Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

SOSAMANN - Trap'd Out 2

, 23:19 - Permalink

You can't have missed them. The guys from the Sauce Factory, indeed, have been quite present over the last few months. They released several mixtapes, and were praised by locals like Slim Thug, as well as superstars like Drake. They are everywhere, and presented like the next wave in one of rap's biggest strongholds: Houston. The Sauce Twinz (Sauce Walka and Sancho Saucy), Sosamann, 5th Ward JP, Drippy, Rizzo, plus a few others, are coming from different places in the Texan city, but they all belong to the same new generation. They are the heralds of a new movement, a new sound, a new concept – all at once – they call "the sauce".

SOSAMANN - Trap'd Out 2

The Sauce Factory :: 2015 :: download mixtape

Some may understand this blurry concept as a hint at drugs, more particularly the codeine-based syrup known as Houston's iconic narcotic. But it can also be about a specific way of life, already advocated by rappers from there: living lavishly; going for long rides, with music bumping into cars; wearing luxury clothes, with the shimmering colors pimps like. The Sauce Factory, however, doesn't sound like the previous generations of Houston rappers. They look more influenced by Atlanta's prominent trap music. More particularly, they are often compared to Migos, due to their post-gangsta and eccentric styles, and their love for repetitions and slogans. Both collectives, actually, have already worked together, on the track "On Top".

The influence of the music from Atlanta is particularly perceptible with Sosamann, the band's veteran, a guy from Southwest Houston – while the Sauce Twins, who are at the core of the collective, are coming from the Southeastern side of the city. His last solo mixtape, released by the beginning of 2015, the sequel to a homonymous release in 2013, is indeed named Trap'd Out 2. Tracks like "On My Grind", "Forever", "Roll Windows Down", "I Do", and "Smock, Fuck, Leave", are full of pulsating basses, flashy synthesizers, and laments sung with Auto-Tune. The main themes, money and hoes, are a pretext for meaningless ramblings. And there is even a track, "What You Sayin'", produced by Zaytoven. Long story made short: Sosamann looks like his colleagues from the other rap center in the South.

Also, Trap'd Out 2 is one of the best mixtapes ever released by the Sauce Factory, the Houston band being sometimes a bit too prolific and not selective enough. It is full of highlights: the furious "Trap'd Out"; the intoxicating "Up Front"; the romantic "Forever"; "Selfmade", a duo with Slim Thug; the cloud rap conclusion of "Untouchable"; "I'm Da Man" and "Fade This Wave", featuring a haunted Sauce Walka; and of course another song with the same, "Did a Whole Lot", one of the Sauce Factory's manifesto, a true banger. And the good news, is that Sosamann has even more sauce left in the tank, as proven recently with Sauce Theft Auto, another remarkable mixtape released with the Sauce Twinz. Be prepared for more.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

SOSAMANN - Trap'd Out 2

, 23:19 - Lien permanent

En toute logique, vous ne les avez pas loupés. Les membres de la Sauce Factory sont, en effet, l'une des sensations rap du moment. Multipliant les mixtapes depuis quelques mois, vantés par des figures du cru (Slim Thug) ou d'ailleurs (Drake), ils sont partout, et ils sont présentés comme la relève, dans l'une des plus anciennes places fortes du rap aux Etats-Unis : Houston. Les Sauce Twinz (Sauce Walka et Sancho Saucy), Sosamann, 5th Ward JP, Drippy, Rizzo et quelques autres viennent d'endroits distincts de la grande ville texane, mais ils tiennent tous à représenter sa nouvelle génération, en se faisant les porte-voix d'un mouvement, d'un son, d'un concept (tout cela à la fois), qu'ils ont donc choisi de dénommer "Sauce".

SOSAMANN - Trap'd Out 2

The Sauce Factory :: 2015 :: télécharger la mixtape

Derrière cette notion aux contours flous, on trouve bien sûr une allusion à la drogue, en particulier ce sirop à la codéine connu pour être la substance de choix à Houston. Le terme désigne aussi tout un style de vie, celui déjà vanté par les rappeurs du coin : mener grand train ; partir dans de longues virées en voiture, la musique à fond ; s'habiller luxueusement, avec les couleurs chatoyantes d'un mac. The Sauce Factory, pourtant, ne ressemble pas tout à fait à ses prédécesseurs locaux. On retrouve aussi, chez eux, une forte influence du trap rap d'Atlanta, lequel ne cesse plus d'essaimer, et de redéfinir le son d'autres scènes. Plus précisément, TSF a souvent été comparé à Migos, pour ses airs de groupe post-gangsta totalement farfelu, porté sur les répétitions et sur les slogans. Les deux collectifs ont d'ailleurs tout récemment oeuvré ensemble, sur le titre "On Top".

L'influence d'Atlanta est particulièrement audible chez Sosamann, le vétéran du groupe, un représentant de Southwest Houston (quand les Sauce Twins, en quelque sorte le cœur du collectif, viennent du Sud-est de la ville). Le titre de sa dernière mixtape solo, d'ailleurs, ne trompe pas : disponible depuis début 2015, cette suite à un premier volume homonyme sorti en 2013 s'intitule en effet Trap'd Out 2. Les basses qui pulsent, les synthés clinquants, les raps entonnés comme des ritournelles, les complaintes chantées à l'auto-tune ("On My Grind", "Forever", "Roll Windows Down", "I Do", "Smock, Fuck, Leave"), les thèmes de l'argent et des filles utilisés comme prétextes à toutes les divagations, plutôt que pour faire sens, et même un titre produit par Zaytoven ("What You Sayin'") : Sosamann a beaucoup en commun avec les rappeurs de l'autre grande ville rap du Sud.

Trap'd Out 2, aussi, est l'une des mixtapes les plus convaincantes proposées à ce jour par la Fabrique de Sauce, laquelle est si prolifique qu'elle en est bien sûr inégale. Elle regorge en tout cas de grands moments : le furieux "Trap'd Out", l'entêtant "Up Front", la romance "Forever", le duo "Selfmade" avec le parrain Slim Thug, le conclusif très cloud "Untouchable", des "I'm Da Man" et "Fade This Wave" avec un Sauce Walka possédé, et bien sûr cet autre titre avec le même, "Did a Whole Lot", à ce jour l'un des gros tubes de la Sauce Factory, et l'un de leurs morceaux manifestes. Sosamann en a sous la spatule, il a même remis ça plus tard dans l'année, avec les Sauce Twinz, via une autre mixtape notable, Sauce Theft Auto. Comme quoi, semble-t-il, TSF n'en a pas fini d'envoyer la sauce.

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Commentaires

1. Le lundi 20 juillet 2015, 12:57 par Sleinwash

Ma sortie préférée de la Fabrique pour le moment, moins fatigante à écouter que celle de Sauce Walka. Mention pour Bro Dini qui signe les meilleurs prods de la tape.

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet