03 GREEDO - The Wolf of Grape Street

California is the land of all dreams, the motherland of mass entertainment, the ultimate fantasy factory. And as such, it often benefit from an inflated attention, especially when it comes to rap music. Quite frequently, its next sensation is coming from there. Over the last few years, the nihilism of Odd Future, the ratchet music of DJ Mustard and YG, or the adult rap of TDE, have all been praised as the next big thing in hip-hop. At times, it was founded. But it was also exaggerated. The first in the list sometimes indulged in hipster rock experimentalism. The second, as for any music tailored for clubs, often failed to convince on an entire album. And at times, the third was hypertrophied with pretention and weighed down by its respect for tradition and legacy. But with 03 Greedo at least, we have something new and substantial.

03 GREEDO - The Wolf of Grape Street

As a matter of fact, Jason Jackson might be larger than California. Since he grew up between Los Angeles and the South (and sometimes, in the streets), his style is not entirely from there. It synthesizes various trends, that appeared recently throughout the US. Like Kodak Black at the other end of the country, he is an example of Lil Boosie's everlasting influence. Posing like a sad bandit beyond redemption, sounding like a depressive but unrepentant gangster, he is one of his disciples. Like him, he moves from short-term hedonism to long-term pessimism. As him, he wants to live an intense life, as he knows it will not last. Therefore he delivers a lot. Since his trouble with the Texas police in 2016, for gun and drug possession, the ex-Greedy Giddy released several mixtapes, his Purple Summer trilogy and two others, with plenty of songs. And it paid off. His name started buzzing when, in 2017, he joined Todd Moscowitz's Alamo Records.

And in 2018, when the sentence approached related to this Texas affair – once threatened to a life sentence, he was condemned to 20 years imprisonment – 03 Greedo accelerated. Before turning into a new Max B, or another Lil Boosie, a rap idol whose career exploded in mid-air due to legal issues, he released an album some consider his best, God Level, and before that The Wolf of Grape Street. The latter mixes new songs with highlights from his previous projects, like "Rude", "Zonin" and the fantastic "Never Bend", and it looks like his definitive mixtape. Comparing himself to the Wolf of Wall Street, or posturing as a leader in the Grape Street gang – a local division of the Crips – he signified his ambition. And this record is commensurate to it.

03 Greedo, indeed, delivers an accomplished version of his dark music for doomed people. In an instant, he switches from a proud and quick delivery to a plaintive voice and cries of pain, like with the introductive "Drippin'". With a lump in his throat, he talks about solitude and paranoia on "Paranoid Pt. 3". On "Vultures", "Chase", "Safety", he alludes to the urban jungle he can't escape from. He is an introspective gangster, who questions his sensations, his emotional insecurity, and sentiments he is uncomfortable with, he tries to kill with drugs on "Substance". Even when he brags, he sounds anxious, in a hurry, as is he wanted to ward off bad luck and escape a fate, he knows is inevitable. On "Look at me Know", the reference to his father, who died at his age, is anything but innocent. The rapper says it on "Voodoo": he is definitely cursed.

While the record progresses, 03 Greedo gets more and more melancholic. This is him at his most intimate and personal. Some partners in crime are invited, but their voices, the sour one of OMB Peezy, or the rough one of Ketchy the Great, are as painful as his own. Or, on the opposite, to contrast with his tougher raps, he plays the melodic card with Yhung T.O's tunes on "Bacc to Bacc", or the plaintive voice of PnB Rock on "Beat That Thang Down". This dense The Wolf of Grape Street already looks like a testament, but it is even more than that. 03 Greedo captures the zeitgeist, he condenses all the recent trends – he says: "I feel like I'm Future mixed with Young Thug", on "Baytoven" – with his muttered words, his flutes, and his melodies. It is there, in California, that the beating heart of rap music is to be found in 2018.

Buy this mixtape

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • KODAK BLACK - Back For Everything KODAK BLACK - Back For Everything
  • MACH-HOMMY - Pray For Haiti MACH-HOMMY - Pray For Haiti
  • CASEY - Tragédie d'une Trajectoire CASEY - Tragédie d'une trajectoire
  • DEVIN THE DUDE - Soulful Distance DEVIN THE DUDE - Soulful Distance
  • GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch
  • SAMEER AHMAD - Apaches SAMEER AHMAD - Apaches
  • EEKWOL & MILS - The List EEKWOL & MILS - The List
  • POLO G - Die a Legend POLO G - Die a Legend

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

03 GREEDO - The Wolf of Grape Street

, 22:39 - Lien permanent

La Californie, contrée de tous les rêves, patrie du divertissement de masse, ultime usine à fantasmes, a toujours reçu une attention disproportionnée. Le rap nous l'a démontré une fois encore ces dernières années, sa relève ayant régulièrement été identifiée là-bas : le nihilisme d'Odd Future, le ratchet de DJ Mustard et d'YG, le rap adulte de TDE, ont tous été présentés, à un moment ou à un autre de la dernière décennie, comme le next big thing du hip-hop. A raison, parfois. Mais le plus souvent, de manière exagérée. Le premier, en effet, a sombré quelquefois dans un expérimentalisme de hipster rock sans grande portée. Le second, en bonne musique de danse, n'a pas toujours bien négocié le virage de l'album. Quant au troisième, il a été hypertrophié par ses prétentions et appesanti par le lourd poids de l'héritage culturel afro-américain. Mais avec 03 Greedo, dernière sensation californienne en date, nous touchons quelque chose de plus substantiel.

03 GREEDO - The Wolf of Grape Street

Alamo Records :: 2018 :: acheter cette mixtape

Peut-être, en fait, parce que Jason Jackson est bien plus grand que la Californie. Ayant grandi entre Los Angeles et le Sud (et parfois, dans la rue), son style n'est pas unique. Il synthétise au contraire plusieurs sous-genres régionaux apparus ces derniers temps aux Etats-Unis. Il est aussi, comme Kodak Black à l'autre bout du pays, l'une des plus éclatantes manifestations de l'influence intarissable de Lil Boosie, avec sa posture de bandit triste mais irrécupérable, de gangster dépressif mais impénitent. Il est l'un de ses plus brillants disciples, avec son hédonisme de l'instant et son pessimisme à long terme. Il est, comme lui, de ceux qui brûlent le moment présent car il le sait fugace, comme il l'a fait avec ses projets : depuis qu'il a été mis en cause en 2016 par la police du Texas, pour avoir transporté illégalement de la drogue et des armes à feu, l'ancien Greedy Giddy a sorti en effet une palanquée de de mixtapes, la trilogie des Purple Summer plus deux autres, bourrées à ras-bord de morceaux. Puis l'engouement critique est monté à toute allure, au moment ou, en 2017, il rejoignait le Alamo Records de Todd Moscowitz.

Et en 2018, alors que s'est profilé sa condamnation pour les faits constatés au Texas (menacé de la prison à vie, il a finalement écopé de 20 ans), 03 Greedo a mis les bouchées doubles. Avant de devenir, comme Max B, comme Boosie lui-même, une autre légende du rap explosée en plein vol pour problèmes judiciaires, il a sorti son album, God Level, et avant cela un The Wolf of Grape Street qui, mêlant des titres inédits aux temps forts des projets précédents ("Rude", "Zonin" et le génial "Never Bend"), se présentait pour peu comme sa mixtape définitive. Signifiée par cette allusion au Loup de Wall Street (et à son gang, celui de Grape Street, une branche des Crips), cette ambition est d'ailleurs près d'être atteinte.

03 Greedo nous offre une version accomplie de son rap noir de condamné, passant en un instant d'un débit fier et véloce, à une voix prompte à la complainte et aux cris de souffrance, comme sur l'introductif "Drippin'". Il parle la gorge serrée de sa solitude et de sa paranoïa ("Paranoid Pt. 3"). Il évoque à plusieurs reprises la jungle urbaine dont il est prisonnier, et dont il est aussi un grand prédateur ("Vultures", "Chase", "Safety"). Il est un gangster introspectif, qui questionne ses sensations, son insécurité affective, ces sentiments qui le mettent mal à l'aise et qu'il préfère assommer à coup de drogues ("Substance"). Même quand il se vante, c'est dans l'urgence et la boule au ventre, pour conjurer un sort funeste qu'il sait inéluctable, comme sur "Look at me Know", quand il rappelle avoir l'âge que son père avait à sa mort. En bref, comme il le prétend sur "Voodoo", il est maudit.

Ce projet d'03 Greedo ne cesse même de devenir plus mélancolique à mesure qu'il s'écoule. Et logiquement, il est pour l'essentiel le sien. S'il invite des complices, il le fait avec mesure, en optant pour des voix aussi douloureuses que la sienne celle, aigre, d'OMB Peezy, et celle, rugueuse, d'un Ketchy the Great présent à de multiples reprises. Ou bien, au contraire, c'est le rap chantonnant de Yhung T.O. qu'il convoque sur "Bacc to Bacc", c'est celui plaintif de PnB Rock qu'il fait venir sur "Beat That Thang Down", en contraste avec ses raps les plus durs, ou en renfort à ses plus mélodiques. Ce personnel et complet The Wolf of Grape Street a déjà tout d'un testament, mais il est plus encore. Etant donné qu'03 Greedo résume à lui seul l'esprit du temps et l'héritage de ces dernières années ("j'ai l'impression d'être Future mélangé à Young Thug", déclare-t-il sur "Baytoven"), avec son rap triste marmonné, parsemé de flûtes et tenté par le chant, ce projet est, là-bas, dans l'éternelle Californie, le cœur palpitant de cette musique en 2018.

Évaluer ce billet

5/5

  • Note : 5
  • Votes : 1
  • Plus haute : 5
  • Plus basse : 5

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet