A-WAX - Jesus Malverde

Originally, Jesus Malverde was a Mexican bandit killed by the country's authorities, in 1909, just before the revolution. It is not sure he really existed, but whatever: progressively, he became a legend. Once dead, he turned into a similar figure as Robin Hood, with a few Christlike traits, and an unorthodox cult developed around his memory. Miracles have been attributed to him and, with local Catholics, he turned into an unofficial patron saint, the one revered by the criminals and drug dealers of Mexico's slums, as well as in the Latino areas of the US.

A-WAX - Jesus Malverde

By claiming the patronage of such a character, and showing up himself as a new avatar of the Mexican outlaw, A-Wax set the tone: he would talk about drug dealing and addiction, his lyrics would be about gang wars and girlfriends used as mules. And so that there is no ambiguity about his niche, the rapper from Pittsburg, in the Bay Area – who appears to have a criminal background himself – leveraged his relationships with the Brick Squad folks. No less than Gucci Mane, Waka Flocka Flame and Southside participates to this release, as well as others like DJ Paul, Compton Menace, Eminem's protégé Ca$his, and the beatmakers Cardiak and Loud Pack.

And that works perfectly well. His songs are bombastic, and full of addictive hooks, with explicit lyrics such as "I am just selling dope" ("Work"), or "I am a Pyrex boy, keep it cooking" ("Pie-Rx Boy"). He has hammering synthesizers, on "On Sight", and spirited ones, on "Gun Range". There are sirens as well, on "Work" and the "Make Room" remix, his respective collaborations with Waka Flocka and Gucci Mane. Sometimes, however, A-Wax quiets down, with more ethereal tracks like "Gone Fishin'", "Her Mistakez", "Selfish", and "The Shooter". Some others are questionable, like that "One More Time" built upon Daft Punk's eponymous song, but they are rare. Jesus Malverde is never off-topic, and musically, it is almost constantly outstanding. Though A-Wax is from California, this is one of Atlanta trap music's best releases this year.

Buy this mixtape

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer
  • HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love
  • KASH DOLL - Brat Mail KASH DOLL - Brat Mail
  • MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World
  • QUEEN KEY - Your Highness QUEEN KEY - Your Highness
  • RICO NASTY - Nasty RICO NASTY - Nasty
  • OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

A-WAX - Jesus Malverde

Jesus Malverde aurait été, à l'origine, un bandit mexicain, tué par les autorités du pays en 1909, peu avant la Révolution. Son existence n'est pas pleinement avérée, mais il est devenu, au fil des ans, une légende. Paré d'une réputation de Robin des Bois, représenté sous des traits christiques, il a progressivement fait l'objet d'un culte. Des miracles lui ont été attribués et, en marge du catholicisme local, il est devenu un saint, celui des malfaiteurs et des trafiquants de drogue, dans les bas-fonds du Mexique, comme chez les Latinos installés aux Etats-Unis.

A-WAX - Jesus Malverde

En plaçant sa dernière mixtape sous le haut patronage d'un tel personnage, se représentant lui-même sous les traits du hors-la-loi mexicain, A-Wax annonce la couleur : il ne sera question ici que de trafics, d'addiction, de stupéfiants, de guerres des gangs et de copines utilisées comme mules. Et pour que ce soit plus clair encore, le rappeur de Pittsburg, sur la Baie de San Francisco (qui a lui-même un passé judiciaire chargé), fait jouer ses relations avec le Brick Squad, invitant rien de moins que Gucci Mane, Waka Flocka Flame et Southside à le seconder, histoire de s'inscrire pleinement dans le trap game, les autres personnes conviées ici étant DJ Paul, Compton Menace, Ca$his, le protégé d'Eminem, et les beatmakers Cardiak et Loud Pack.

Et dans le genre, ça dépote. Ses titres sont fiers, claironnants et remplis de refrains addictifs dont les messages sont à sens unique : "I am just selling dope" sur "Work", "I am a Pyrex boy, keep it cooking" sur "Pie-Rx Boy". Les synthés fanfaronnent, ils cognent, comme sur "On Sight", ils sont enlevés, comme sur "Gun Range". Les sirènes sont de sortie, aussi, sur le remix de "Make Room" et sur "Work", ses collaborations respectives avec Gucci Mane et Waka Flocka. Mais parfois, aussi, A-Wax respire, comme avec la suite de plages atmosphériques, "Gone Fishin'", "Her Mistakez", "Selfish" et "The Shooter". Quant aux morceaux les plus douteux, par exemple ce "One More Time" construit sur le tube homonyme de Daft Punk, ils se montrent plutôt rares. Bref, avec ce Jesus Malverde jamais hors-sujet, et musicalement toujours juste, A-Wax nous a offert le meilleur de la trap music d'Atlanta, mais à la mode californienne.

Acheter cette mixtape

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Vous pourriez aussi aimer...

  • TITY BOI - Codeine Cowboy A 2 Chainz Collective TITY BOI - Codeine Cowboy: A 2 Chainz Collective
  • CONWAY - Reject 2 CONWAY THE MACHINE - Reject 2
  • YOUNGBOY NEVER BROKE AGAIN - 38 Baby YOUNGBOY NEVER BROKE AGAIN - 38 Baby
  • KODAK BLACK - Institution KODAK BLACK - Institution
  • 67 - In Skengs We Trust 67 - In Skengs We Trust
  • LIL WAYNE - The Dedication 2 LIL WAYNE - The Dedication 2
  • NÜK - Red Tape NUK X JOSE THE PLUG - Red Tape
  • POP SMOKE - Meet the Woo POP SMOKE - Meet the Woo

Commentaires 1

  • C'est bien que tu parles de cette tape, elle est très réussie, je croyais être le seul à pas être passé à côté :)

    Par Lex_lugor

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.