SHY GLIZZY - Fxck Rap

Quite often, when a mixtape starts buzzing, like Shy Glizzy's Law 2 in 2013, it means that another one had paved the way beforehand. Actually, what put the young Washington D.C. rapper on the map, in addition to his beef with Fat Trel, was the first instalment of the Law series one year earlier, in 2012, and the even stronger Fxck Rap, he released in December the same year, on his 20th birthday.

SHY GLIZZY - Fxck Rap

Self-released :: 2012 :: download mixtape

This release might very well be his true first manifesto. It starts, indeed, with an introduction. On "Tru Story", on a quiet piano, Shy Glizzy shares the story of his life. He talks about his multiple expulsions from school, and he implores the Lord, so that He stops creating pitiful creatures like him... This track is a perfect presentation. It shows the rapper as some bizarre dilettante, equally keen on self-pitying and glorifying himself, and not afraid to sing, per the new trend in rap music. This character, actually, is on par with the aspect of this little and frail guy, whose face would look adolescent, if he hadn't some remarkable sideburns on it.

Later on, when he stops being biographical, or sharing details about his troubled environment and personality like on "Sad to Say", Shy Glizzy fucks rap. According to "Fxck Rap", the song, his loyalty goes to his gun and his drugs, and not to the music. On "Swish", "N Lov", and "Money Problems" – a track already present on Law 2 - and like so many others before him, he talks about a lifestyle made of bitches and money. On "Pilot", with another sensation of 2012, Trinidad James, he shares his passion for clothes. And on "Hova", he pretends that Jay-Z is his role model, with the deadpan humor and the cartoon voice which are his trademarks.

His most striking songs, though, aren't disclosed before the end of Fxck Rap. These are "Too Far" with its soul music melody, a track featuring Wale, the most famous rapper from D.C., whom Shy Glizzy surpasses in terms of weirdness and charisma; "Deal With Ya", a more aggressive song, supported by another local rapper, Black Cobain; and of course "I Wish", a list of everything the rapper desires, delivered with an affected tone and on a tearful music from Creepshow's soundtrack (previously used by Three 6 Mafia and Juicy J). This song is absolutely over the top, but it is also totally genial. Like everything from Shy Glizzy, actually.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer
  • HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love
  • KASH DOLL - Brat Mail KASH DOLL - Brat Mail
  • MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World
  • QUEEN KEY - Your Highness QUEEN KEY - Your Highness
  • RICO NASTY - Nasty RICO NASTY - Nasty
  • OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

SHY GLIZZY - Fxck Rap

Souvent quand une mixtape fait le buzz, comme ce fut le cas en 2013 avec la chouette Law 2 de Shy Glizzy, c'est que d'autres sorties avaient préparé le terrain. Dans le cas du jeune rappeur de Washington, en plus du rôle non négligeable joué par son beef avec Fat Trel, ce fut le premier volet de la série Law, sorti pendant l'été 2012, qui orienta les projecteurs vers lui, suivi d'un Fxck Rap meilleur encore, qu'il proposa en décembre de la même année, le jour de ses 20 ans.

SHY GLIZZY - Fxck Rap

Pour toute personne soucieuse de découvrir le jeune homme, Marquis Amonte King de son véritable nom, cette sortie pourrait bien être la meilleure entrée en matière. Elle commence en tout cas par un vrai titre introductif, un "Tru Story" où, sur un piano tranquille, Shy Glizzy nous raconte sa courte existence, émaillée par plusieurs renvois d'école, et où il implore Dieu de ne plus jamais créer un individu aussi piteux que lui. D'emblée, le personnage est posé : ce rappeur est un dilettante bizarre, qui manie autant l'auto-apitoiement que la forfanterie, qui ne rechigne pas à chantonner, comme le veut la tendance de l'époque, et dont la personnalité se montre en phase avec l'apparence physique, celle d'un garçon malingre et frêle, au visage qui paraîtrait presque adolescent, s'il n'était pas encadré par de remarquables rouflaquettes.

Plus tard, outre d'autres passages biographiques où il nous parle de son environnement et de son caractère perturbés ("Sad to Say"), Shy Glizzy baise le rap, déclarant sa fidélité à son arme et à la drogue plutôt qu'à la musique ("Fxck Rap"). Comme tant d'autres avant lui, il nous expose un mode de vie fait de bitches et de fric ("Swish", "N Lov", et un "Money Problems" présent aussi sur Law 2), il partage sa passion pour les fringues ("Pilot", avec une autre sensation 2012, Trinidad James) et il affirme même que son modèle est Jay-Z ("Hova"), mais avec un humour pince-sans-rire et une voix de dessin animé, qui fondent son originalité.

Ses morceaux les plus saillants, toutefois, le rappeur les garde pour la fin. Il s'agit d'un "Too Far" très soul et mélodique, entonné avec Wale, le rappeur le plus éminent de Washington, que Shy Glizzy surpasse pourtant en charisme et en bizarrerie. Il y a aussi "Deal With Ya", un morceau plus enlevé et plus agressif, accompagné d'un autre local de l'étape, Black Cobain. Et surtout "I Wish", une liste de vœux pieux égrenée d'un ton affecté sur des notes larmoyantes issues de la BO de Creepshow (et déjà usitées du côté de Three 6 Mafia et de Juicy J). Ce dernier titre est tellement forcé, qu'il en est génial. Comme tout ce que fait Shy Glizzy, en général.

Télécharger la mixtape

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 2012

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 2012. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Vous pourriez aussi aimer...

  • NÜK - Red Tape NUK X JOSE THE PLUG - Red Tape
  • POP SMOKE - Meet the Woo POP SMOKE - Meet the Woo
  • DIGGA D - Double Tap Diaries DIGGA D - Double Tap Diaries
  • LD - The Masked One LD - The Masked One
  • MERYL - Jour Avant Caviar MERYL - Jour Avant Caviar
  • WNC WHOP BEZZY - Addy World WNC WHOP BEZZY - Addy World
  • DUKE DEUCE - Memphis Massacre 2 DUKE DEUCE - Memphis Massacre 2
  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.