Dick" des garçons, elle n'en a pas moins nommé Eat my Pussy (mange ma chatte) son EP sorti cette année, celui-là même qui marque son lancement médiatique, consécutif à sa signature chez Machine Entertainment Group en 2017.

QUEEN KEY - Your Highness

Autoproduit :: 2016 :: télécharger cette mixtape

Cet EP a été remarqué. On le retrouve dans quelques sélections de fin d'année. Et il a le mérite d'inclure "My Way", le plus puissant des hymnes féministes de la rappeuse. Mais pour apprécier pleinement Queen (pour la nommer d'après son pseudo précédent, avant qu'elle ne réalise que c'était déjà le nom "d'un groupe ou d'un truc comme ça"), il vaut mieux revenir au premier volet des Your Highness, les deux mixtapes qui l'ont fait connaître. Queen Key transcende aujourd'hui les frontières, principalement journalistiques, qui segmentent la scène de Chicago. On l'a vu côtoyer tout autant King Louie, Dreezy et G Herbo, tous associés à la drill music, que Tink, ou encore Joey Purp sur son dernier album Quarterthing. Sur le premier Your Highness, cependant, la tendance était clairement à la trap music.

Ça l'était tant du point de vue musical, que pour l'égo-trip excessif et démesuré de la rappeuse, celui par exemple qu'elle délivrait quand elle freestylait sur le "Drip From My Walk" de Famous Dex, ou sur sur le "Cut It" d'O.T. Genasis et Young Dolph. Queen Key commençait sur "Panic" par se positionner au-dessus de ses consœurs. Fidèle au titre de la mixtape, elle se présentait ensuite comme un être supérieur devant lequel le monde s'incline, sur "Been a Fan", en compagnie d'une autre grand figure de la drill, Sasha Go Hard. Sur "Killa" usant d'un sample de "Killer Queen" (le tube du groupe susmentionné), tout autant que sur les deux épisodes de "Queen Shit", sur "WTF You Looking At", sur "Exposed" et sur "Fuck Y All", elle était hostile et menaçante, elle s'en prenait à tout le monde, sans distinction de sexe. Et elle goûtait aux plaisirs de la drogue et du stupre sur "Baked as a Pie", le single qui l'avait révélée en 2015, à l'échelon local en tout cas.

Rien de cela n'était inédit, excepté peut-être le point de vue féminin. Mais c'est précisément lui, l'essentiel. C'est ce renversement de perspective. C'est l'affirmation incessante, par l'évocation fréquente des "eaters" (les mangeurs), de son goût pour les cunnilingus. C'est cette façon de traiter les hommes sur "Disrespect", avec la même grossièreté qu'ils ont eux-mêmes longtemps affiché envers les femmes. "J'ai plus de couilles que toi, le mec avec une bite", disait par exemple sur "Senile" ce petit bout de femme qui n'a vraiment pas froid aux yeux.

Queen Key cherchait à impressionner. Et elle y parvenait parfois, avec quelques titres mémorables comme "Panic", un tube, ainsi que la stupide mais irrésistible comptine porno "Hit a Lic". Tout n'était pas parfait sur Your Highness, mais il est compréhensible que certains y aient découvert une graine de star. En introduction de "Panic", on entendait un homme déclarer : "il y a deux types de poulettes dans la vie, celles qui font les choses, et celles qui les regardent, quel type de poulette es-tu ?". En ce qui concernait Queen Key, évidemment, la réponse allait de soi.

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Vous pourriez aussi aimer...

  • DIGGA D - Double Tap Diaries DIGGA D - Double Tap Diaries
  • LD - The Masked One LD - The Masked One
  • MERYL - Jour Avant Caviar MERYL - Jour Avant Caviar
  • WNC WHOP BEZZY - Addy World WNC WHOP BEZZY - Addy World
  • DUKE DEUCE - Memphis Massacre 2 DUKE DEUCE - Memphis Massacre 2
  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • ICEWEAR VEZZO - Drank Baby ICEWEAR VEZZO - Drank Baby
  • GHETTO - Ghetto Gospel GHETTO - Ghetto Gospel

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.