Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

J DILLA - Ruff Draft

, 14:43 - Permalink

When people mention Jay Dee, a.k.a. J Dilla, they often talk about injustice. Many regret that this beatmaker, one of the most revered among his peers, starting with The Neptunes' Pharrell Williams, never met the success, and that he died much too early, due to a serious health disease. This infatuation for him, however, was not fully deserved.

J DILLA - Ruff Draft

Groove Attack / Stones Throw :: 2003 / 2007 :: buy this record

Jay Dee's career had a great start. Very early, he worked with key players of the rap game, like De La Soul, Q-Tip and Common, and he delivered some gems, for example the beat of The Pharcyde's splendid "Runnin'", or his non-credited production for Janet Jackson's "Got 'til it's Gone". However, afterwards, nothing really legitimated his odds with some purists. Nowadays, we retain almost nothing from his work with the boring Slum Village, or from the albums he released in the 2000's, including the one he recorded as Jaylib, with his alter ego Madlib. And even his much praised Donuts looks like some unfinished business.

Jay Dee offered to trendy people what they expected: a not too gangsta kind of rap (even though Jay Dilla approached that style, at times), a rather warm and subtle hip-hop, driven by a willingness to explore other genres, like jazz, or this techno music born in his own city, Detroit. Then, his premature death amplified even more his aura, it transformed him into a martyr, some kind of 2Pac for highbrows. His records, however, have often been a bit overrated, except maybe this well named Ruff Draft, precisely.

Originally, this release had just been a vinyl EP, distributed by the German guys of Groove Attack. However, because it was rawer, more lo-fi, more visceral than others, it sounds today as his most memorable record, especially when listening to the doubled and enriched version released posthumously by Stones Throw.

Ruff Draft, indeed, has three strengths: first, it is concise, with just 14 small tracks rarely longer than 3 minutes, and both as minimalist and eloquent as, for example, the synthesizer of "Reckless Driving"; second, its beats are among the most bizarre ever produced by Jay Dee, as demonstrated by the distorted song of "Nothing Like This", the science-fiction sounding "Take Notice" and this crooked "Wild" which recycled some track from… the Brit glam-rockers of Slade; last but not least, this record was dangerous, it had real hardcore edges, including samples from the harsh M.O.P.

According to the producer himself, the lyrics were made of pure rap. They were sharp, venal, and lustful, starting from this first track where he introduced a record that was "for my real niggaz only", and that would sound "like it's straight from the motherfuckin' cassette", announcing tracks signed by Jay Dee, but more spontaneous and rawer than ever.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

Groove Attack / Stones Throw :: 2003 / 2007 :: acheter ce disque

J Dilla a fort bien entamé sa carrière, en côtoyant de grands noms du rap comme De La Soul, Q-Tip et Common, et en livrant quelques perles, par exemple le beat du magnifique "Runnin'" de The Pharcyde, et celui, non crédité, du joli "Got 'til it's Gone" de Janet Jackson. Mais ensuite, il n'a jamais vraiment légitimé sa cote auprès des puristes. A posteriori, on retient surtout de l'ennui de son travail avec Slum Village, et ses albums des années 2000, même celui conçu avec Madlib sous le nom de Jaylib, même le très célébré Donuts, ont un goût d'inachevé.

J Dilla, en fait, a offert ce qu'ils souhaitaient aux hipsters comme aux puristes hip-hop : un rap pas trop gangsta (quoique…), plutôt subtil et chaleureux, mu par une volonté de recherche et ouvert aux autres musiques, du jazz à cette techno qui provenait de la même ville que lui, Detroit. Et sa mort prématurée a amplifié son aura, en faisant une sorte de martyr, un 2Pac pour les intellos. Souvent, pourtant, ses disques se sont montrés surfaits. Sauf peut-être, ce bien nommé Ruff Draft.

A l'origine, cette sortie n'avait été qu'un EP, projet annexe distribué en vinyle par les Allemands du label Groove Attack. Cependant, parce qu'il était plus brut, plus lo-fi, plus viscéral que les autres, il est aujourd'hui plus marquant, surtout dans la version double et enrichie éditée de manière posthume par le label Stones Throw. Ruff Draft a en fait un triple mérite : sa concision, tout d'abord, ses 14 petits titres dépassant rarement les 3 minutes et se montrant d'un minimalisme éloquent, comme avec le synthétiseur de "Reckless Driving" ; ses sons, ensuite, parmi les plus bizarres produits par Jay Dee, comme les chants distordus de "Nothing Like This", un "Take Notice" de science-fiction et ce biscornu "Wild" qui recyclait du… Slade ; et, malgré tout, une tonalité hardcore, avec samples de M.O.P. inclus.

Clamées par le producteur lui-même, les paroles donnaient, en effet, dans un pur rap, tranchant, vénal, sale et libidineux, dès une introduction où il nous parlait de titres "pour les vrais négros", "sortis tout droit d'une putain de cassette". Il y annonçait des morceaux signés Jay-Dee, certes, mais sur ce disque, ils les offraient dans leur version la plus brute, la plus spontanée, plus éloignée de la complaisance et de l'expérimentalisme convenu de la plupart de ses autres sorties.