OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless

It's been a while since a buzz started around OMB Peezy. Originally from Mobile, Alabama, but settled in Sacramento since he was 12, he has collaborated since 2016 with the likes of Nef the Pharaoh and Yhung To, and he attracted the attention of a few others. E-40, for example, asked him to join his Sick Wid It label. And he is also part of Lyor Cohen's new stable, 300. It took time, however, before he recorded his first proper project. Heralded for months, Loyalty over Love was released only now. Prior to it, he only had side-projects: an average Humble Beginnings EP, produced by Cardo, and earlier this year, Young and Reckless, a mixtape with Sherwood Marty. This teamwork with the Baton Rouge rapper, though, was much more than just an appetizer.

OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless

We didn't know that these two men knew each other, before they released the "Crash Out" single. Quite probably, this connection was the consequence of a marketing strategy from 300, both of them are part of. Anyway, the magic works. On this project, both rappers talk expectedly about street violence, about their hatred for rivals, and about "bitches". With his ordinary voice, Sherwood Marty is a perfect counterpart to OMB Peezy, whose nasal timbre, aggressiveness and melancholic touch position as one of Lil Boosie's many inheritors. Both men take benefit of this complementarity when, for example, they finish each other's verse.

Together, they deliver many solid tracks. The belligerent "Run Tha Game" is a perfect introduction to the offensive and violent lyrics of the mixtape. The "Crash Out" single is a convincing synthesis of the styles of OMB Peezy's two homelands: southern groove and Californian cool are mixed there, and modernized by a touch of Auto-Tune. "Ready" is using a good old trick: it plays with the contrast between a catchy melody, and threatening words. Last but not least, with the melancholic "Ride Wit It" and "Better Dayz", and their voices and lyrics full of despair, both rappers deliver new and convincing pieces of today's gangster blues.

This is how OMB Peezy and Sherwood Marty ended this joint project: with regrets, a bit of bitterness and pessimism, and even some ethics, to counterbalance the violence and immorality of the first tracks. That way, they demonstrate that Young and Reckless was well conceived, and that it is worth more than the marketing object it originally looked like.

Download mixtape

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love
  • KASH DOLL - Brat Mail KASH DOLL - Brat Mail
  • QUEEN KEY - Your Highness QUEEN KEY - Your Highness
  • RICO NASTY - Nasty RICO NASTY - Nasty
  • STEFFLON DON - Real Ting STEFFLON DON - Real Ting
  • KATIE GOT BANDZ - Bandz and Hittaz KATIE GOT BANDZ - Bandz and Hittaz
  • IGGY AZALEA - Ignorant Art IGGY AZALEA - Ignorant Art

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless

, 12:51 - Lien permanent

Cela fait déjà un petit bout de temps que la sauce monte autour d'OMB Peezy. Originaire de Mobile, Alabama, mais installé en Californie depuis ses 12 ans, à Sacramento, il enchaîne depuis 2016 des vidéos et collaborations remarquées (Nef the Pharaoh, Yhung To), et il a attiré l'attention de bonnes fées : E-40 l'a en effet intégré au label Sick Wid It, et il a rejoint l'écurie de Lyor Cohen, 300. Son premier projet, cependant, a tardé. Annoncé depuis de nombreux mois déjà, Loyalty Over Love n'est sorti que ces jours-ci, et il n'avait été précédé que par Humble Beginnings, un EP en demi-teinte avec le producteur Cardo, et une mixtape avec Sherwood Marty, Young and Reckless, distribuée plus tôt cette année. Cette collaboration avec le rappeur de Baton Rouge, cependant, était plus qu'un en-cas.

OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young And Reckless

300 Entertainment ‎:: 2018 :: télécharger cette mixtape

On ignorait que les deux hommes se connaissaient avant qu'ils ne sortent le single "Crash Out". Sans nul doute, cette connexion est le fruit d'une stratégie marketing ourdie par 300, auquel ils sont tous deux affiliés. Mais enfin, l'alchimie fonctionne. Sur ce projet où les deux rappeurs nous parlent naturellement de la violence de la rue, de leur haine pour leurs rivaux et, accessoirement, des bitches, Sherwood Marty, avec sa voix plus anodine, apporte l'appoint qu'il faut à OMB Peezy, dont le timbre nasal, ainsi que l'agressivité mêlée d'un zeste de mélancolie, en font un héritier de Boosie. Les deux hommes jouent à plein de cette complémentarité, par exemple quand, au sein d'un même refrain, ils se passent le relai à chaque vers.

Ensemble, ils proposent une poignée de titres remarquables. Hargneux, "Run Tha Game" est une introduction parfaite aux propos offensifs et violents de cette mixtape. Le single "Crash Out" est un avatar de cette synthèse réussie du son de ses deux patries, groove suave sudiste et cool californien (modernisée par la présence invasive de l'Auto-Tune), pour laquelle OMB Peezy a déjà été célébré. "Ready" use habilement de cette vieille formule, qui consiste à jouer du contraste entre une petite mélodie entrainante, et des propos âpres et menaçants. Enfin, avec les mélancoliques "Ride Wit It" et "Better Dayz", les deux rappeurs, les voix et les propos pleins de détresse, livrent chacun leur tour un blues de gangster.

Ainsi OMB Peezy et Sherwood Marty terminent-ils cette mixtape : sur des regrets, sur une note amère, pessimiste, presque éthique, qui vient quelque peu modérer la violence et l'immoralisme exprimés sur les premières plages. Ils démontrent ainsi que Young and Reckless a été bien conçu, et qu'il vaut bien mieux que ses allures de démarche marketing et de projet de transition le laissaient présager.

Évaluer ce billet

5/5

  • Note : 5
  • Votes : 1
  • Plus haute : 5
  • Plus basse : 5

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet