CARDI B - Invasion of Privacy

It is now granted: Cardi B is the new queen of rap. So far, her course was flawless. Belcalis Almanzar delivered everything people long for: a bit of American Dream, as a stripper turned into a social network celebrity and a rap star; a bit of romance, with her troubled relationship with Offset and the recent birth of their daughter; and good music, with two solid mixtapes and a phenomenal collection of hit singles. Two of them, indeed, have been number ones in the US, "Bodak Yellow" and "I Like It", the first from a solo female rapper since Lauryn Hill. And in April, she had no less than 13 tracks simultaneously in the Billboard top 100. In the meanwhile, she released a first album, Invasion of Privacy, which was both a commercial and a critical success.

CARDI B - Invasion of Privacy

No surprise, then, if Cardi B dedicates her album to her own success. This is its major theme, as announced by the introductive "Get Up 10". This triumphal crescendo, reminiscing of Meek Mill, is about the rapper's journey from rags to riches. Now, she is ready to assault her rivals with Louboutin shoes. The rapper talks multiple times about her success: with pride ("Bodak Yellow"), extravagance ("Money Bag"), a quiet confidence ("Best Life"), humor ("Drip") or a multitude of luxury brands ("Bartier Cardi"). The record is all about that: celebrating herself.

Cardi B is proud. She is proud to be attractive on the salacious "She Bad". She is proud to be a Latina when, with Spanish-speakers Bad Bunny et J Balvin, the New-Yorker of Dominican and Trinidadian ascent appropriates Pete Rodriguez's "I Like It Like That". She is proud to be a woman. It is not a coincidence, indeed, if her success happens by the #MeToo era. Cardi B's watchwords are feminist, when she transforms "Chickenhead", a famous ode to fellatio, into an exaltation of feminine sexuality, when she threatens her lover on "Be Careful" or when, on "I Do", along with SZA, she says that nothing will prevent her from doing whatever she wishes.

Supported by a full crowd of producers – DJ Mustard, Murda Beatz, Frank Dukes, Boi-1da and others – and people coming from all parts of the rap and R&B worlds – Chance the Rapper, Migos, 21 Savage, YG, SZA, Kehlani –, leveraging various musical styles beyond trap music, moving from aggression to introspection to party celebrations, Invasion of Privacy is a true blockbuster, that tries to satisfy multiple kinds of audiences. It was tailored for the triumph it quickly encountered. And though, it is still quite similar to the two mixtapes that heralded it.

To Cardi B's credit, she delivered a true rap record, while other female rappers tend to turn into singers, and to move to R&B romances, whenever chasing success. There is a bit of that on Invasion of Privacy. On "Ring", with Kehlani, or on the cute "Thru Your Phone", with Ali Tamposi, the rapper talks about sentimental issues. But beyond that, Cardi B shows she knows her classics – the reference to Project Pat, the influence of Kodak Black's "No Flockin" on "Bodak Yellow". With her big mouth, she is more arrogant than vulnerable. She managed to deliver a mainstream album, without compromising her art too much. That album has nothing revolutionary, nonetheless it is an accomplishment, for several decades of female rap.

Buy this album

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch
  • AZJAH - Princess Diaries AZJAH - Princess Diaries
  • LIL DEBBIE - Debbie, avr. 2020 LIL DEBBIE - Debbie
  • KATE TEMPEST - Let Them Eat Chaos KATE TEMPEST - Let Them Eat Chaos
  • NADIA ROSE - Highly Flammable NADIA ROSE - Highly Flammable
  • LEIKELI47 - Acrylic LEIKELI47 - Acrylic
  • ASIAN DOLL - Drippin' in Glo ASIAN DOLL - Drippin' in Glo
  • RAPSODY - Laila’s Wisdom RAPSODY - Laila’s Wisdom

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

CARDI B - Invasion of Privacy

, 22:48 - Lien permanent

Depuis plusieurs mois, c'était acquis : Cardi B était destinée à devenir la nouvelle reine du rap féminin. Et de fait, son parcours a été sans faute. Belcalis Almanzar nous a tout donné : du rêve américain, avec son destin de stripteaseuse devenue star par le biais des réseaux sociaux ; du people, avec sa romance avec Offset, dont elle vient d'avoir une petite fille ; et de la musique, enfin, avec des mixtapes remarquables, puis une suite de tubes au succès phénoménal : deux singles numéro 1 aux Etats-Unis, "Bodak Yellow" et "I Like It" (les premiers pour du rap féminin depuis Lauryn Hill), et en avril 2018, 13 morceaux classés simultanément dans le top 100 du Billboard. Dans le même temps, elle sortait un premier album, Invasion of Privacy, qui rencontrait une conséquente réussite commerciale, ainsi que l'unanimité de la critique. Bref, la mise sur orbite a été pour le moins réussie.

CARDI B - Invasion of Privacy

Atlantic ‎:: 2018 :: acheter cet album

Rien de surprenant, donc, si dans la plus pure tradition du rap, Cardi B dédie l'essentiel de cet album à son propre succès. C'est même là le thème majeur, annoncé dès l'introductif "Get Up 10". Sur ce titre triomphant construit en crescendo à la mode de Meek Mill, la rappeuse retrace son parcours, de ses débuts dans la pauvreté, à ce moment présent, où elle se tient prête à agresser la concurrence à coup de chaussures Louboutin. Sa réussite matérielle, elle en parle ailleurs : avec morgue sur "Bodak Yellow", de manière extravagante sur "Money Bag", avec une assurance apaisée sur "Best Life", sur un mode humoristique sur "Drip", ou dans un déluge de marques sur "Bartier Cardi". Et partout, elle l'exalte.

Cardi B est fière. Fière d'être une créature attirante et dominatrice, sur le salace "She Bad". Fière d'être latine quand, avec les hispanophones Bad Bunny et J Balvin, la New-yorkaise d'origine dominicaine et trinidadienne refond le "I Like It Like That" de Pete Rodriguez. Fière aussi d'être une femme. Ce n'est pas un hasard, en effet, si son succès survient à l'ère du mouvement #MeToo. Les mots d'ordre de Cardi B sont féministes, quand elle transforme une ode aux fellations (le "Chickenhead" de Project Pat) en une célébration de la sexualité féminine, quand sur "Be Careful", elle menace son amant volage de rétorsion, ou quand, sur "I Do", elle déclare avec SZA que rien ne l'empêchera de faire ce qu'elle désire.

Bénéficiant du support d'une palanquée de producteurs (DJ Mustard, Murda Beatz, Frank Dukes, Boi-1da et tant d'autres), renforcé par des gens venus de tous les horizons du rap et du R&B (Chance the Rapper, Migos, 21 Savage, YG, SZA, Kehlani), voire du monde hispanique, abordant plusieurs styles musicaux, malgré la domination des rythmes trap, évoluant de l'agression à l'introspection, en passant par le sens de la fête, Invasion of Privacy en véritable blockbuster, cherche à toucher un panel large. Il a été taillé pour le succès, qu'il a très vite rencontré. Et cependant, il n'est pas éloigné de deux mixtapes qui l'ont précédé.

Cardi B, en effet, a le mérite d'avoir livré, pour l'essentiel, un disque de hip-hop, alors que la tendance naturelle pour les rappeuses en route pour le triomphe est de sacrifier au chant, aux romances et au R&B. Ceux-ci pointent leur nez sur Invasion of Privacy, quand sur "Ring", avec Kehlani, ou sur le joli "Thru Your Phone", avec Ali Tamposi, l'intéressée exprime ses angoisses amoureuses. Mais pour le reste, Cardi B connaît ses classiques (sa référence à Project Pat, l'influence du "No Flockin" de Kodak Black sur "Bodak Yellow"), elle est plus orgueilleuse que vulnérable, et elle le prouve avec une langue bien pendue. Et c'est là son grand mérite : d'avoir sorti un album très grand public, mais sans vilains compromis ; de n'être pas vraiment révolutionnaire avec sa trap music de saison, mais d'incarner un aboutissement, une synthèse, pour plusieurs décennies de rap au féminin.

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet