Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

FIGURES OF SPEECH - The Last Word

, 11:43 - Permalink

Being open to feminine talents was one of the Good Life Café many peculiarities. This scene's best testimony, the Project Blowed compilation, shows this clearly. One of its central tracks, the "Heavyweights Round 2" freestyle, had as many femcees as males. There, Medusa and her cousin Koko – a.k.a. S.I.N. - Nefertiti and T-Love were measuring themselves against Freestyle Fellowship's Mikah 9 and Self Jupiter, Volume 10 and a few others. The record's best song from women, though, was "Don't Get It Twisted". Recorded by Jyant (Ronda Ross) and Eve (Ava DuVernay), a.k.a. the Figures of Speech, it was a perfect sample of the Good Life style, with its erratic and unpredictable music, full of rhythm and flow changes.

FIGURES OF SPEECH - The Last Word

Self-released :: 1992-96 / 2007 :: listen to the album

This track had been, for a long time, the only available music from the duo. No album had ever been released by them, indeed, until The Last Word in 2007. By then, though, both women had more or less stopped their rap careers. This record, actually, was a compilation of songs recorded here and there, between 1992 and 1996, and collected by the producer Omid Walizadeh, one heir of the Project Blowed scene. The hazardous origin of most tracks was quite perceptible, their sound quality being often low, and some tracks like a "On The Road" - actually the hook of a song from The Nonce, sung by both ladies – looked a bit like a filler.

However, most of the tracks had the essential in common: on all of them, the Figures of Speech looked like a feminine version of Freestyle Fellowship. Their music was delicate, jazzy, full of surprises, and sometimes experimental, like with the very strange "Last Minutes". They were equally distant from New-York's boom bap, and California's own g-funk. Both women (one of them, Eve, being a student at the UCLA while attending the Good Life sessions) looked quite literate. Their raps were fast, especially on "Doe See Doe" and "Avoidance", where they had to compete with NGA FSH's supersonic delivery. Their flows were constantly moving and changing; they even sang, sometimes. And they didn't limit themselves to rap music, like when they turned very Jamaican, with Abstract Rude, on "Babylon".

This compilation is a precious testimony of a time long gone. A complementary document, though, was put together by the same time, by some of the same people – Eve, with some help from Omid. This was called This Is the Life, and it was a documentary movie about the Good Life history. Ava DuVernay, actually, had started a career in cinema, under her real name. She would even become famous with Selma, in 2014, a movie about Martin Luther King and the Civil Rights Movement, made with the help of heavyweights like Oprah Winfrey and Brad Pitt. While Jyant would disappear from the radar screens, Eve's career as a director would help her reaching levels of notoriety she couldn't expect as an underground rapper. Thanks to The Last Word, though, her hip-hop past will be remembered.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

FIGURES OF SPEECH - The Last Word

L'une des particularités du Good Life Café, c'est que son micro a été largement ouvert aux talents féminins. La compilation Project Blowed, principale émanation de cette scène, en a été la preuve. Son freestyle central, "Heavyweights Round 2", comptait une bonne moitié de rappeuses, et non des moindres : Medusa et sa cousine Koko (alias le duo S.I.N.), Nefertiti, T-Love, s'y mesuraient à Mikah 9 et à Self Jupiter de Freestyle Fellowship, ainsi qu'à Volume 10 et à quelques autres. Le titre le plus féminin du disque, cependant, en était un autre. Il s'agissait de "Don't Get It Twisted" des Figures of Speech, un duo formé par Eve (Ava DuVernay) et Jyant (Ronda Ross). Rapide, imprévisible, ayant comme le jazz des airs d'improvisation, nous offrant une musique prompte aux changements de rythmes et des rappeuses qui modifiaient leurs flows continûment, ce brillant morceau était l'illustration parfaite de l'esprit Good Life.

FIGURES OF SPEECH - The Last Word

Pendant longtemps, il fut l'unique trace discographique du duo. Il fallut en effet attendre 2007 pour que les Figures of Speech sortent enfin un album, The Last Word. A cette époque, les deux femmes ne rappaient plus vraiment. Il s'agissait, en fait, d'une compilation de titres enregistrés entre 1992 et 1996, assemblés sous l'égide d'un héritier du Project Blowed, le producteur Omid Walizadeh. Cette origine s'entend d'ailleurs distinctement, la qualité des sons s'avérant très approximative, et les instigateurs de l'album le meublant tant bien que mal. Par exemple, une plage se limitait aux quelques secondes du refrain de "On The Road Again", un titre de The Nonce issu de leur classique World Ultimate, auquel les deux rappeuses avaient collaboré.

Malgré leurs sources disparates, les morceaux de The Last Word partageaient l'essentiel. Sur tous, les Figures of Speech s'affirmaient comme un Freestyle Fellowship au féminin. Leur musique était délicate, jazzy, pleine de détours inattendus, voire d'expérimentations (le très étrange "Last Minutes"), distincte tout autant du boom bap new-yorkais de l'époque, que du g-funk de leurs voisins californiens. Ces deux filles, dont l'une au moins, Eve (on connaît moins la vie de Jyant), étudiait à l'UCLA quand elle fréquentait l'open mic du Good Life Café, avaient un vocabulaire de lettrées. Leur(s) phrasé(s) étaient véloces, en particulier sur les impressionnants "Doe See Doe" et "Avoidance", deux titres où elles se mesuraient au débit hypersonique de NGA FSH. Leurs flows étaient en évolution constante, au point de se transformer parfois en chant. Elles franchissaient en effet allègrement les frontières du rap, comme par exemple quand elles invitaient Abstract Rude, sur "Babylon", à s'exprimer dans un registre jamaïcain.

Cette compilation fut donc le témoignage précieux d'une époque révolue. Un autre, toutefois, fut concocté à la même époque : le documentaire This Is the Life, assemblé par Eve, toujours avec l'aide d'Omid. Sorti en 2008, celui-ci nous raconterait l'histoire du Good Life à l'aide de divers films d'époque. Ayant repris son vrai nom, Ava DuVernay venait en effet d'entamer une carrière dans le cinéma, dont l'apogée serait le très remarqué Selma, en 2014, un film consacré à Martin Luther King et à la lutte pour les Droits Civiques, réalisé avec l'appui de grosses célébrités comme Oprah Winfrey et Brad Pitt. Pendant que Jyant disparaitrait totalement des écrans radar, cette carrière de réalisatrice permettrait à Eve d'atteindre des niveaux de notoriété inespérés à l'époque où elle rappait, et d'être connue de gens qui ne soupçonnent rien de son passé ; un passé dont ce bien nommé The Last Word est le précieux vestige.

Ecouter cet album

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 2007

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 2007. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

5/5

  • Note : 5
  • Votes : 1
  • Plus haute : 5
  • Plus basse : 5

Vous pourriez aussi aimer...

  • BROCKHAMPTON - Roadrunner: New Light, New Machine BROCKHAMPTON - Roadrunner: New Light, New Machine
  • HUS KINGPIN – Portishus HUS KINGPIN - Portishus
  • POOH SHIESTY - Shiesty Season POOH SHIESTY - Shiesty Season
  • FRAYSER BOY - Bay Day EP FRAYSER BOY - Bay Day EP
  • YSR GRAMZ - Big Wop YSR GRAMZ - Big Wop
  • LEVEL - Jigga City Trigga City LEVEL - Jigga City Trigga City
  • DUKE DEUCE - Duke Nukem DUKE DEUCE - Duke Nukem
  • DRAKEO THE RULER - The Truth Hurts DRAKEO THE RULER - The Truth Hurts

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.