Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

KATIE GOT BANDZ - Bandz and Hittaz

, 13:15 - Permalink

By 2011, just when his regional musical style started buzzing outside of Chicago, BlockOnDaTrack, a drill music beatmaker, decided it was time to offer a feminine voice to this virile and aggressive hip-hop subgenre. He convinced his cousin Kiara Johnson - a student trying to make a living out of a waitress job at McDonalds, who had never thought she could be a rapper - to record a song with him. This would result into "I Need a Hitta", a success with the local Chicago youth, and it would lead to another one, "Ridin' Around and Drillin'", which caught the attention of King Louie. Subsequently, the drill music veteran asked the young woman to join his own Lawless Inc. imprint, and he participated to her most famous and defining banger : "Pop Out". Thus started the career of Katie Got Bandz, who released afterwards a series of mixtape, and became the undisputed queen of drill.

KATIE GOT BANDZ - Bandz and Hittaz

Lawless Inc. ‎:: 2012 :: download mixtape

BlockOnDaTrack, though, had urged her cousin to start rapping for another reason: she was walking a dangerous path, and he wanted to remove her from the streets. Actually, he didn't manage it: Katie was imprisoned on gun charges, at the very moment "I Need a Hitta" was buzzing. However, upon her release, surprised with how popular her song had become, she ultimately decided to take rap seriously. This translated into her collaboration with King Louie. And in 2012, at the very moment when drill music was turning into a national phenomenon, she released her first project, Bandz and Hittaz. Expectedly produced by her cousin, it was already worth - or even better - her infamous Drillary Clinton mixtape series.

Loyal to her background and to her environment, Katie complied scrupulously to the gospel of drill music, the only variation being her harsh and proud feminine voice. It was the complete formula: short and catchy rhymes, declaimed in a mechanical way; a kind of rap which relied more on the weight and aggressiveness of the lyrics, than on their virtuosity; trap music rhythmic patterns; emphatic, heavy and threatening synthesizer sounds; and here and there, a few gun claps.

The themes were also the same: they smelled of gangs and the hood. With "I Need a Hitta", the rapper was looking for a lover as brutal as she was, and she proclaimed loudly her love for money. With the tough "Yall Niggaz Ain't Hittaz", she pretended she would shoot her rival. With "Middle Fingers to Da Opps", she fucked the police. The rapper, actually, never exposed her feminine side. Sex was a common topic, but it was bestial, and absolutely not about her sex appeal. The only romance there, "Lady Hitta", was actually sung by a man, and his object of desire, Katie herself, was everything but a cute, fragile and sensible woman.

The rapper, on the opposite, copied the thuggish attitudes of her male colleagues. She even postured as a gang leader in the videos of "I Need a Hitta" and "Ridin' Round and We Drillin", surrounded by bands of accomplices of both genders. Thus, she defined what female drill music would look like. She heralded a model that most female rappers in that genre would follow, in the months or years to come.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

KATIE GOT BANDZ - Bandz and Hittaz

, 13:15 - Lien permanent

Aux alentours de 2011, alors même que son style musical commençait à se faire connaître au-delà de Chicago, BlockOnDaTrack, un producteur de drill music, s'est dit qu'il était temps d'offrir une voix féminine à ce genre viril et agressif. Aussi persuada-t-il sa cousine, Kiara Johnson, qui, alors étudiante, arrondissait ses fins de mois chez McDonald's et n'avait jamais songé à lancer une carrière dans le rap, à enregistrer un morceau avec lui. Celui-ci fut baptisé "I Need a Hitta", et il fut un tube auprès de la jeunesse locale. Il fut suivi d'un autre "Ridin' Around and Drillin'", qui attira l'attention du vétéran King Louie. Si bien qu'en 2012, ce dernier signa la jeune femme sur Lawless Inc., sa propre structure, et qu'il participa à son single le plus connu, "Pop Out", ce qui permit à celle qui prit le nom de Katie Got Bandz de sortir des mixtapes remarquées et de devenir très vite la reine de la drill.

KATIE GOT BANDZ - Bandz and Hittaz

Lawless Inc. ‎:: 2012 :: télécharger cette mixtape

BlockOnDaTrack, toutefois, avait poussé sa cousine à faire du rap pour une autre raison : sachant qu'elle filait un mauvais coton, il avait voulu l'éloigner de la délinquance. Il n'y parvint pas tout à fait, Katie étant en prison pour des histoires d'arme à feu au moment même où "I Need a Hitta" faisait sensation. Mais en sortant, surprise par l'accueil réservé à ce titre, elle se consacra pour de bon au rap. Cela se traduit, peu après la rencontre avec King Louie, en cette année 2012 où la drill music explosait au grand jour, par la sortie d'un projet intitulée Bandz and Hittaz. Produit évidemment par son cousin, celui-ci valait déjà amplement n'importe quelle édition des Drillary Clinton, sa série de mixtapes la plus célèbre.

Fidèle à son environnement et à son passé, Katie y appliquait scrupuleusement les recettes de la drill music. Elle ne faisait que leur apporter une voix féminine, d'ailleurs rêche et bravache. Pour le reste, elle suivait tous ses codes : des vers courts et entêtants, entonnés de manière presque mécanique, dont l'impact reposait sur la pesanteur et sur l'agressivité des paroles plutôt que sur la virtuosité des raps ; des motifs rythmiques de type trap ; une musique synthétique lourde, menaçante, emphatique ; et quelques bruits de flingues pour faire bonne mesure.

L'arrière-plan thématique était aussi celui des gangs et des quartiers chauds. Sur "I Need a Hitta", la rappeuse cherchait un compagnon aussi brutal qu'elle, et elle clamait son amour de l'argent. Sur le rude "Yall Niggaz Ain't Hittaz", elle tirait sur une rivale. Sur "Middle Fingers To Da Opps", elle appelait à niquer la police. Jamais Katie ne surjouait pas sa féminité. Le sexe n'était pas absent des textes, mais elle n'usait pas de sex appeal. La seule romance ici, "Lady Hitta", était chantée par un homme ; et l'objet de son désir n'avait absolument rien d'une petite chose fragile.

Katie répliquait au contraire l'attitude des hommes, jusqu'à parader comme eux dans les vidéos de "I Need a Hitta" et de "Ridin' Round and We Drillin", en chef de bande, cernée par toute une cohorte de congénères des deux sexes. Ce faisant, elle définissait ce que serait la drill music au féminin, elle promouvait un modèle que suivraient, à quelques variantes près, la plupart des rappeuses drill à venir.

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 2012

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 2012. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet