Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

DESSA - False Hopes

, 23:25 - Permalink

False Hopes is not just one record, but many. Indeed, such were named several solo projects, released in the mid-naughties by various members of Doomtree, before they recorded a joint album with the same title. Prior to this, actually, P.O.S. and Cecil Otter had founded a duo under the same name, even before they created the Minneapolis collective. But others would reuse it as a manifesto, and more particularly their female rapper, Dessa Darling, or Dessa. With the five songs of her own version – songs so good that she would reuse them on her second album, Castor, The Twin – she delivered actually one of the best of the series.

DESSA - False Hopes

Doomtree Records :: 2005 :: buy the album

Margret Wander, though, was one of the last to join Doomtree. Her profile fitted well with the rest of the collective: as most of its members, she was White – more or less, actually, her mother being of Puerto Rican descent; she was also a literate middle-class lady, with a passion for books, a degree in philosophy, and sophisticated lyrics; and she didn’t mind crossing over to other genres, opting sometimes for spoken word instead of rap, or using “real” instruments. And though, Dessa had joined Doomtree almost randomly. As someone passionate in words, she had joined once, in 2001, a slam poetry contest, which she won. This victory, as a matter of fact, was an accident, many of its best contestants having travelled this very day. But anyway: it encouraged her to persevere. And through this new hobby, she became friend with a few rappers from her neighborhood.

Dessa’s experience with slam is visible on False Hopes. Her raps, indeed, are all about the art of language, and her subject matters are not common in hip-hop. For example, on the introductory track "Mineshaft", she philosophized about the weight of the past. There, the rapper talked about her consecutive experiences and identities, and their influence on what she had become. On "Everything Floats", with Cecil Otter’s support, she talked about art, and how it soothes an empty or painful existence. "551" was a song about the fleeting nature of love, where she confessed that comfort was the driving force behind marital fidelity. And "Kites", another depressing track, was about the end of her dreams and illusions.

Mostly produced by Doomtree’s own beatmakers Lazerbeak and Paper Tiger, the music was as expected with the collective: the instruments sounded quite organic, and they were uncommon in a hip-hop context. Rap, in reality, was not Dessa’s only discipline: she could sing, and on "Kites" she engaged into strange murmurs. But still, she could blow the mic, being quite good at moving from one flow to another, and her style had a kind of old school flavor, like on "Press On", where Dessa and Sims played at completing their respective rhymes, à la Run-D.M.C.

Hers was a specific school of rap – not the most visible, but a convincing one; a school not rooted in the ghetto realities, and not concerned with stylistic purity, but still attached to the old-fashioned notion of “art”. In an accomplished way, and before her talent would dilute into too long – but still good – albums, the young rapper from Minneapolis offered a feminine face to her sub-genre of hip-hop.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

DESSA - False Hopes

False Hopes n'est pas le nom d'un seul projet, mais celui de plusieurs, sortis en solo au milieu des années 2000 par plusieurs membres de Doomtree, avant qu'ils n'en proposent un dernier sous le même titre, tous ensemble cette fois. Ce nom avait été, tout d'abord, celui du duo formé par P.O.S et Cecil Otter, les fondateurs du collectif de Minneapolis. Mais il allait servir de carte de visite à d'autres, et notamment à leur rappeuse, Dessa Darling, ou tout simplement Dessa. Elle allait proposer, avec les cinq titres de son EP (si réussi qu'elle en recyclerait une bonne partie sur son second album, Castor, The Twin), l'un des meilleurs de la série.

DESSA - False Hopes

Le profil de Margret Wander correspondait à celui du collectif. Comme la plupart de ses membres, c'était une Blanche (plus ou moins, sa mère étant d'origine portoricaine). Fille de la classe moyenne, rat de bibliothèque diplômée en philosophie, elle attaquait ses paroles à la manière d'une lettrée. Et elle n'hésitait pas à franchir les frontières du rap, donnant dans le spoken word, poussant la chansonnette ou s'accompagnant de "vrais" instruments. Pourtant, c'est presque par hasard que Dessa a rejoint les autres, et elle l'a fait sur le tard. Amatrice de beaux textes, elle se trouva un jour, en 2001, embarquée dans un concours de slam poetry. Comme, contre toute attente, c'est elle qui le remporta (les stars des lieux les avaient désertés pour une tournée…), elle fut encouragée à persévérer. Et, de fil en aiguille, elle se mit à fréquenter et à apprécier tous ces rappeurs qui se trouvaient être des voisins de quartier.

On retrouvait sur False Hopes la trace de ce passé de slammeuse. Le rap de Dessa est, en effet, une science du langage, qui explorait des thèmes peu communs dans le hip-hop. Le titre introductif "Mineshaft", par exemple, était une réflexion sur le poids du passé. Elle nous y parlait de ses identités successives et de leur influence sur ce qu'elle était aujourd'hui. Sur "Everything Floats", avec le renfort de Cecil Otter, elle cherchait à remplir par l'art une existence vide et douloureuse. "551" était une réflexion sur la fugacité de l'amour, où elle déclarait ne plus rester avec son compagnon que par habitude et par confort. Et "Kites", pour continuer dans cette ambiance pas franchement joyeuse, nous parlait de la fin des rêves et des illusions.

Produite majoritairement par les beatmakers attitrés de Doomtree, Lazerbeak et Paper Tiger, la musique portait elle aussi la marque du collectif. Les instruments qu'on y entendait, tout aussi inhabituels dans le hip-hop, avaient une résonnance très organique. Et si le rap n'était pas la seule discipline pratiquée par Dessa (comme on l'a dit, elle savait chanter, et sur "Kites", elle s'engageait dans de biens étranges murmures), elle s'y adonnait avec une certaine adresse, changeant à l'occasion de rythmes et de débit. La rappeuse et poétesse pouvait aussi s'engager dans des exercices d'autrefois, comme ce "Press On" à la saveur vaguement old school, où Dessa et Sims s'amusaient à compléter leurs phrases respectives, à la manière de Run-D.M.C.

C'était toute une école de hip-hop, pas la plus exposée, mais pas la moins intéressante, que Dessa incarnait alors ; une école moins ancré dans le ghetto, peu soucieuse de pureté stylistique, attachée à la désuète notion d'art, et à même de déborder sur d'autres disciplines. De manière accomplie, avant que tout cela ne se dilue un peu sur ses albums (pourtant très recommandables), la jeune rappeuse de Minneapolis offrait un visage féminin à ce type de rap.

Acheter l'album

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 2005

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 2005. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Vous pourriez aussi aimer...

  • BROCKHAMPTON - Roadrunner: New Light, New Machine BROCKHAMPTON - Roadrunner: New Light, New Machine
  • HUS KINGPIN – Portishus HUS KINGPIN - Portishus
  • POOH SHIESTY - Shiesty Season POOH SHIESTY - Shiesty Season
  • FRAYSER BOY - Bay Day EP FRAYSER BOY - Bay Day EP
  • XXXTentacion - Question Mark XXXTENTACION - ?
  • YSR GRAMZ - Big Wop YSR GRAMZ - Big Wop
  • LEVEL - Jigga City Trigga City LEVEL - Jigga City Trigga City
  • DUKE DEUCE - Duke Nukem DUKE DEUCE - Duke Nukem

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.