MACH-HOMMY - Pray For Haiti

Mach-Hommy has not always run after success. Like other underground heroes, he has shunned the medias for a while. We don't know much about his identity, and he is always masked, his face hidden behind the Haitian flag on his bandana. Also, his lyrics are cryptic. They mix creole with English, he refuses to write them down and, along with Your Old Droog, he asked Genius to remove them from their website. He doesn't want exegetes. Interpreting his words is left to listeners, according to their sensibilities. Moreover, some of his records are sold at exorbitant prices. And he left Griselda Records just after his cult H.B.O. album, before the Buffalo label got exposed to a large audience, through new distribution contracts and alliances.

MACH-HOMMY - Pray For Haiti

But in 2021, things have changed. Mach-Hommy is back to Griselda Records and he reconciled with Westside Gunn, who supports him on Pray for Haiti. Indeed, he is the album's executive producer, and he features three times there, adding his squalling rap, onomatopoeias, and brat voice to the quiet tone of the other. Such is the case with "Folie à Deux", for example, which is actually a "folie à trois", Keisha Plum supporting the two guys with a bit of spoken word. With his voice that meanders effortlessly from a rumbling tone to a thundering one, and that sings at times, Mach-Hommy could be self-sufficient. Nonetheless, he is assisted by many, some expected like Tha God Fahim, his old Dump Gawd acolyte, and others less, like the uncredited Melanie Charles, another singer of Haitian descent. As for the music, with some support from Camoflauge Monk and Conductor Williams, among others, Pray for Haiti benefits from the best of Griselda's formula: this is boom bap with no "boom" and no "bap", a bit of jazz and soul, and clever drum plays, like with the admirable "Ten Boxes - Sin Eater" produced by Denny LaFlare.

Due to this return to Griselda Records, this album is better marketed than the previous ones. It is also – relatively – accessible. And it is one of the most celebrated in 2021, like its immediate successor Balès Cho. It is praised like H.B.O should probably have been, five years earlier. It confirms what the Newark rapper says on the first track, "The 26th Letter": "Mach-Hommy is an icon, end quote, this gon' be the year I get my python trenchcoat". That being said, this record is not exclusively about him. It is also, once again, about Haiti. Mach-Hommy wants us to pray for his martyr country, whose last misfortune was the murder of its president, a few months before the album. He wants 20% of its sales benefits to go to a fund that supports IT and coding courses on the island. And he praises the richness of its language on the "Kreyol" skit.

On tracks such as "The Stellar Ray Theory", Mach-Hommy talks about the children of his country. He plays with weather metaphors to celebrate their resilience, like when he sings "la pluie a tombé, nous pas mouillés": the rain has fallen, but we're not wet. He shares his experience with starvation on "Kriminel". He talks about his people like when, through his mother, he pays tribute to black women on "Marie". On "Au Revoir", supported by mixtape legend DJ Green Lantern, the rapper wants to "make sure that everybody and they mama heard of Mach-Hommy". But judging by his sad tone, he is not driven by his appetite for success. It looks like Mach-Hommy has some other missions, other statements to make.

Buy this album

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • DEVIN THE DUDE - Soulful Distance DEVIN THE DUDE - Soulful Distance
  • GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch
  • SAMEER AHMAD - Apaches SAMEER AHMAD - Apaches
  • POLO G - Die a Legend POLO G - Die a Legend
  • AZJAH - Princess Diaries AZJAH - Princess Diaries
  • BILLY WOODS & KENNY SEGAL - Hiding Places BILLY WOODS & KENNY SEGAL - Hiding Places
  • LIL DEBBIE - Debbie, avr. 2020 LIL DEBBIE - Debbie
  • KATE TEMPEST - Let Them Eat Chaos KATE TEMPEST - Let Them Eat Chaos

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

MACH-HOMMY - Pray For Haiti

Mach-Hommy n'a pas toujours couru après le succès. A l'instar d'autres héros underground, il a longtemps évité les médias, il ne révèle rien de sa véritable identité et il ne se montre que masqué, le visage dissimulé derrière un bandana aux couleurs d'Haïti. Ses paroles, elles aussi, sont opaques, mêlées qu'elles sont au créole de son pays d'origine, et son auteur refuse de les diffuser par écrit. Nul ne doit s'en faire l'exégète sur le site Genius auquel, avec Your Old Droog, il a demandé de retirer ses textes. C'est à tout un chacun de décrypter ses mots obtus, d'après son propre ressenti, selon sa propre interprétation. Par ailleurs, c'est à des prix exorbitants que Mach-Hommy a parfois diffusé sa musique. Et puis surtout, il a quitté Griselda Records dès après l'album des débuts, le culte H.B.O, en 2016, avant même que le label de Buffalo ne se fasse connaître auprès du plus grand nombre, à travers ses nouveaux contrats de distribution.

MACH-HOMMY - Pray For Haiti

Mais en 2021, la donne a changé. Mach-Hommy est revenu chez Griselda et il s'est réconcilié avec Westside Gunn, lequel l'a secondé sur Pray for Haiti. Il est en effet le producteur exécutif de cet album, et il y intervient à trois reprises, apportant avec son rap criard, ses onomatopées et sa voix de gamin énervé, un complément au style posé du principal protagoniste. Tel est le cas sur le très bon "Folie à Deux", par exemple, en fait une folie à trois, puisqu'aux deux hommes s'adjoint Keisha Plum, pour un moment de spoken word. Si Mach-Hommy se suffit à lui-même, avec sa voix qui serpente sans effort d'une diction basse et grommelée à une autre, plus tonnante, puis à quelques chants ici et là, il bénéficie néanmoins de l'assistance de quelques autres, certains très attendus comme son vieil acolyte du Dump Gawd, Tha God Fahim, et d'autres moins comme la chanteuse (non créditée) Melanie Charles, d'origine haïtienne comme lui. Côté sons, aussi, avec le renfort de Camoflauge Monk et de Conductor Williams, entre autres, Pray for Haiti tire le meilleur profit de la formule Griselda avec son boom bap sans "boom" ni "bap", avec son jazz bancal, sa soul malsaine ou d'habiles jeux de percussions, comme sur cet admirable "Ten Boxes - Sin Eater" final produit par Denny LaFlare.

Fort du retour chez Griselda, cet album est devenu plus visible que les précédents, plus accessible aussi, toutes proportions gardées. Et il est l'un des plus célébrés de l'année 2021, tout comme son récent successeur Balès Cho. Sur le tard, il reçoit l'accueil qui aurait dû être réservé à H.B.O, et il donne raison aux vers suivants, lancés par le rappeur de Newark dès le premier titre, "The 26th Letter" : "Mach-Hommy est une icône, fin de citation, ce sera l'année où j'aurai mon trench-coat en python". Cependant, le rappeur ne pense pas qu'à lui. Au cœur de son propos, figure encore Haïti. Mach-Hommy nous invite à prier pour ce pays éternellement martyr, dont le dernier malheur aura été, avant la parution de l'album, le meurtre de son président. Il a prévu de verser 20% des ventes à un fonds destiné à subventionner des cours d'informatique sur l'île, et l'interlude "Kreyol" exalte la richesse de la langue du même nom.

C'est donc de son milieu, celui des enfants de ce pays, que Mach-Hommy traite sur des titres tels que "The Stellar Ray Theory", quand il joue de métaphores climatiques pour parler de résilience ("la pluie a tombé, nous pas mouillés", y chante-t-il). C'est de son expérience, celle par exemple de la disette évoquée sur "Kriminel". C'est des siens, comme quand, à travers sa mère, il rend un hommage à toutes les femmes noires sur "Marie". Sur cet "Au Revoir", produit par la légende de la mixtape DJ Green Lantern, un autre sommet de l'album, le rappeur déclare vouloir "faire en sorte que tout le monde et leurs mamans entendent parler de Mach-Hommy". Mais à en croire le ton morne avec lequel il dit cela, la soif de succès n'est pas le vrai moteur de cette entreprise. Mach-Hommy a d'autres missions, il a bien d'autres choses à faire entendre.

Évaluer ce billet

3.8/5

  • Note : 3.8
  • Votes : 4
  • Plus haute : 5
  • Plus basse : 1

Vous pourriez aussi aimer...

  • GUNPLAY - ALL Bullshit Aside GUNPLAY - ALL Bullshit Aside
  • PUSHA-T - It's Almost Dry PUSHA T - It's Almost Dry
  • CAM'RON - Purple Haze CAM'RON - Purple Haze
  • 42 DUGG & EST GEE - Last Ones Left 42 DUGG & EST GEE - Last Ones Left
  • DR. DRE - 2001 DR. DRE - 2001
  • FREDDIE GIBBS - Cold Day in Hell FREDDIE GIBBS - Cold Day in Hell
  • COOTIE - Welcome to the Trap COOTIE - Welcome to the Trap
  • CAPONE-N-NOREAGA - The War Report CAPONE-N-NOREAGA - The War Report

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.