JEAN DEAUX - Soular System Vol. I: Dark Matter[s]

Female rappers seem to be numerous in Chicago, by the middle of the 2010's. Several among them became big names, on the drill music scene. And there are others, representing the other side of the city, its wiser, artsier, and more sophisticated one, the one animated by the likes of Chance the Rapper and Vic Mensa. Jean Deaux is one of them. Though she became famous through a sordid affair unrelated to music – she claimed that stylist Ian Connor had raped her – she is primarily a rapper and a singer. Her sweet voice, indeed, was heard on tracks from Mick Jenkins, Alex Wiley and her cousin Saba, as well as on others, with artists from other places like Isaiah Rashad, Mykki Blanco, and Smino, for whom she directed the video of the song "Anita".

JEAN DEAUX - Soular System Vol. I: Dark Matter[s]

Jean Deaux, indeed, has multiple talents. Like others such as Lauryn Hill, she's been compared with, she is more than just a rapper. She sings, also, in other genres than the expected soul or R&B ones. The music she displayed on her free release Soular System Vol. I: Dark Matters, covers many domains. There is a bit of ambient music on "Motel 6", "Genesis", and "A Crow's Interlude", ethereal sounds that some who have called trip hop once, on "Kukka" and "Diamonds Interlude", some singer-songwriter piano ballad, with the beautiful start of "Who Am I", and a bit of guitar on "Voodoo". There is also some dance-pop with "Ghost", jazzy sounds delivered by Donnie Trumpet on "Birthday Suit pt. 2"), weird things like the mix of Bulgarian choirs and castanets heard on "Right Now", and even a dialog in French on "Who Am I".

If Jean Deaux absolutely needs to be labeled, the right category is alternative R&B. Her music is experimental more than backward-looking, and her lyrics, focused on depression, heartaches, emotional distress, or about the rape she's been a victim of, she alludes to on "Voodoo", belong to that world, more than to the bravados and braggadocio of hip-hop music. Only a few of her verses are proud and aggressive, like on "Right Now". And her lyrics are more sentimental and spiritual, than materialistic ones. And though, Jean Deaux raps. Not always, and in a whispered and almost spoken way. But she raps. The style she belongs to is just not her area of concern. And actually, it doesn't matter much, especially when, after a few abstruse tracks, she delivers with violins, a guitar, and in a crescendo, something as splendid as the great "Equilibrium".

Télécharger cette mixtape

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer
  • HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love
  • KASH DOLL - Brat Mail KASH DOLL - Brat Mail
  • MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World
  • QUEEN KEY - Your Highness QUEEN KEY - Your Highness
  • RICO NASTY - Nasty RICO NASTY - Nasty
  • OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

JEAN DEAUX - Soular System Vol. I: Dark Matter[s]

Les femmes qui rappent semblent légion, dans le Chicago de la décennie 2010. Elles sont plusieurs à s'être fait un nom dans ce genre local qu'est la drill music. Mais il en existe aussi sur l'autre versant de la scène de la ville, le plus sage, le plus arty, le plus sophistiqué, celui représenté par Chance the Rapper et par Vic Mensa. C'est le cas de Jean Deaux. Si la jeune femme s'est fait surtout connaître pour une histoire sordide (elle est la seconde à avoir accusé de viol le styliste Ian Connor), elle est avant tout une rappeuse et chanteuse. Sa jolie voix, en effet, s'est fait entendre sur des morceaux de Mick Jenkins, d'Alex Wiley et de Saba (ils seraient cousins), tout comme sur ceux d'autres esthètes, établis sous d'autres cieux, comme Isaiah Rashad, Mykki Blanco, ainsi que Smino, pour lequel elle a tourné la vidéo du titre "Anita".

JEAN DEAUX - Soular System Vol. I: Dark Matter[s]

Les talents de Jean Deaux sont multiples. Comme beaucoup avant elle, par exemple Lauryn Hill, à qui on l'a comparée, elle ne se contente pas de rapper. Elle chante aussi, et dans des registres qui ne se limitent pas aux habituels soul ou R&B. La musique que l'on entend sur Soular System Vol. I: Dark Matters, un projet situé sur cette frontière floue qui sépare mixtapes et albums gratuits, investit de nombreux domaines : on y croise de l'ambient ("Motel 6", "Genesis", "A Crow's Interlude"), des sons évaporés qu'autrefois on aurait appelé trip hop ("Kukka", "Diamonds Interlude"), de la chanson de singer-songwriter au piano (le début du très beau "Who Am I") ou à la guitare ("Voodoo"), de la jolie dance-pop ("Ghost"), des instants jazzy (signés Donnie Trumpet, sur "Birthday Suit pt. 2"), et des choses bizarres comme les chœurs bulgares et les castagnettes de "Right Now", ou le dialogue en français sur "Who Am I".

Si, à tout prix, il faut rattacher Jean Deaux à une catégorie, alors celle du R&B alternatif pourrait convenir. Sa musique est expérimentale plutôt que passéiste, et ses paroles, portées sur la dépression, les peines de cœur, la détresse émotionnelle, les amours transis, voire le viol qu'elle a subi ("Voodoo"), appartiennent entièrement à cet univers, plutôt qu'à celui du hip-hop, à ses rodomontades et à ses poses de fier-à-bras. Seuls quelques vers sur "Right Now" font preuve de morgue et d'agressivité. La jeune femme a, définitivement, une posture plus introspective que démonstrative, ses préoccupations sont plus sentimentales et spirituelles que matérialistes. Pourtant, tout de même, Jean Deaux rappe. Pas tout le temps, certes, et dans un style susurré, presque parlé. Mais elle rappe. Ça n'est juste pas sa préoccupation première. Et on s'en fiche un peu quand, après quelques moments moins accessibles, elle chante cette merveille tout en violons et en guitares, ce grand crescendo qu'est "Equilibrium".

Télécharger cette mixtape

Évaluer ce billet

4/5

  • Note : 4
  • Votes : 1
  • Plus haute : 4
  • Plus basse : 4

Vous pourriez aussi aimer...

  • TITY BOI - Codeine Cowboy A 2 Chainz Collective TITY BOI - Codeine Cowboy: A 2 Chainz Collective
  • CONWAY - Reject 2 CONWAY THE MACHINE - Reject 2
  • YOUNGBOY NEVER BROKE AGAIN - 38 Baby YOUNGBOY NEVER BROKE AGAIN - 38 Baby
  • KODAK BLACK - Institution KODAK BLACK - Institution
  • 67 - In Skengs We Trust 67 - In Skengs We Trust
  • LIL WAYNE - The Dedication 2 LIL WAYNE - The Dedication 2
  • NÜK - Red Tape NUK X JOSE THE PLUG - Red Tape
  • POP SMOKE - Meet the Woo POP SMOKE - Meet the Woo

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.