Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

HAND HELD ASPECTS - From Point A To H

, 22:41 - Permalink

Artistic success works like a lottery. Talent is one of its conditions, but it doesn’t weight much compared with random encounters which will allow such or such to be better exposed than others. And though patience and time help separating the wheat from the chaff, what can they do for grains scattered on the way? In other words, how many good records have never been celebrated by any? And when they have been celebrated, how many are forgotten because the media which praised them has disappeared itself? Thousands, without a doubt, and From Point A to H could be one of those.

HAND HELD ASPECTS - From Point A To H

Fingerprint Records :: 2002 :: buy this record

This record was one of the first releases of a short-lived label also responsible for other unsung gems, like Nobs' Workin' and Eibol's Karma Kingdom, this Eibol being one of the four members of Hand Held Aspects, along with Losaka, StayInSane and Hippo. Coming from the city of Ossining, close to New-York, but too far from its living center, and only made of white MCs, Fingerprint Records shortly made a name of itself thanks to the buoyancy of the indie rap scene at the turn of the century. Thanks also to the interest of – very – specialized webzines for Hand Held Aspects' first album, the tragically well named No One's Listening. And then it disappeared, when all this attention was no longer current.

It is time, however, to praise again this other record, From Point A to H, better produced than the previous one, and granted with the same qualities as Karma Kingdom. This was another of these records going against their times, coming back to the old school, or the Golden Age. Not formally: everything, there, sounded modern; but more in terms of spirit, with its fresh, playful, vibrating and almost ecstatic raps, with its beats stuffed with scratches and samples, and rich of welcomed misdemeanors, like the addition of reggae accents on "Shorelines", or delectable findings, like the surprising flute of "One's Perspective", notwithstanding the presence of impactful melancholic tracks ("Ice the Pain").

As required by the indie rap principle, the only rule which ever unified this otherwise eclectic and fragmented scene, this record opposed the usual clichés of hip-hop. Though the first track, a rejoicing "Sing Sing", had the former name of their city and the prison it was famous for, Hand Help Aspects invited people to forget where they were coming from, instead of representing their 'hoods. By inviting them to accept others' opinions ("One's Perspective"), by denouncing the mind-numbing media ("Living Room"), they positioned themselves as conscious rappers instead of criminals. They encouraged humbleness on "Note to Self", a letter Eibol and Stayinsane were addressing to their own selves in the future, to remind them about where they were coming from, so that success don't go to their heads.

Well, we know it now: this letter was not needed. These guys never met success. It will remind them of something else, though, something capital. It will remind them that, long ago, there was a time where they possessed the sacred fire.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

HAND HELD ASPECTS - From Point A To H

, 22:50 - Lien permanent

Le succès fonctionne comme une loterie. Le talent pèse finalement peu, comparé au hasard des rencontres qui permettront à tel ou tel d'être mieux exposé que tel autre. Et si le temps fait son œuvre, s'il aide à identifier et à rejeter l'ivraie, parmi ce qui a eu du succès autrefois, il ne retrouve pas toujours le bon grain qui s'est éparpillé en route. En d'autres termes, combien de bons disques n'ont-ils jamais été célébrés par quiconque ? Ou, quand ils l'ont été, combien sont retournés dans l'oubli, parce que les médias qui les avaient alors vantés ont eux-mêmes disparu ? Des milliers, sans doute, et From Point A to H pourrait bien être de ceux-là.

HAND HELD ASPECTS - From Point A To H

Fingerprint Records :: 2002 :: acheter cet album

Ce disque fut l'une des premières sorties d'un label éphémère auquel nous devons quelques perles méconnues, comme le Workin' de Nobs, ou le Karma Kingdom d'Eibol, qui était par ailleurs l'un des membres de Hand Held Aspects, Losaka, StayInSane et Hippo étant les autres. Issu de la ville d'Ossining, à proximité de New-York, mais trop loin de son centre, composé quasiment de rappeurs blancs, Fingerprint Records n'a dû sa discrète sortie de l'anonymat qu'à l'effervescence de la scène rap indé de l'époque et à l'intérêt manifesté par certains médias (très) spécialisés pour le premier Hand Held Aspects, un tragiquement bien nommé No One's Listening. Et il a disparu quand tout ceci a cessé d'être d'actualité.

Il est temps, pourtant, de vanter à nouveau cet autre disque, From Point A to H. Mieux produit que le précédent, il ramenait le rap directement vers sa phase old school, ou vers son Golden Age. Pas dans la forme : bien au contraire, tout ici demeurait moderne. Mais dans l'esprit, avec ses raps frais, enjoués, trépidants et limite extatiques, avec ses beats encore gavés de scratches et de samples. L'album se montrait capable aussi d'incartades bienvenues, comme avec les accents reggae de "Shorelines", de trouvailles délectables, comme l'étonnante flûte de "One's Perspective", ou de passages plus mélancoliques ("Ice the Pain").

Comme le voulait la règle en matière de hip-hop indé, la seule qui ait vraiment unifié cette scène hétéroclite et morcelée, ce rap prenait à contrepied les clichés habituels au genre. Si le premier titre, un réjouissant "Sing Sing", était l'ancien nom de leur ville et celui de la prison locale, les HHA invitaient à s'affranchir de leur lieu d'origine plutôt qu'ils ne s'en réclamaient. En appelant au respect des opinions sur "One's Perspective", en dénonçant l'abrutissement par les médias sur "Living Room", ils prenaient la posture des rappeurs "conscients" plutôt que celle du criminel, mais sans lourdeur. Et ils invitaient à l'humilité sur "Note to Self", une lettre qu'Eibol et Stayinsane adressaient à eux-mêmes, dans le futur, pour rappeler d'où ils venaient, afin que le succès ne leur monte pas à la tête.

On le sait maintenant, cette lettre n'avait pas lieu d'être. Ce succès, le groupe ne le connaîtra jamais. From Point A to H, cependant, rappellera autre chose d'essentiel aux membres de Hand Held Aspects : que pour quelques années, sur certains titres, ce groupe qui aurait mérité la célébrité était animé d'un feu sacré.

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 2002

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 2002. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet