DEJ LOAF - Sell Sole

Released in 2012 and titled Just Do It, Deja Trimble's first mixtape was loyal to the backpacker tradition of Detroit. The young woman, who by then had a unisex style, was on the introspective side of hip-hop, and her beats had an undeniable boom bap flavor. As a result, she was fated to stay for a long time in the underground. Two or three years later, though, Dej Loaf – whose stage name came from her passion for loafers – was a Columbia Records signee, she rapped alongside her city's superstar, Eminem, on his Shady XV compilation, she earned a place in the 2015 promotion of XXL's Freshmen, and she toured with Nicki Minaj.

DEJ LOAF - Sell Sole

Self-released :: 2014 :: download this mixtape

The sudden promotion of the Detroit rapper had a reason: "Try Me". Such was named her defining song. Released in 2014, its success was amplified when Drake mentioned it on Instagram. On it, the frail and young lady had changed her attitude: she had become aggressive. She talked about guns, money and cocaine, and assaulting her enemies - or more exactly, turning them to some macaroni. She also shared her passion for alcohol, and she called boys "bitches" or "hoes". Also, she used a simple and heady melody, a bit like her drill music colleagues in Chicago, though she declaimed her lyrics more slowly, and on moodier sounds.

Released a few months later, Sell Sole didn't capitalize too much on that single, which was relegated to its end, in a remixed version with Remy Ma and Ty Dolla $ign. That mixtape, however, consecrated the new Deja. That one was programed for success. She collaborated with Birdman and Young Thug, on a track making allegiance to gang life – to the Bloods, more exactly. As soon as with the intense "Bird Call", Dej Loaf was an angry mobster. With "On My Own", another highlight on Sell Sole, she pretended she was her own creature. On "Grinding", she showed a hunger for success. On "Easy Love", she took full ownership of her sexuality, saying bluntly to her partner "open up your mouth, put this pussy on your face".

However, like with "Try Me", her ruthlessness was counterbalanced by some contemplative music. Dej Loaf even turned R&B on "Never", another track about her ambition, as well as with "Me U & Hennessy", about a threesome with her, her boyfriend and alcohol. And sometimes, she turned intimate again, like with "I Got It", a long grievance about the deaths of her cousin and her grandmother. On Sell Sole, at the end of day, both Def Loafs were present: the ghetto chick whose father had been killed, and whose family was for a large part imprisoned; and the shy girl who, a while ago, had escaped the harsh realities of life through her diary.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love
  • KASH DOLL - Brat Mail KASH DOLL - Brat Mail
  • QUEEN KEY - Your Highness QUEEN KEY - Your Highness
  • RICO NASTY - Nasty RICO NASTY - Nasty
  • OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless
  • STEFFLON DON - Real Ting STEFFLON DON - Real Ting
  • KATIE GOT BANDZ - Bandz and Hittaz KATIE GOT BANDZ - Bandz and Hittaz

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

DEJ LOAF - Sell Sole

, 23:11 - Lien permanent

Sortie en 2012 et intitulée Just Do It, la première mixtape de Deja Trimble était fidèle à la tradition backpacker de la ville de Detroit. La jeune femme, qui adoptait alors un look unisexe, s'y montrait introspective et ses sons avaient un héritage boom bap. En conséquence, elle semblait condamnée à demeurer longtemps dans l'underground. Pourtant, deux ou trois années plus tard, Dej Loaf (ce pseudonyme lui viendrait de son goût pour les mocassins, "loafers" en anglais), était signée sur la major Columbia, elle rappait auprès de la grande star de sa ville, Eminem, sur la compilation Shady XV, elle gagnait sa place dans la promotion 2015 des Freshmen du magazine XXL et elle faisait la première partie d'une tournée de Nicki Minaj.

DEJ LOAF - Sell Sole

Autoproduit :: 2014 :: télécharger cette mixtape

Cette soudaine promotion de la rappeuse de Detroit s'explique par deux mots : "Try Me". Ceux-ci sont le titre du single qui l'a révélée en 2014, à la suite d'un succès viral amplifié par la citation qu'en a fait Drake sur son compte Instagram. Sur ce morceau, cette jeune femme chétive changeait d'attitude : elle se faisait agressive, nous parlant de flingues, d'argent, de cocaïne et d'abattre ses ennemis (ou plus exactement, de les transformer en macaronis). Elle partageait aussi son goût pour l'alcool et traitait les garçons de putes. Elle le faisait d'un rap entêtant et chantonné, pas très éloigné de la drill music de la ville proche de Chicago, quoi que déclamé sur un rythme plus lent et accompagné de sons plus atmosphériques.

Sorti quelques mois après, Sell Sole n'insistait pas outre-mesure sur ce single : il n'était présent qu'en toute fin, dans une version remixée avec la participation de Remy Ma et de Ty Dolla $ign. Néanmoins, cette mixtape consacrait l'apparition de la nouvelle Deja, celle qui, programmée pour le succès, collaborait désormais avec Birdman et Young Thug, sur un titre qui faisait allégeance à la vie des gangs (celui des blood, en l'occurrence). D'emblée, dès le prenant "Bird Call", c'était Dej Loaf la gangster pas commode qui se présentait à nous. C'était celle qui prétendait s'être faite toute seule, sur "On My Own", un autre temps fort de cette sortie ; celle qui, sur "Grinding", déclarait vouloir réussir à tout prix ; celle qui, sur "Easy Love", prenait pleine possession de sa sexualité le temps d'un "open up your mouth, put this pussy on your face" (ouvre ta bouche, pose cette chatte sur ta figure).

Mais comme avec "Try Me", cette rudesse était contrebalancée par la musique, parfois constituée de nappes, souvent contemplative. Dej Loaf flirtait même avec le R&B sur un "Never" qui exprimait la même ambition que "Grinding", et sur "Me U & Hennessy", une torride histoire d'amour à trois entre elle, son amant et l'alcool. Et elle renouait parfois avec la confession, comme avec "I Got It", une longue réflexion entamée par le deuil de son cousin et de sa grand-mère. Sur Sell Sole en fait, nous entendions les deux Dej Loaf : la gamine du ghetto dont le père avait été assassiné et dont une partie de la famille avait connu la prison, et la petite fille timide qui s'était réfugiée autrefois dans l'écriture de son journal intime.

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet