COMPANY FLOW - Funcrusher Plus

By 1997, just when some feared that hip-hop was getting corrupted by success, "independent" and "alternative" had become buzz words. And no other claimed them louder than Company Flow. A product of New-York's underground, these self-produced and self-promoted rappers created their own label, Official Recordings, and they targeted the music industry as the enemy. And their slogan, a very definitive "independent as fuck", was everything but ambiguous.

COMPANY FLOW - Funcrusher Plus

Founded by 1993, Company Flow had become the heralds of the nascent underground hip-hop movement in 1996, when they released the abrasive Funcrusher, an EP Bigg Jus, El-P and Mr. Len would enrich and improve one year and a few singles later, with the help of Rawkus Records. Per its title, Funcrusher Plus stripped out hip-hop. There wasn't any fun, funkyness or prettiness left to it. Only a handful of vindictive hymns were more or less catchy, like "Silence", or the sitar-infused "The Fire in Which you Burn", a collaborative track with the Juggaknots.

Everywhere else, Funcrusher Plus was hardcore hip-hop at its very rawest. The rhythm was slow, the samples were unsettling, and experimentalism was there, like with the ethereal and hallucinated "Bad Touch Example", "8 Steps to Perfection" and "Krazy Kings". They excelled even more with their revisited version of "Population Control", a slow and apocalyptic track strengthened by a bizarre water sample, or the atmospheric "Info Kill". Funcrusher Plus also looked like an humourless version of Dr. Octagon science-fiction rap, with the weird divagations of "Help Wanted", or Mr. Len's scratches on "Lencorcism" and "Funcrush Scratch".

Despite the soberness, though, Company Flow knew how to drop bombs. The super-minimalistic, "Collude/Intrude" and "Last Good Sleep" were good examples, with their huge pulse, and their complex raps. And though its formula was sometimes overly austere, like with "Blind", the trio had enough strength to sublimate arid tracks like "Legends", "89.9 Detrimental" and "Vital Nerve". The record was excessively rude, hostile and heavy, and though, it would create a new form of hip-hop. It would become the template for a new generation of rappers, and countless underground scenes, obsessed with integrity and uncompromising creativity.

Buy this record

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch
  • AZJAH - Princess Diaries AZJAH - Princess Diaries
  • LIL DEBBIE - Debbie, avr. 2020 LIL DEBBIE - Debbie
  • KATE TEMPEST - Let Them Eat Chaos KATE TEMPEST - Let Them Eat Chaos
  • NADIA ROSE - Highly Flammable NADIA ROSE - Highly Flammable
  • LEIKELI47 - Acrylic LEIKELI47 - Acrylic
  • ASIAN DOLL - Drippin' in Glo ASIAN DOLL - Drippin' in Glo
  • CARDI B - Invasion of Privacy CARDI B - Invasion of Privacy

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

COMPANY FLOW - Funcrusher Plus

, 22:42 - Lien permanent

En 1997, le hip-hop semblant s'affadir au contact corrupteur du grand public, "independent" et "alternative" allaient devenir de nouveaux mots d'ordre, et nul groupe n'allait les proclamer plus fort que Company Flow. Issus de l'underground new-yorkais, autoproduits, auto-promus, fondateurs de leur label, Official Recordings, El P, Bigg Jus et Mr. Len avaient choisi une cible, le business, et un slogan, "independent as fuck", sans ambigüité sur le créneau qu'ils avaient choisi.

COMPANY FLOW - Funcrusher Plus

Rawkus :: 1997 :: acheter ce disque

Apparus dès 1993, ils allaient devenir les hérauts du nouveau rap indépendant à la sortie en 1996 d'un EP incendiaire, Funcrusher, acclamé par la critique et le public spécialisés. Un an et quelques maxis plus tard, ils en sortaient une version enrichie sur le jeune label Rawkus, Funcrusher Plus. Comme l'indiquait le titre de l'album, rares y seraient les passages un tant soit peu remuants et funky. Seuls quelques hymnes vindicatifs faisaient remuer la tête, comme "Silence", et le prodigieux rap à sitars de "The Fire in Which you Burn", auquel participaient les Juggaknots.

Partout ailleurs, Company Flow s'emparait des attributs les plus durs du rap hardcore new-yorkais. Il en ralentissait le rythme, le dépouillait de ses samples accrocheurs et en explorait les abords les plus expérimentaux. Atmosphériques et hallucinés, "Bad Touch Example", "8 Steps to Perfection" et "Krazy Kings" étaient tous dans ce ton. Mais l'aboutissement de cette formule, c'étaient plus encore les versions révisées de "Population Control", un titre lent et apocalyptique, renforcé par le son inquiétant d'un écoulement d'eau, et de cet "Info Kill" tout en nappes. Funcrusher Plus recélait aussi quelques divagations étranges comme "Help Wanted", qui rappelait Dr. Octagon pour sa science-fiction, et des délires scratchés comme "Lencorcism" ou "Funcrush Scratch", tous deux produits par Mr. Len.

Company Flow savait aussi larguer des bombes, des titres plus agressifs, quoique toujours excessivement sobres. Résumés à trois notes, à une rythmique énorme et à un flot de raps complexes et obsédants, "Collude/Intrude" et "Last Good Sleep" étaient de ceux-là. L'austérité était encore plus extrême sur "Blind", et il fallait toute la vindicte du trio pour animer et sublimer les très arides "Legends", "89.9 Detrimental" et "Vital Nerve". Le disque dans sa longueur se montrait donc excessivement rude, hostile et pesant. Il n'en posait pas moins les fondations d'un mouvement majeur du hip-hop, d'une nouvelle génération, et d'innombrables scènes qui se voudraient le refuge d'un hip-hop créatif, intègre, sans concession.

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 1997

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 1997. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet