Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

NEILA - Better Late Than Never

, 22:38 - Permalink

On the west side of the US, is the West Coast. But further west, there is Hawaii. Laura Yang, a.k.a. Neila, is from there. Nevertheless, it is actually the Californian rap scene, she is associated with; or more precisely its underground subset the rapper, DJ, producer and activist Deeskee organized around his LA2theBay website. Neila made a first appearance in his entourage, when she contributed to the best song on his Blacklight Sessions album, the nice "The Dream". And since then, she never stopped releasing music, until her recent Analog Jewelery in 2017.

NEILA - Better Late Than Never

Self-released :: 2009 :: buy this album

Neila even improved, over time. Her best days, ironically, happened when she struggled against a cancer which impacted her vocal cords, around the year 2010. Better Late than Never, an album supported once again by Deeskee, testifies of this. Produced by Avatar, and more marginally by Life Rexall from the Shape Shifters, it had a good balance of sinister songs ("Snake", "Murder", "Maybe", "Anything") and more joyous tracks ("Grab More", "Better Late than Never", "Seatbelt"), and they all used samples – a decaying practice at that time, but typical of this peculiar rap scene. That album was the first the rapper had released after five years of silence, and her health conditions seemed to impact her, already. Actually, she sounded a bit like a crone, which only accentuated the sadness of lyrics she mostly dedicated to her heartbreaks and relationship issues.

Better Late than Never benefited from the proper reinforcements. The most memorable moments on the album, were those with representatives from the large underground network Neila was affiliated to. Such was the case with "How It Is", an upper tempo track supported by a children choir, DJ Esp's scratches, and the raspy voice of Awol One. Such was the case, as well, with "Monster", with the participation of another semi-legend, 2Mex, and with "Earthquake", with Matre, another member of the sprawling Shape Shifters collective. The main dish, though, was the conclusive "Mercy Refused", a relentless posse cut with a dozen (or more) underground figures like Existereo, Xololanxinxo, Project Blowed veteran Volume 10 and - so that it was not only about the West Coast - Company Flow's Bigg Jus.

Beyond Neila's own case, this track looked like a swansong for what used to be a huge rap underground. By then, that scene had lost its shine; critics were no longer interested. For the Hawaiian rapper, though, this was one more step: the next album, named appropriately Only this One Counts and marked by her distress and her bad health condition, would be her most intimate, and her most intense.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

NEILA - Better Late Than Never

, 22:38 - Lien permanent

A l'ouest des Etats-Unis, il y a la West Coast. Et plus loin encore que la West Coast, il y a Hawaï. C'est de cet archipel que la rappeuse Laura Yang, dite Neila, est originaire. Mais c'est bel et bien à une scène rap californienne qu'elle a été associée, celle, grouillante et prolifique, structurée par le rappeur, DJ, producteur et multi-activiste Deeskee, autour du site LA2theBay. C'est vers 2003, dans l'entourage de ce dernier qu'elle est apparue, en contribuant à son album Blacklight Sessions, au bénéfice du très beau titre "The Dream". Et depuis, Neila n'a jamais cessé de sortir des projets, jusqu'au récent Analog Jewelery, en 2017.

NEILA - Better Late Than Never

Autoproduit :: 2009 :: acheter cet album

Neila s'est même bonifiée avec le temps, sa meilleure période étant sans doute, ironiquement, celle où elle bataillait contre un cancer des cordes vocales, au tournant des années 2000 et 2010. Better Late than Never, un album sorti une fois encore avec l'appui de Deeskee, en témoigne. Produit par Avatar et, plus marginalement, par Life Rexall des Shape Shifters, il associait avec un relatif équilibre des morceaux sinistres ("Snake", "Murder", "Maybe") ou pathétiques ("Anything"), à d'autres, plus relevés ("Grab More", "Better Late than Never", "Seatbelt"), usant de samples divers et inusuels, une caractéristique de cette école rap. Cet album était le premier sorti par la rappeuse après un silence de près cinq ans, et l'effet de la maladie commençait à s'entendre. Sa voix ressemblait parfois à celle d'une vieille femme, ce qui ne faisait qu'accentuer la tristesse de ses raps, consacrés en partie à exposer ses peines de cœur et ses difficultés relationnelles.

Better Late than Never tirait profit aussi des renforts adéquats, les passages les plus mémorables étant souvent ceux comptant des représentants de ce vaste underground rap auquel Neila était affiliée. C'était par exemple le cas avec "How It Is", un morceau up-tempo soutenu par des chœurs d'enfants et les scratches de DJ Esp, et qui bénéficiait du flow éraillé d'Awol One. Ca l'était aussi avec "Monster", où intervenait cette fois l'autre semi-légende de cette scène, 2Mex, et de "Earthquake", avec Matre, un autre membre des tentaculaires Shape Shifters. Mais la pièce de résistance était un autre titre, le dernier, "Mercy Refused", un posse cut mené tambour battant, où se succédaient une douzaine (et plus) de figures underground, dont Existereo, Xololanxinxo, le vétéran du Project Blowed Volume 10 et, histoire de dépasser la West Coast, l'ancien Company Flow Bigg Jus.

Au-delà du cas de Neila, ce titre sonnait presque comme un chant du cygne pour cette immense scène indé souterraine, en cette époque qui n'était déjà plus tout à fait la sienne. Mais pour la rappeuse de l'Etat d'Hawaï, ce n'était qu'une étape de plus : l'album suivant, un bien-nommé Only this One Counts où dominerait la détresse causée par sa maladie, se révèlera son plus intime et son plus intense.

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 2009

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 2009. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet