Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

SCOTTY HARD - The Return of Kill Dog E

, 22:58 - Permalink

One of the key labels of the late 90's indie rap scene was WordSound, a team managed by Spectre, a.k.a. Skiz Fernando. Mixing their strange blend of hip-hop with jazz and dub, and sometimes some noise attempts, they would please all kinds of experimentalists, for example those of the English magazine Wire, which made this label its main supply source for weird hip-hop, and went as far as offering one of its covers to its most emblematic rapper, Sensational.

SCOTTY HARD - The Return of Kill Dog E

WordSound :: 1999 :: buy this record

The raving records of this crazy MC spoiled by too many drugs, however, are not necessarily WordSound's main attraction. Let's rather focus on the first album of Scott Harding, a.k.a. Scotty Hard, a Canadian producer who, according to his press record, had collaborated previously with Kool Keith, Cypress Hill, Boogie Down Productions and the Wu-Tang, no less, and beyond hip-hop, with Vernon Reid, Björk and the Jon Spencer Blues Explosion.

No surprise, then, to realize that this beatmaker's perimeter was wide. We could hear that with The Return of Kill Dog E, a record fully aligned with the shabby atmosphere of the underground rap scene of this time, but which also offered more. Even though this LP was built around a single concept, the story of Kill Dog E, a gangsta who turned into a serial killer, leaving only 3 dice and a Bic disposable razor on the scene of his murders, it was extremely diverse; disjointed, we could even say; uneven; patched together from bits and pieces, without any internal logic, as so many other records released by the same label.

Without warning, Scotty Hard walked us from a jazzy bass or a shaking guitar solo ("Lurkin in the Shadows", "Raw Nerves"), to spoken word declaimed by some hip-hop version of Tom Waits, with an accordion ("Days And Nights Of Wine And Roses"). Also, we could hear bits of dialog in Spanish ("Muchas Olas"), or Sebstop, the main MC on this record, shouting on "Spittin in the Eye of the World". And of course, Sensational guest appeared, the time for him to share some lunatic rhymes on "Pockets Fat", along with messy bells, synthetic sounds and heavy drums.

It was often a bit too obtuse; it left us dubious, skeptical, or even flabbergasted. A handful of tracks, however, were supporting the whole album. They even brought it far, very far. The hoarse declamations and the fractured bass of "Modus Operandi: 456", all built as if they would spill at any time, were impressive. And the more standard "Who Said (What?)" made an impact as well, with it melancholic piano loop.

But if the album, today, is still relevant, this is mostly due to one single reason, called Antipop Consortium. Two members of the group were present, out of three, and they contributed to the best two tracks. The well named "Dark Blocks", first, with just Sayyid ; and most of all, with the same plus High Priest, the sumptuous "Bubble in the Haze", with its slow, ethereal and magnificent beat. For this track only, Scotty Hard, Skiz Fernando and WordSound deserve our eternal gratitude.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

SCOTTY HARD - The Return of Kill Dog E

, 23:32 - Lien permanent

Parmi les labels importants de la scène hip-hop indé de la fin des années 90, il y eut WordSound, l'écurie dirigée par Spectre, alias Skiz Fernando. Mêlant leur hip-hop sombre et dérangé au jazz ou au dub, tentant à l'occasion des aventures bruitistes, les artistes maisons flattèrent les instincts des expérimentateurs et des élitistes de tous poils, par exemple ceux du magazine anglais Wire, qui fit durablement de ce label l'une de ses sources d'approvisionnement en rap bizarre, et qui offrit même une couverture à son rappeur emblématique, Sensational.

SCOTTY HARD - The Return of Kill Dog E

WordSound :: 1999 :: acheter cet album

Ce n'est pourtant pas les albums hallucinés de ce personnage allumé et détruit par les drogues qu'il faut nécessairement retenir de l'aventure WordSound. Non. Il faut peut-être se pencher plutôt sur ce premier disque de Scott Harding, ou Scotty Hard, un producteur d'origine canadienne qui, d'après son dossier de presse, avait collaboré avant avec Kool Keith, Cypress Hill, BDP, le Wu-Tang Clan et, bien au-delà du domaine du rap, Vernon Reid, Björk et le Jon Spencer Blues Explosion.

Le champ d'intervention de ce beatmaker était large, donc. Et cela s'entendait sur ce The Return of Kill Dog E en plein dans l'ambiance glauque du rap underground de l'époque. L'album avait beau être bâti autour d'un concept, l'histoire de Kill Dog E, un gangster devenu serial killer (laissant pour seuls indices sur les scènes de crime trois dés et un rasoir Bic), il était décousu et inégal. Fait de bric et de broc, sans vraie logique interne, comme tant d'autres disques issus du même label.

Sans crier gare, Scotty Hard nous baladait de solos de basse jazzy ou d'une guitare bringuebalante ("Lurkin in the Shadows", "Raw Nerves") à un spoken word entonné sur fond d'accordéon par une sorte de Tom Waits rap ("Days And Nights Of Wine And Roses"), puis à des bouts de dialogues en espagnol ("Muchas Olas"), ou encore aux braillements du rappeur Sebstop sur "Spittin in the Eye of the World". On y trouvait aussi bien sûr des vers dérangés de Sensational sur "Pockets Fat", ainsi qu'un fatras de clochettes, sons synthétiques et percussions lourdes.

C'était souvent obtus, ça laissait l'auditeur dubitatif, parfois même pantois. Une poignée de titres, cependant, portaient l'album. Les déclamations rauques, les cordes enlevés et les basses fracturées de "Modus Operandi: 456" par exemple, toutes assemblées comme si elles devaient s'écrouler, faisaient leur effet, ainsi qu'un "Who Said (What?)" plus standard avec sa boucle de piano mélancolique.

Mais si l'album est aujourd'hui toujours notable, c'est pour une raison principale, appelée Antipop Consortium. Deux membres du trio contribuaient ici à deux des meilleurs titres. Le ténébreux "Dark Blocks", tout d'abord, avec Sayyid ; et puis surtout, avec le même, mais renforcé par High Priest, un somptueux "Bubble in the Haze" servi sur une instru lente, éthérée et nimbée à souhait. Rien que pour ce titre, Scotty Hard, Skiz Fernando et WordSound ont mérité d'avoir existé un jour.

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 1999

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 1999. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet