Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

SIAH & YESHUA DAPOED - The Visualz Anthology

, 23:09 - Permalink

Fondle'em's merit, but also, its mistake, is to have preferred the EP format to any other. For that reason, in a world that still considers LPs as the ultimate masterpiece for music, the legacy of New-York's indie rap scene founding label is not as big as it deserves. Most of its artists, the Cenobites, the Juggaknots or the Arsonists, finally had to transform anthology singles or EPs into real albums, adding to them some demos, freestyles, rarities or new tracks. For some of them, this extension of their previous records was a success, as is the case with the Juggaknots' Re:Release. But for some others, the final output was a bit frustrating and unbalanced, as with The Visualz Anthology, a compilation of Siah and Yeshua's work, released in 2008.

SIAH & YESHUA DAPOED - The Visualz Anthology

Fondle'em / Traffic Entertainment Group
1996 / 2008 :: acheter ce disque

Originally, in 1996, The Visualz was just an EP, with six tracks only. And four of them, those on the A-side, were close to perfection, though their main goal seemed more to maintain alive NY's fading jazz rap tradition, than to be revolutionary.

Produced by Siah and Yeshua, with some help from a friend, Jon Adler, the beats were as smooth as possible, thanks to agile pianos, saxophones, basses, hi-hats and organs. They were also full of swing and spiced up with DJ Bless' scratches, like with the admirable "No Soles Dopest Opus". With their supple raps, both MCs displayed their skills and poetry, bordering the abstract and the esoteric, like with "Gravity". They explored their artsy side even further on the B-side, with "A Day Like Any Other", a track more than 11 minutes long, whose beats changed with the narratives. On this song, also, they no longer assaulted wack MCs, but reminisced about children literature, alluding to Narnia, The Wizard of Oz, or the likes.

The original record, released on wax only, was excellent. To change it into a compact disk, though, 14 additional tracks had been added, and not all are as powerful. Some were successes, like "Pyrite", a solo from Siah which could have found its place on The Low End Theory, or "Transatlantic", a joint effort with UK's The Unsung Heroes, or the aerial "Hairy Bird Reprise" and "Untitled". But some other songs were less memorable. They were unimaginative, or even boring. And the radio freestyles were primarily some kind of archive, historical documents.

But so was the objective of the extended version of the Visualz: it was supposed to be a documentary, enriched with pictures, articles and a few words from Bobbito Garcia. It was a testimony, about a duo that dropped from the radar screen, and split much too early to deliver anything else beyond this essential record.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

SIAH & YESHUA DAPOED - The Visualz Anthology

, 10:24 - Lien permanent

La gloire de Fondle'em, mais aussi son tort, c'est d'avoir privilégié le format EP. Pour cette raison, dans ce monde qui, malgré la dématérialisation des sons, considère encore l'album comme l'œuvre musicale définitive, le label fondateur du rap indépendant new-yorkais n'a pas laissé d'héritage à la hauteur de ses mérites. Qu'il s'agisse des Cenobites, des Juggaknots ou des Arsonists, tous ont dû consacrer des maxis ou EPs d'anthologie en les transformant en véritables LPs, y ajoutant quelques démos, freestyles, raretés ou titres plus récents. Cet exercice a réussi à certains, comme les Juggaknots avec Re:Release. Mais le plus souvent, ces versions augmentées se sont révélées un peu bancales. C'est le cas de The Visualz Anthology, une compilation des travaux de Siah et Yeshua sortie en 2008.

SIAH & YESHUA DAPOED - The Visualz Anthology

Fondle'em / Traffic Entertainment Group
1996 / 2008 :: acheter ce disque

Sorti en 1996 par ces deux rappeurs de Brooklyn, The Visualz n'était donc qu'un EP, et il ne comportait que six titres. Mais quatre d'entre eux, ceux qui occupaient la première face, même s'ils s'évertuaient à creuser encore et toujours le sillon d'un jazz rap new-yorkais déjà moribond, se montraient proches de la perfection.

Signés par Siah et Yeshua eux-mêmes, avec le renfort de leur ami Jon Adler, les beats se voulaient plus suaves, grâce à leurs pianos, saxophones, contrebasses, cymbales et orgues agiles, remplis de swing, et parfois pimentés des scratches de DJ Bless, comme sur l'admirable "No Soles Dopest Opus". Et avec leurs raps souples, les MCs cherchaient à démontrer leurs skills et leurs velléités poétiques, quitte à livrer des vers abstraits et ésotériques, comme sur "Gravity". Ce côté arty, ils l'exploraient encore davantage sur la face B, avec "A Day Like Any Other", un titre conclusif de plus de 11 minutes, dont le beat changeait à chaque nouvel épisode narratif, et qui abandonnait le thème récurrent des wack MCs pour aborder des souvenirs de littérature enfantine, comme Le Magicien d'Oz et Narnia.

Le disque d'origine, sorti uniquement en vinyle, était donc excellent. Pour en faire un CD, cependant, il avait été augmenté de 14 autres plages, et toutes n'étaient pas aussi percutantes. Quelques ajouts étaient des réussites, comme "Pyrite", un solo de Siah qu'on croirait sorti de The Low-End Theory, comme "Transatlantic", une collaboration avec les Anglais de Unsung Heroes, comme encore les aériens "Hairy Bird Reprise" et "Untitled". Mais d'autres passages s'avéraient plus dispensables. Ils sonnaient plus scolaire, ils se montraient ennuyeux. Quant aux trois improvisations à la radio incluses ici, elles étaient avant tout des archives, des documents.

Car c'est aussi cela, que les auteurs de cette version enrichie de The Visualz avaient cherché à faire : un documentaire, comme le montraient aussi les photos, les articles et les mots de Bobbito qui accompagnaient le disque : un témoignage, à propos d'un duo qui, en plus d'avoir échappé à de nombreux écrans radar, s'est séparé bien trop tôt pour livrer autre chose que ce qui nous est offert sur ce CD.

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 1996

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 1996. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet