STEFFLON DON - Real Ting

Stefflon Don was the woman quota in the last Freshmen. Though she has the particularity of not being American – she is a Brit who grew up in the Netherlands – this choice is not a total surprise. Stephanie Allen, indeed, has been making her way for a while, in the hip-hop world. She even integrated the influent Quality Control Music stable (Migos, Lil Yachty, etc.) last year. Having collaborated with French Montana and Future, as well as, more expectedly, with Skepta, she is a representative of the growing convergence between the US and UK scenes. Though she is English, her posture is the same as most female rappers, on the other side of the ocean: she is a sexy doll and a dominatrix. The cover art of her new mixtape, Secure, which copies Lil' Kim's The Notorious K.I.M., shows clearly that her main influences come from America.

STEFFLON DON - Real Ting

Real Ting is an older mixtape from Stefflon Don, and her only significant release before that new one planned for the summer. It was recorded in 2016, just after she had surfaced, thanks to her remixes of songs from Rae Sremmurd and her fellow countrymen the Section Boyz, and her collaboration with Jeremih on Late Nights: Europe. As soon as with this first mixtape, the posture of this Englishwoman was clear. She would be some UK version of Nicki Minaj. She shared with her a certain haughtiness and style of rap, as well as low-necked and extravagant clothes, and solid caribean roots. Stefflon Don developed her strong woman character on the most American of her songs, like "Real Ting", where she took control over men, soliciting them per her desires, either for sexual satisfaction, or to wash her dishes. She had a tough personality, as demonstrated on "Narcos", where she talked about commercing with drugs.

Her British identity, though, was visible on Real Ting. She had a few songs in the grime genre, like the strong "Forever". She also had guests with a strong English accent, and even a few words from a Margaret Thatcher interview, on "Lik Down". Also, as usual in the UK, the Jamaican influence was obvious. The rapper's family, actually, was from there, and a large part of the mixtape had reggae or dancehall sounds. "Tight Nooki", for example, was built on the same pattern as Chaka Demus & Pliers' "Murder She Wrote". The hook on "Dem Neva Warn Ya" had the same influence, as well as "Envy Us", a love song with Abra Cadabra, and "16 Shots", a banger where a threatening Stefflon Don menaced anyone considering to harm her mother.

Those were the most satisfying parts of the mixtape. When Stephanie forgot about her generic US rap songs, she was at her best. When she didn't try to win on all fronts, and when she didn't record cliché tracks like "Family Ties" - where she and her brother Dutch delivered an homage to her family - she was really convincing. It was on her dancehall moments, with her big voice and her big mouth, that the Englishwoman was the best at playing her intimidating persona.

Buy this mixtape

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love
  • KASH DOLL - Brat Mail KASH DOLL - Brat Mail
  • QUEEN KEY - Your Highness QUEEN KEY - Your Highness
  • RICO NASTY - Nasty RICO NASTY - Nasty
  • OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless
  • KATIE GOT BANDZ - Bandz and Hittaz KATIE GOT BANDZ - Bandz and Hittaz
  • IGGY AZALEA - Ignorant Art IGGY AZALEA - Ignorant Art

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

STEFFLON DON - Real Ting

Le quota féminin de la dernière fournée des Freshmen aura donc été représenté par Stefflon Don. Même si elle a la particularité d'être anglaise (et d'avoir grandi aux Pays-Bas), sa sélection n'aura pas été une surprise, car cela fait déjà plusieurs mois que Stephanie Allen se fraye un chemin dans le rap, et elle a rejoint l'influente écurie Quality Control Music (Migos, Lil Yachty, etc.) l'an passé. Ayant collaboré tout autant avec French Montana et Future qu'avec Skepta, la Londonienne est représentative de la convergence croissante entre les raps américains et anglais. Car si elle est britannique, elle embrasse pleinement le modèle de la créature sexy et dominatrice qui sévit depuis longtemps Outre-Atlantique. La pochette de sa prochaine mixtape, Secure, le démontre, en recyclant celle de The Notorious K.I.M, l'album de Lil' Kim.

STEFFLON DON - Real Ting

Real Ting, une autre mixtape, a été son seul projet long format avant celui de cet été. Il est apparu fin 2016, après que Stefflon Don ait commencé à se faire un nom, dans son pays tout d'abord, par des remix de Rae Sremmurd et par celui du "Lock Arff" de ses compatriotes de Section Boyz, puis aux Etats-Unis, par une collaboration avec le chanteur R&B Jeremih sur son projet Late Nights: Europe. D'ores et déjà, cette première mixtape imposait la posture privilégiée par l'Anglaise. Celle, très américaine, d'une Nicki Minaj, à laquelle Stefflon Don a été comparée du fait de son inébranlable morgue, de ses vêtements échancrés et extravagants, de son style de rap, et de ses racines (et influences) caribéennes. Son personnage de femme forte et insolente, Stefflon Don le travaillait sur les plus américains de ses titres, comme "Real Ting", où elle prenait le contrôle d'hommes-objets, où elle les convoquait à sa convenance, une fois pour satisfaire ses besoins sexuels, une autre pour faire la vaisselle. Et c'était encore la même personnalité, rude, qu'elle exposait quand elle traitait du commerce de la drogue sur "Narcos".

Mais Real Ting nous rappelait aussi que Stefflon Don était anglaise, avec l'accent britannique prononcé de ses invités, quelques titres grime comme le très bon "Forever", et même l'extrait d'une interview de Margaret Thatcher, sur "Lik Down". Et puis, comme souvent de l'autre côté de la Manche, l'influence de la Jamaïque, d'où était originaire la famille de la rappeuse, était particulièrement présente. Une bonne partie de la mixtape se consacrait au reggae et au dancehall : "Tight Nooki", construit sur le même rythme que le "Murder She Wrote" de Chaka Demus & Pliers, mais aussi le refrain de "Dem Neva Warn Ya", "Envy Us", une chanson d'amour sautillante en duo avec le jeune rappeur Abra Cadabra, ou encore l'efficace "16 Shots", où Stefflon Don menaçait avec conviction quiconque aurait voulu s'en prendre à sa mère.

Et c'était souvent là que se trouvaient les passages les plus satisfaisants de la mixtape, quand elle abandonnait ses morceaux rap génériques, quand elle cessait de vouloir gagner sur tous les tableaux, quand elle ne s'égarait pas dans des passages obligés, comme l'hommage à sa famille de "Family Ties", avec son frère Dutch. C'était là, sur ces titres dancehall, en prenant la grosse voix, que l'Anglaise incarnait le mieux son personnage de maîtresse femme intimidante.

Télécharger cette mixtape

Vos 10 albums rap 2010-19

Désignez vos 10 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de la décennie 2010-19. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, et la sélection de Fake For Real en parallèle.

Album #01

Album #02

Album #03

Album #04

Album #05

Album #06

Album #07

Album #08

Album #09

Album #10

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Vous pourriez aussi aimer...

  • NÜK - Red Tape NUK X JOSE THE PLUG - Red Tape
  • POP SMOKE - Meet the Woo POP SMOKE - Meet the Woo
  • DIGGA D - Double Tap Diaries DIGGA D - Double Tap Diaries
  • LD - The Masked One LD - The Masked One
  • MERYL - Jour Avant Caviar MERYL - Jour Avant Caviar
  • WNC WHOP BEZZY - Addy World WNC WHOP BEZZY - Addy World
  • DUKE DEUCE - Memphis Massacre 2 DUKE DEUCE - Memphis Massacre 2
  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.