LIL WAYNE - Da Drought 3

And if, in his heyday, by the middle of the noughties, exactly when he pretended to be "the best rapper alive", Lil Wayne's opus magnum had been none of his official albums, Tha Carter II or Tha Carter III, but a mixtape? As a matter of fact, this could have been Dedication 2, in 2006. Or maybe, one year after, the third installment of his Da Drought series, a project where Weezy was so prominent that the cover art didn't mention the DJ, and that he postponed the release to take the time to record a double-album, with no less that 29 tracks, and almost zero filler.

LIL WAYNE - Da Drought 3

None of the beats he used was his. On Da Drought, a true mixtape, Lil Wayne looted the music from the most famous rappers of his times, those from the East Coast like Jay-Z, Nas, Cam'Ron, Juelz Santana, Jim Jones and Young Gunz, and those from the South, like T.I., Young Jeezy, Young Dro, Lil Boosie, YoungBloodZ, Yung Joc and Mike Jones. He also went much beyond rap music, using songs from people like Beyoncé, Ciara and Robin Thicke. And he went far back in time, like with "Everlasting Bass", the old West Coast classic from Rodney-O and Joe Cooley.

Also, he appropriated each of these songs. He did it so well that they didn't sound that diverse or eclectic anymore: they were fully his. The rapper did even better than that: he made them stronger than the originals. Mike Jones' ordinary "Mr. Jones" became an irresistible "Ride 4 My Niggas", transcended by its exalted hook ("The sky is the limit"...). That was true with the most obscure tracks, as well as with the most famous, more particularly Jay-Z's "Dead Presidents", Nas' and Lauryn Hill's "If I Ruled the World", and "Crazy", the hit single from Gnarls Barkley.

All over that mixtape, Lil Wayne was on fire. He rapped along a hundred intense minutes, with limited support – the only guests were Juelz Santana, Brisco, and the then unknown Curren$y and Nicki Minaj – in a verbal deluge, in long verbal marathons like "Back on My Grizzy". Sometimes, he referred to the artists he was stealing beats to, measuring himself against T.I., or declaring his love for Ciara. He talked about pretty much everything: money, sex, guns, "bitches" or "niggas", with no other motive than self-affirmation. All of this was mixed with a juvenile energy, Lil Wayne being more interested in music and creativity, than in making sense.

Same with his flow: he would constantly play with it, moving from a shrewd to an oneiric tone, and sometimes being literally possessed, like on "We Takin Over". He sang on "Boom", or he turned dancehall with the introduction. And for his own art, rap music, it was nothing less than liberating. If the 2000 decade is the time when we realized that a hip-hop mixtape could be superior to a regular album, Lil Wayne and Da Drought 3 indubitably contributed to this.

Download this mixtape

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer
  • HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love
  • KASH DOLL - Brat Mail KASH DOLL - Brat Mail
  • MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World
  • QUEEN KEY - Your Highness QUEEN KEY - Your Highness
  • RICO NASTY - Nasty RICO NASTY - Nasty
  • OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

LIL WAYNE - Da Drought 3

Et si, à l'époque de sa gloire, au cœur des années 2000, à l'heure où Lil Wayne prétendait être le meilleur rappeur en vie, sa sortie majeure n'avait été aucun de ses albums de référence, Tha Carter II ou III, mais plutôt une mixtape ? Dedication 2, par exemple, en 2006. Voire, l'année d'après, la troisième livraison de la série Da Drought, une sortie où Weezy se sentait d'autant plus inspiré qu'il n'avait plus besoin du prétexte d'un DJ, et qu'il en avait repoussé la date de sortie pour en faire un double album, riche de 29 titres, dont aucun ou presque n'était à jeter.

LIL WAYNE - Da Drought 3

Pas une des instrus qu'il employait ici ne lui était propre. Sur Da Drought 3, Lil Wayne pillait à peu près tout ce que les années 2000 comptaient de rappeurs en vue, sur la Côte Est (Jay-Z, Nas, Cam'Ron, Juelz Santana, Jim Jones, Young Gunz), tout comme au Sud (T.I., Young Jeezy, Young Dro, Lil Boosie, YoungBloodZ, Yung Joc, Mike Jones). Il puisait à des sources étrangères au seul rap avec Beyoncé, Ciara et Robin Thicke, et il remontait dans le temps, avec par exemple le vieux classique West Coast "Everlasting Bass", de Rodney-O et Joe Cooley.

Il s'appropriait totalement chacun de ces morceaux, au point qu'on ne voyait même plus qu'ils appartenaient à des registres distincts. Le rappeur faisait même mieux que cela : il les rendait supérieurs aux originaux. L'anodin "Mr. Jones" de Mike Jones devenait ainsi un irrésistible "Ride 4 My Niggas", transcendé par son refrain exalté ("The sky is the limit"...). Cela était vrai des morceaux les plus obscurs, mais également des plus connus, notamment le "Dead Presidents" de Jay-Z, le "If I Ruled the World" de Nas et Lauryn Hill, et le tube "Crazy" de Gnarls Barkley.

Tout du long, Lil Wayne était en feu. Sur cent minutes intenses où il s'exprimait presque sans aide (ses seuls invités étaient Juelz Santana, Brisco, et deux autres dont on reparlerait bientôt, Curren$y et Nicki Minaj), il partait dans un déluge verbal, il se lançait dans de longues courses de fond rapologiques, "Back On My Grizzy" étant exemplaire à cet égard. Il se mesurait parfois aux artistes auquel il volait des beats, se comparant à T.I., ou déclarant sa flamme à Ciara. Et il parlait de tout, sans retenue : de l'argent, du sexe, des armes, de ses bitches et niggas, avec pour seul motif l'affirmation de soi. Tout se mêlait avec une énergie éternellement juvénile, Lil Wayne ne cherchant pas à faire sens, mais à faire son, et à impressionner par sa créativité.

Et avec son phrasé, il suivait la même logique : il s'autorisait tout, un ton malin et ironique, ou possédé sur "We Takin Over". Il chantait sur "Boom", et il partait dans du dancehall en intro. Bref, Weezy était libéré. Et pour son genre, le rap, il était totalement libératoire. Si les années 2000 ont été celles où l'on a constaté qu'une mixtape pouvait être égale, voire supérieure, à un album commercial, Lil Wayne et Da Drought 3, indubitablement, y auront bien contribué.

Acheter la mixtape

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 2007

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 2007. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

3/5

  • Note : 3
  • Votes : 1
  • Plus haute : 3
  • Plus basse : 3

Vous pourriez aussi aimer...

  • KODAK BLACK - Institution KODAK BLACK - Institution
  • 67 - In Skengs We Trust 67 - In Skengs We Trust
  • LIL WAYNE - The Dedication 2 LIL WAYNE - The Dedication 2
  • NÜK - Red Tape NUK X JOSE THE PLUG - Red Tape
  • POP SMOKE - Meet the Woo POP SMOKE - Meet the Woo
  • DIGGA D - Double Tap Diaries DIGGA D - Double Tap Diaries
  • LD - The Masked One LD - The Masked One
  • MERYL - Jour Avant Caviar MERYL - Jour Avant Caviar

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.