NADIA ROSE - Highly Flammable

Grime is a family affair. Nadia Rose, indeed, is a cousin of Stormzy. She grew up close to him, in Croydon, South London. Moreover, she is the daughter of a dancehall DJ and MC. Naturally, considering such a background, she started writing quite early, with enough talent to have songs buzzing, like her "Station" freestyle, or her appropriation of a DJ Mustard beat on "D.F.W.T". This resulted into a contract with Sony and, in 2017, into her Highly Flammable EP, a first official release heralded by the outstanding single "Skwod", and its well-thought video.

NADIA ROSE - Highly Flammable

That video was shot with a full bunch of ladies, since "Skwod" is about celebrating her friends. It is about having a good time among women, and it is irresistible. It is indisputably the highlight of that release, and it is setting its tone: only female rappers are to be heard on it, its only guests being ladies like Thai'Chi Rose and Alika. All over it, Nadia Rose asserts her femininity. She glorifies it on the "Puddy Cat" ego-trip, and on "Tight Up", a song about, well... tight skirts. She is also a dangerous and threatening woman on "Poltergeist" and "Murder". She claims to be a murderer, even though the only thing she is trying to kill, is actually her microphone. The Londoner, indeed, is full of playful creativity and brazen humor. Jointly with the electronic tones and the inventiveness of her music, that earned her flattering comparisons with Missy Elliott.

In the introduction, Nadia Rose alludes to the death of her grandmother, but this is misleading. Her music, indeed, is neither sentimental, nor vulnerable. Quite the opposite: it is all about proving her verbal dexterity. This is a deluge of words, a waterfall of punchlines, delivered rapidly, with a quick flow and a thick dancehall influence, expectedly considering her roots. This inspiration is particularly visible on "U Know What", and on the Red Rat-sampled "Tight Up". The rapper extends the metaphor in the title, she is flammable. She is incendiary, she is an arsonist. Being on fire is one of her themes, like with "2H2H" ("Too Hot to Handle"). There, "Poltergeist" is the one and only track slowing down the fast pace of this well-rounded release.

Buy this album

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch
  • AZJAH - Princess Diaries AZJAH - Princess Diaries
  • LIL DEBBIE - Debbie, avr. 2020 LIL DEBBIE - Debbie
  • KATE TEMPEST - Let Them Eat Chaos KATE TEMPEST - Let Them Eat Chaos
  • LEIKELI47 - Acrylic LEIKELI47 - Acrylic
  • ASIAN DOLL - Drippin' in Glo ASIAN DOLL - Drippin' in Glo
  • CARDI B - Invasion of Privacy CARDI B - Invasion of Privacy
  • RAPSODY - Laila’s Wisdom RAPSODY - Laila’s Wisdom

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

NADIA ROSE - Highly Flammable

, 23:11 - Lien permanent

Le grime est parfois une affaire de famille. Nadia Rose, par exemple, est la cousine de Stormzy. Elle a grandi à deux pas de chez lui à Croydon, dans le Sud du Grand Londres. Elle est aussi la fille d'un DJ et MC de dancehall. Logiquement, donc, à l'âge de 13 ans, elle s'est mise elle-même à l'écriture, avec assez de talent et de suite dans les idées pour que certains de ses morceaux, son freestyle sur "Station", ou son appropriation réussie d'un beat de DJ Mustard sur "D.F.W.T", fassent monter la sauce et attirent l'attention de l'industrie du disque. Tout cela s'est soldé par un contrat chez Sony, et en 2017 par un projet officiel, un EP intitulé Highly Flammable, porté par l'excellent single "Skwod", et par une vidéo très chorégraphiée, tournée dans la rue avec une ribambelle d'autres demoiselles.

NADIA ROSE - Highly Flammable

Relentless Records ‎:: 2017 :: acheter cet album

"Skwod" célèbre l'escouade de copines qui entourent Nadia Rose, il rend hommage au bon temps passé entre filles, et il est irrésistible. Il est incontestablement le plat de résistance de cette sortie. Placé au début, il en donne aussi le ton. La rappeuse joint en effet le geste à la parole, en n'invitant exclusivement que des représentantes du beau sexe, Thai'Chi Rose et Alika. Tout du long, elle joue de son identité féminine, elle l'exalte même comme sur l'égo-trip "Puddy Cat", ou ce "Tight Up" où il est question de jupe serrée. Elle joue à la femme dangereuse et menaçante sur "Polterggeist" et "Murder", même si quand elle dit être une tueuse, elle parle avant tout de sa maîtrise du micro. Et surtout, elle fait preuve de la créativité ludique et de l'humour effronté qui, joints à la tonalité électronique et à l'inventivité de sa musique, lui ont valu de flatteuses comparaisons à Missy Elliott.

L'introduction, où Nadia Rose évoque la mort de sa grand-mère, est trompeuse. Sa musique, en effet, n'a rien de sentimental ni de vulnérable. Au contraire, elle est une démonstration d'adresse verbale. Elle est un torrent de jeux de mots, une cascade de punchlines, qui s'écoule sur un tempo soutenu, avec un phrasé rapide et sous une forte influence dancehall (ascendance oblige), particulièrement visible sur "U Know What", et sur ce "Tight Up" qui sample Red Rat. La Londonienne file la métaphore annoncée dans le titre, elle se montre enflammée, elle joue plusieurs fois avec le thème du feu, comme sur "2H2H" ("Too Hot To Handle"). Ici, seul "Poltergeist" modère l'allure rapide de cette sortie courte mais rondement menée.

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet