DEVIN THE DUDE - Soulful Distance

What can Devin Copeland do, while locked-down during the COVID era? Well, smoke marijuana, of course. Relax and chill with his close ones, obviously. And record music. So pretty much the same as usual, more or less. Indeed, nothing new really transpires from these special times on his latest album. Except maybe in the first rhymes, where he says he can't wait for the pandemic to end, and with its title, through which the Houston rapper preconizes to practice some "soulful distance". This concept, actually, could easily summarize his entire production: on the fringe of rap music, but appealing, endearing, and quite touching. In one word: soulful.

DEVIN THE DUDE - Soulful Distance

Stuck at home, Devin is morose. He complains about the state of hip-hop on "To Each His Own". Keen on having a quiet family life, he is irritated by a jealous partner on "P.L.A.N.S.A". And on "Live and Let Live", he lectures young players, jointly with other Houston veterans, Slim Thug and Scarface. He reviews his life on "Discouraged", and he compares it to a long, tough, and thankless race. As a matter of fact, Devin the Dude is now in his fifties, so he raps like an old man. But he is of the cool weed-smoking kind, and this makes a difference. At times he has the blues. But nonetheless, he persists with his way of life. He spends time doing nothing, according to "Nothin’ Really Just Chillin’". Or having sex. Any kind of sex. Trivial sex on "My Left Nut Itch" and "Just Ridin’ By", romantic sex on "You Got No Time to Play" and the excellent "A Good Woman", or adultery sex on the suave "He Don’t Have to Know". And of course, he keeps on inhaling his substance of choice, with old pals like the Coughee Brothaz, on "We Smokin’".

Conceived with the help of Blyne Rob, like the previous one, this eleventh album delivers what we always liked with Devin the Dude: some warm music full of supple rhythms, generous organs, and languorous guitars. This is an ageless formula, that goes from boom bap to modern sounds, and it is always supported by a melodic and sweet voice. There's plenty of humor, as well. There's the prank call at the beginning of "My Left Nut Itch", when the rapper contacts his health insurance about an itching testicle. Or the storytelling on "BREAK-fast", when he says how perilous it is to go shopping in the ghetto. As always, this is entertaining, pleasant, and quite funny. It is, at the end of the day, some rap music for the sweethearts.

On Soulful Distance, the song, Devin says that he can't wait for the pandemic to end, and that he wants to hit the road again. He is not the only one, everyone is longing for this in 2021. But at least, with this new release, the Texan rapper delivers a solid remedy against boredom.

Buy this album

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • KODAK BLACK - Back For Everything KODAK BLACK - Back For Everything
  • MACH-HOMMY - Pray For Haiti MACH-HOMMY - Pray For Haiti
  • CASEY - Tragédie d'une Trajectoire CASEY - Tragédie d'une trajectoire
  • GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch
  • SAMEER AHMAD - Apaches SAMEER AHMAD - Apaches
  • EEKWOL & MILS - The List EEKWOL & MILS - The List
  • POLO G - Die a Legend POLO G - Die a Legend
  • AZJAH - Princess Diaries AZJAH - Princess Diaries

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

DEVIN THE DUDE - Soulful Distance

Que peut bien faire Devin Copeland en période de confinement ? Eh bien, fumer beaucoup de marijuana, naturellement. Se relaxer avec les siens, aussi. Et faire de la musique. Soit à peu près la même chose que d'habitude. Sur son dernier album, ne subsiste de cette expérience particulière que les premiers vers, où il dit attendre avec impatience la fin de la pandémie, ainsi que ce titre où, plutôt que la distanciation sociale, le rappeur de Houston préconise à tous une "soulful distance". Ce concept, en vérité, pourrait bien résumer toute sa musique : elle est à part, en marge des tendances, mais aussi attachante, émouvante, attendrissante. "Soulful".

DEVIN THE DUDE - Soulful Distance

Cloitré chez lui, le rappeur est morose. Il se lamente à propos de l'état du rap sur "To Each His Own". Soucieux d'avoir une vie de famille tranquille, il s'irrite de la jalousie de sa compagne sur "P.L.A.N.S.A". Et sur "Live and Let Live", il fait la leçon aux petits joueurs, en compagnie de deux autres vétérans de Houston, Slim Thug et Scarface. Il fait même un premier bilan de sa vie, la comparant à une course de fond rude et ingrate sur "Discouraged". Mine de rien, Devin the Dude est désormais quinquagénaire, et c'est donc bel et bien du rap de daron qu'il nous propose avec ce nouvel album. Mais du rap de daron cool qui fume de la weed. En contrepartie de ses moments de blues, le rappeur persiste avec son style de vie. Il passe du bon temps à ne pas faire grand-chose ("Nothin’ Really Just Chillin’"). Il s'adonne au sexe, de manière triviale ("My Left Nut Itch", "Just Ridin’ By"), romantique ("You Got No Time to Play", le très bon "A Good Woman") ou adultère (l'acoustique et le suave "He Don’t Have to Know"). Et bien sûr, il inhale sa substance préférée, avec ses vieux compères des Coughee Brothaz sur le titre "We Smokin’".

Cet onzième opus nous offre ce que nous avons toujours apprécié chez Devin the Dude : conçue avec l'aide de Blyne Rob, comme sur l'album précédent, une musique chaude emplie de rythmes souples, d'orgues généreuses et de guitares langoureuses. Une formule sans âge qui s'étend du boom bap à des sonorités plus modernes, accompagnée par une voix douce et par un rap chantonnant. Et le tout est agrémenté évidemment de touches d'humour, comme avec le gag téléphonique au début de "My Left Nut Itch", quand le rappeur appelle une assurance santé pour un problème de démangeaison au testicule, ou quand avec l'histoire de "BREAK-fast", il nous raconte combien il est périlleux de faire ses courses dans le ghetto. Comme toujours, c'est plaisant, c'est distrayant, c'est drôle. Et au fond, c'est du rap de gentil.

Sur "Soulful Distance", le titre, Devin the Dude exprime sa hâte que l'épidémie cesse, ainsi que son envie impérieuse de retrouver la route. Nous en sommes tous là, malheureusement. Mais avec cette nouvelle sortie du Texan, nous disposons en tout cas d'un solide remède à l'ennui.

Acheter cet album

Évaluer ce billet

5/5

  • Note : 5
  • Votes : 4
  • Plus haute : 5
  • Plus basse : 5

Vous pourriez aussi aimer...

  • BROCKHAMPTON - Roadrunner: New Light, New Machine BROCKHAMPTON - Roadrunner: New Light, New Machine
  • HUS KINGPIN – Portishus HUS KINGPIN - Portishus
  • POOH SHIESTY - Shiesty Season POOH SHIESTY - Shiesty Season
  • FRAYSER BOY - Bay Day EP FRAYSER BOY - Bay Day EP
  • YSR GRAMZ - Big Wop YSR GRAMZ - Big Wop
  • LEVEL - Jigga City Trigga City LEVEL - Jigga City Trigga City
  • DUKE DEUCE - Duke Nukem DUKE DEUCE - Duke Nukem
  • DRAKEO THE RULER - The Truth Hurts DRAKEO THE RULER - The Truth Hurts

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.