YOUNG THUG - Barter 6

Young Thug was one of the best rappers in 2013. He was one of them as well, in 2014. And it will probably not change in 2015, considering the growing attention of the media. As a matter of fact, it is now set: Thugger could be the man of the decade, the one who redefined the rap game, exactly like his champion prior to him, Gucci Mane. And exactly like his idol, his role model, the one who inspired his crazy and drug-infused kind of rap: Lil Wayne. Young Thug, indeed, his Weezy's most obvious successor, especially since his previous mentor, Birdman, made the Atlantan his new protégé. To make the point, he titled his album as if it was a new edition of the Tha Carter series. Due to Lil Wayne's intervention, he just had to switch from "c" to "b", which allowed him to highlight his affiliation to the Bloods, along with the red cover art.

YOUNG THUG - Barter 6

All the recent mutations in Atlanta's trap music are on Barter 6. Young Thug is not the sole initiator of such evolutions. But with him, they look fully accomplished. The background is the same as ever, it is all about drugs, crime, money and sex, but the meaning is barely intelligible. The rapper proves wrong those still thinking that rap music is about verbiage and messages. It is through the versatility of his tone, and the easy way he moves from one flow to another, that he draws attention. It is also through the many changes in his voice, which can be plaintive, mumbling, all onomatopoeias, or to the opposite much firmer. Also, more than ever, Young Thug blurs the border between rapping and singing. It is neither nor. It is something else. It is different. It is maybe the ultimate iteration of America's black music, the end of its long story.

It is even more obvious now. The Thugger on Barter 6, indeed, is more measured, more polished, and calmer, than previously. He is a new one: Birdman's Young Thug. He is the one already disclosed on the Rich Gang project, which put an end to the whirling synthesizers of the past. The frantic and overexcited rapper of 2013, the crazy and hysterical howler of 1017 Thug and Black Portland, is in a closet now. He is still weird and possessed, but he sounds more controlled, as if he wants to put some order to his music, now that success is within his reach.

Maturity, it is known, is the worst enemy of music. But in Young Thug's case, that doesn't matter much. Barter 6 is not a revelation like 1017 Thug was. This can only happen once. It is more comparable to subsequent releases like Black Portland, The Tour, Part 1, and Young Thugga Mane La Flare, the mixtape he released with Gucci Mane: less rich, less bright, and with fewer striking moments. The excellent "Check", produced by London on da Track, is one of them, and a new demonstration of the rapper's plasticity. "Dome", a crescendo featuring MPA Duke, is another one. And the haunted "Just Might Be" closes that Barter 6 perfectly well.

Other tracks deserve to be noticed, though they are not as strong, like "With That", with some of the bizarre interjections the old Young Thug was known for, the rambling "Can’t Tell", where he is on par with T.I. and Lil Boosie, and the melodic "Numbers". The rest is more dispensable, like the lazy "Amazing", contrary to what johnnies-come-lately, those better convinced by the newly civilized Young Thug, are pretending. But who cares? Whatever the final judgment is about this new release, all bets are off: this rapper is one of the most important of the 2010's.

Buy this mixtape

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer
  • HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love
  • KASH DOLL - Brat Mail KASH DOLL - Brat Mail
  • MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World
  • QUEEN KEY - Your Highness QUEEN KEY - Your Highness
  • RICO NASTY - Nasty RICO NASTY - Nasty
  • OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

YOUNG THUG - Barter 6

, 23:32 - Lien permanent

Young Thug a été l'un des rappeurs de l'année 2013. Il a été aussi l'un des plus en vue en 2014. Et il semble remettre le couvert en 2015, avec la sortie annoncée de plusieurs projets, lesquels n'ont jamais suscité autant d'attentes et d'intérêt médiatique. Bref, au bout du compte, c'est acquis, Thugger est bien parti pour être l'homme de la décennie, celui qui a redéfini le contenu même du rap dans les années 2010, comme l'ont fait pour la période d'avant Gucci Mane, son parrain d'avant, et Lil Wayne, son idole, son modèle, celui dont il explore plus loin encore le style déjanté et marqué par les drogues, celui dont il se présente plus que jamais comme l'héritier, cornaqué qu'il est par son ancien mentor Birdman, et sortant un album qu'il aurait intitulé comme le prochain volet de la série Tha Carter, si Weezy lui-même ne l'avait pas obligé à changer un "C" pour un "B".

YOUNG THUG - Barter 6

300 Entertainment / Atlantic :: 2015 :: acheter le disque

Avec Barter 6, nous retrouvons toutes ces mutations récentes du trap rap d'Atlanta, dont Young Thug, à défaut d'être la seule cause, est la manifestation la plus complète. L'arrière-plan est toujours le même, c'est le crime, la drogue, le fric, le sexe, mais le propos est peu intelligible. Le rappeur, en effet, apporte un démenti final à ceux qui croient encore que le rap est par essence verbiage et message. S'il retient l'attention, c'est par ses changements d'intonations, par la facilité avec laquelle il passe d'un phrasé à l'autre, par ses changements de voix, tantôt plaintive, tantôt toute en murmures, tantôt plus affirmée, et par ses onomatopées. Surtout, et sur cette sortie plus que toute autre, Young Thug brouille les frontières entre rap et chant. Ce n'est plus ni l'un, ni l'autre. C'est autre chose, c'est la nouvelle et c'est l'ultime métamorphose des musiques noires.

Et c'est aujourd'hui plus manifeste encore que par le passé. Car le Thugger de Barter 6, c'est celui plus policé, plus apaisé, plus maîtrisé, de l'après-Birdman. C'est celui, que nous a déjà révélé le projet Rich Gang, fin 2014, où la fanfare synthétique habituelle était mise en sourdine. L'homme d'Atlanta semble avoir mis au placard le rappeur trap surexcité et frénétique de 2013, le hurleur fou et hystérique de 1017 Thug et de Black Portland. Sa face expérimentale, bizarre et allumée est toujours là, mais elle est sous contrôle, comme si Young Thug cherchait à mettre de l'ordre dans sa musique, à présent que le succès semble à portée de main et que la presse musicale se penche sur son cas avec curiosité.

La maturité, on le sait, est la pire ennemie de la musique. Mais Young Thug s'en accommode plutôt bien. Certes, Barter 6 n'est pas le choc qu'a été le très dense 1017 Thug, en 2013, et ça ne le sera sans doute jamais plus. Cette nouvelle sortie se rapproche plutôt de celles du rappeur en 2014, comme Black Portland, The Tour, Part 1 et Young Thugga Mane La Flare, sa mixtape commune avec Gucci Mane : moins riche, moins éclatante, mais parcourue de fulgurances saisissantes. L'excellent "Check", produit par London the Track, est l'une d'elles, en même temps qu'une nouvelle démonstration de la souplesse et de la versatilité du phrasé du rappeur. "Dome", avec MPA Duke, où les deux interprètes jouent d'une sorte de crescendo, en est une autre. Et "Just Might Be", un très beau finale habité.

Sans être aussi forts, quelques autres titres méritent une mention, comme ce "With That" où il reste quelques unes des interjections allumées du Young Thug zinzin, la longue divagation de ce "Can’t Tell", où les prestations de T.I. et de Lil Boosie ne volent pas la vedette à notre rappeur, et le mélodique "Numbers". Et s'il y a des passages plus dispensables, comme ce passable et mollasson "Amazing", qui obligent à relativiser les critiques les plus enthousiastes et élogieuses, venues de gens séduits par le Young Thug moins farouche d'aujourd'hui, ou d'autres qui prennent tout simplement le train en marche, ces titres n'enlèvent rien à la pertinence du rappeur, et à son statut d'homme phare de la décennie rap 2010.

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet