Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

MAC LETHAL - Irish Goodbye

, 10:57 - Permalink

A long time ago, Mac Lethal, a white rapper from Kansas City, received some praise. It was by the beginning of the 2000's, when he won or was second to several editions of the Scribble Jam contest, and was sponsored by Jay Seagraves' Hip Hop Infinity, a reference webzine for the indie rap scene, which released the guy's first album. Ten years later, unfortunately, names like Scribble Jam, Jay Seagraves and Hip Hop Infinity aren't meaning anything to the new generation. And now, despite his short time with Rhymesayers Entertainment and the album he released there, 11:11, Mac Lethal seems no longer current.

MAC LETHAL - Irish Goodbye

Black Clover Records :: 2011 :: buy this record

Unexpectedly, though, with the help of resources like Tumblr and Youtube, the rapper recently came back under the light, thanks to some crazy video showing him rapping while cooking pancakes, which became a global buzz on the Internet. Surprisingly, Mac Lethal even made it to the French TV. By then, we realized that David McCleary Sheldon – his real name – never called it quits with rap music. As many of his colleagues, who never really made it, he was keeping on releasing mixtapes, or even real records on his own label, Black Clover.

Irish Goodbye was released just after the pancake video, on December 31, 2011. And obviously, with this record, Mac Lethal was trying hard to capitalize on his renewed notoriety. The title sounded like a resignation – an Irish goodbye is when one leaves a pub without saluting his friends, explained the rapper on "No Miracle". But in fact, the content was saying the complete opposite.

This album was full of bitterness, true enough, more particularly on the introductory track, theenraged "The Parlour", where the rapper, quite angry, was attributing the failures of his career to his willingness to stay real, blaming medias like Pitchfork for praising demagogic trap rap like Gucci Mane's, instead of the more authentic and honest forms of hip-hop like, according to him, his own. Disgust and rancor were never too far on Irish Goodbye; however, the beats of Michael "Seven" Summers – a frequent collaborator of Tech N9ne, the best rapper in Kansas City – offered melodies and catchy tunes which proved that, finally, the guy hadn't fully abandoned his hunger for success.

The album was also full of light-hearted tracks, and nice hooks anybody could whistle in the shower, like with "Morimoto (Just Duet)", "Aviator", "Wooooo!!!", "Every Night" or the weaker "Happy to Be Living". There, Mac Lethal was saying that his life was great, or that he was happy to be happy, and the beats were in the same mood: optimistic, welcoming, rich and warm, from the strings of "Vodka Tonic With a Lime" to the eerie feminine voices of "Black Rainbow" and "Now Miracle". Mac Lethal wasn't confined exclusively to cynicism and acrimony; he could also posture himself as a wise and sensible rapper, reflecting on his life on "Quarter Life" and "No Miracle", questioning the attitude of an easy girl ("Slut"), or, with the appropriate help of some local folk music, exploring his Irish roots through the love and migration story of his grandparents ("Jake + Olive").

Irish Goodbye is, almost, Mac Lethal's mainstream album. He is no Macklemore, though. No demagogy for teenagers there. And, as a result, no international success neither – the guy, anyway, never looked like a rock star. This record showed, however, and as lately as in 2011, that this archetypal product of the early 2000's indie rap scene could still be alive, convincing and relevant.

Rate this entry

5/5

  • Note: 5
  • Votes: 1
  • Higher: 5
  • Lower: 5

Comments

1. On Monday 2 January 2017, 09:02 by Scuba

So far underrated it's a joke really

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

MAC LETHAL - Irish Goodbye

, 23:13 - Lien permanent

Mac Lethal a connu, autrefois, à sa petite échelle, un succès d'estime appréciable. Vainqueur ou second de plusieurs éditions du Scribble Jam, il avait été parrainé au début des années 2000 par le webzine Hip Hop Infinity de Jay Seagraves, et il avait sorti son premier album sur le label créé par ce qui était alors le média de référence de la scène rap indé. Seulement voilà, une décennie après, Scribble Jam, Jay Seagraves et Hip Hop Infinity sont des noms qui ne disent plus grand-chose à grand monde. Et, après un bref passage chez Rhymesayers, le temps de l'album 11:11, ce rappeur blanc de Kansas City n'était plus franchement d'actualité.

MAC LETHAL - Irish Goodbye

Black Clover Records :: 2011 :: acheter ce disque

Et pourtant, contre toute attente, s'appuyant sur les ressources de Tumblr et de Youtube, il a ressurgi vers 2011, via une vidéo qui le mettait en scène, cuisinant des pancakes tout en rappant à toute allure. Cet épisode cocasse engendra l'un de ces buzz mondiaux invraisemblables dont Internet a le secret. Avec étonnement, on le vit même apparaître à la télévision française. Et on s'aperçut alors que David McCleary Sheldon, de son vrai nom, n'avait en fait jamais abandonné sa carrière de rappeur. Comme tant d'autres de ses collègues, qui ont manqué comme lui leur rendez-vous avec la célébrité, il a continué à sortir des mixtapes à tire-larigot, voire de vrais disques sur sa propre structure, Black Clover Records.

Sorti le 31 décembre 2011, Irish Goodbye est apparu immédiatement après la vidéo aux pancakes. Et, manifestement, Mac Lethal cherchait avec ce disque à capitaliser sur sa nouvelle notoriété. Le titre sonnait comme une démission, cet "au revoir irlandais" étant le moment où un habitué quitte en catimini le pub et ses compagnons enivrés, comme l'auteur nous l'explique sur "No Miracle". Mais en fait, à bien écouter le contenu, c'était exactement tout le contraire.

C'est vrai, il y avait de l'amertume sur ce disque, notamment sur le titre introductif, cet enragé "The Parlour" où le rappeur, bileux, vidait son sac et revenait sur les ratés sa carrière, blâmant au passage des médias à la Pitchfork qui préfèrent s'exciter sur la trap music d'un Gucci Mane, plutôt que sur le rap plus intègre et authentique qu'est, à son sens, le sien. Le dégoût et la rancœur du perdant ne sont jamais loin sur cet album. Mais en même temps, grâce aux beats de Michael "Seven" Summers, collaborateur régulier du rappeur XV et du voisin de Kansas City, Tech N9ne, Irish Goodbye offrait des accroches et des mélodies qui indiquaient que notre homme, finalement, n'allait pas raccrocher si aisément.

L'album était rempli de titres au cœur léger, avec de jolis refrains à siffler sous la douche, comme sur "Morimoto (Just Duet)", "Aviator", "Wooooo!!!", "Every Night" et, moins mémorable, sur le faiblard "Happy to Be Living". Mac Lethal nous y disait que la vie était la meilleure des choses ou, tout simplement, qu'il était content d'être content. Les beats étaient du même bois, avenants, riches et chaleureux, des cordes de "Vodka Tonic With a Lime" aux voix féminines évaporées de "Black Rainbow" et de "Now Miracle". Loin de se cantonner au cynisme et à l'aigreur, Mac Lethal savait se positionner aussi en rappeur sage et sensible, faisant un point sur sa vie ("Quarter Life", "No Miracle"), décrivant les errances d'une Marie-couche-toi-là ("Slut"), ou revenant sur ses racines irlandaises, via l'histoire de ses grands-parents immigrés, accompagné de la musique folklorique idoine ("Jake + Olive").

Irish Goodbye, donc, aura été l'album grand public de Mac Lethal. Mais ce n'était pas pour autant le dernier Macklemore. Ici, peu de démagogie pour adolescents. La preuve, le succès international n'est toujours pas là pour cet homme, qui n'a de toute façon ni le physique ni le potentiel d'une rock star. Le disque montrait toutefois, aussi tardivement qu'en 2011, que ce pur produit du vieil indie rap de Blancs était toujours vivant voire, parfois, tout à fait pertinent et convaincant.

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 2011

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 2011. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet