Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

3D NA'TEE - The Coronation

, 22:59 - Permalink

The dozens are an old African-American tradition. It goes back to the times of slavery. Since the work the poor fellows were condemned to, in the cotton fields, was not exactly a pleasant and distracting one, some slaves killed times with spoken words contests, consisting in insulting the other participants. This practice, it is known, survived in rap music. Knowing about these roots is understanding why outrageousness and insanity are so central to it. It is all about competition and playfulness. Ignoring this, means misunderstanding hip-hop, approaching it through the wrong way and, many times, being horrified by it. This practice, of course, started in the South. And it is still there, that it is the most vibrant and extreme; in New-Orleans, for example, where it is know as "rib", or "ribbin'", a discipline Samantha James became an expert at, while she was still a schoolgirl.

3D NATEE - The Coronation

Self-released :: 2012 :: download this mixtape

It is, indeed, through her battle skills, that 3D Na'Tee made a name for herself. She did it live, in videos, and in mixtapes like Guess Who’s Coming 2 Dinner, in 2010. Celebrated first locally, she was noticed afterwards by the G-Unit, and collaborated with interesting people like Curren$y, and Timbaland, with whom she was supposed to record a mixtape, The Coronation. Such a release became available, in 2012, but without the participation of the prestigious producer. Per its title, however, this project would be the most significant for the female rapper.

A large part of it testified of 3D Na'Tee's "rib" background: in the purest rap tradition, it was a collection of ego-trips, and its lyrics were mostly aimed at bashing many people, and more particularly her competitors. She did it in many ways, even a cappella on "Interlude". Songs like the banging "No Love", for example, were dedicated at hammering all those she didn't like. And she did it on the bombastic beats popularized by Lex Luger around that period of time. The Atlanta producer, actually, contributed to "Wild", one of the tracks on the mixtape.

Nevertheless, beyond these exercises in style, the rapper had substance. There was a social background to The Coronation. The slums of New-Orleans, 3D Na'Tee had experienced in details, were not too far. Samantha's parents, indeed, had both been crack dealers, addicted to their own drug. When the police took them, while they were in detox and, of course, after her father died, Samantha the teenage girl had to manage her household. It was a time when she recoursed to drug dealing herself, and started engaging in sexual intercourses. She learned many things from such experiences, and she used these to make her raps more meaningful.

Among a few other tracks dedicated to the art of storytelling, "Lil Kim" is a good example. That song is not about the famous female rapper, but about a teenager abused by an older man. Left to herself while her father is in prison, Lil Kim is finally saved by him. This story, obviously, is reminiscent of Samantha's own life experience. And later on, with "Dear Old Me", 3D Na'Tee turns even more aubiographical, when she delivers a moving tribute to the loyal and dedicated companion who supported her in the most painful times of her life: her own self.

Such tracks proved that 3D Na'Tee wasn't only a product of her rib training. The Coronation was a diverse record, due to other tracks successfully leaning toward pop and R&B like "Role Play", "I Want More", "WTFRU", and "Round 11". Thanks to these, it looked like a mainstream album, more than a mixtape. It looked as if Samantha was destined to fame, though the rapper's willingness to stay independent, and her reluctance to join a major label, somehow prevented this.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

3D NA'TEE - The Coronation

, 22:59 - Lien permanent

Les dozens est une vieille tradition afro-américaine qui remonte au temps des esclaves. Comme le travail de ces pauvres gens, condamnés à besogner dur dans les champs de coton, n'était pas des plus distrayants, ils tuaient le temps en se livrant à des concours d'insultes. Et cette pratique, c'est entendu, a survécu dans le rap. C'est à la lumière de ces racines qu'il faut saisir à quel point les outrances et les insanités de cette musique relèvent d'une logique ludique et compétitive. L'ignorer, c'est ne pas comprendre le rap, l'aborder à l'envers, et souvent, en être horrifié. C'est aussi là où elle est née, dans le Sud des Etats-Unis, que cette pratique demeure la plus vivace et la plus extrême, par exemple à La Nouvelle-Orléans, où elle a pris la forme du "rib", ou "ribbin'", une discipline grâce à laquelle Samantha James a forgé son talent, alors qu'elle n'était encore qu'une écolière.

3D NATEE - The Coronation

Autoproduit :: 2012 :: 3dnatee.com :: télécharger la mixtape

C'est en effet par ses compétences de rappeuse battle que 3D Na'Tee s'est fait un nom, en live, via quelques-unes de ses vidéos, puis par des mixtapes comme Guess Who’s Coming 2 Dinner, en 2010. D'abord reconnue sur la scène locale, elle a fini par attirer l'attention de la G-Unit, puis elle a collaboré avec des gens intéressants, Curren$y par exemple, puis Timbaland, avec qui elle devait concevoir une mixtape, The Coronation. C'est finalement sans la contribution du producteur que celle-ci allait voir le jour, en 2012. Mais comme l'indiquait son titre, le couronnement, elle n'en serait pas moins l'œuvre de référence de la rappeuse.

Une grosse partie de ce projet témoignait logiquement de sa formation "rib" : il consistait, dans la plus ancienne tradition du rap, en une collection d'égo-trips et de paroles consacrées à dénigrer tout le monde, et en particulier la concurrence, a cappella si besoin ("Interlude"). Des morceaux comme l'efficace "No Love", par exemple, la voyaient s'acharner sur tous ceux qu'elles n'aimaient pas. Et le tout prenait souvent place sur les sons bulldozer en vigueur au début des années 2010, des sons à la Lex Luger, qui produisait d'ailleurs un titre de cette mixtape, "Wild".

Cependant, au-delà des exercices de style auxquelles se livrait la rappeuse, un arrière-plan social particulier était visible. Il était question des bas-fonds de La Nouvelle-Orléans, dont 3D Na'Tee avait pratiqué et subi tous les vices. Les parents de la rappeuse, en effet, avait été tous deux des dealers de crack, devenus accrocs à leur propre came. Quand ils furent embarqués par la police, ou expédiés en cure de désintoxication (puis, a fortiori, quand son père décéda), l'adolescente dut gérer seule son foyer, recourir à son tour au commerce de la drogue et découvrir par elle-même les joies et les vicissitudes du sexe. Aussi, l'entend-on tirer des leçons de ces expériences, et donner parfois dans un rap qui fait sens.

On retrouve sur The Coronation, parmi d'autres phases de storytelling, l'un des titres emblématiques de 3D Na'Tee dans ce style. "Lil Kim" n'est pas, comme on pourrait le penser, consacré à la rappeuse du même nom, mais l'histoire d'une adolescente abusée par un homme plus vieux qu'elle. Livrée à elle-même à cause d'un père emprisonné, Lil Kim sera finalement sauvée par lui, dans ce récit qui fait écho au passé de la rappeuse. Et plus tard, sur "Dear Old Me", 3D Na'Tee se faisait encore plus autobiographique, quand elle rendait un hommage émouvant à celle qui l'avait épaulée dans les moments les plus difficiles de sa vie : elle-même.

De tels morceaux prouvaient que 3D Na'Tee n'était pas que le produit de sa formation, une rappeuse battle. Avec sa diversité, avec aussi des titres tentant avec réussite des escapades dans la pop et le R&B ("Role Play", "I Want More", "WTFRU", "Round 11"), The Coronation ressemblait même à un album commercial grand public. Il semblait destiner à une large reconnaissance une rappeuse que seule sa persistance à demeurer indépendante (approchée plusieurs fois, par des majors, elle a décliné leurs offres) a empêché d'être une figure plus reconnue.

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 2012

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 2012. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet