CARDI B - Gangsta Bitch Music Vol. 2

Her name has buzzed for a few years, already. Gradually, indeed, the terrain has been carefully prepared to the next big thing in female rap, a status reserved to Belcalis Almanzar. This was confirmed in the last few months, and it is quite spectacular: in 2017, with her single "Bodak Yellow", Cardi B is the first female rapper to have a number 1 in the US since… Lauryn Hill, twenty years ago! And that's not all. Other hits followed, like "No Limit", "MotorSport", and "Bartier Cardi". Last not least, her album Invasion of Privacy is both a commercial and a critical triumph. And now, the Bronx rapper has reached Nicki Minaj at the very top of US hip-hop.

CARDI B - Gangsta Bitch Music Vol. 2

And though, something has changed, in the way she reached her success. We moved to a new era. Nicki Minaj, originally, had been a true rapper. She earned respect through a series of mixtapes, and thanks to her verbal dexterity. She eventually expanded her scope, but only once she had secured that. Cardi B, though, went the opposite way. She didn't start as a rapper, but as a stripper. She didn't build her fanbase through her skills, but with social networks like Vine and Instagram. And then she participated to Love & Hip Hop: New York, a reality TV program on VH1. Her rap career, she built it after the fact, leveraging her background to strengthen her street credibility: she reminded people that, when a teenager, she was affiliated to the Bloods. Also strip clubs, with female rappers, are a bit like drug dealing for males: the key initiation rite.

Eventually, in 2016 and 2017, Cardi B strengthened her reputation as a rapper through a couple of mixtapes. Both titled Gangsta Bitch Music, they were already worth the Invasion of Privacy album to come. In the second installment, it was clear that she wanted to be seen as a credible rapper. Such was the purpose of the first track. On "Bronx Season", indeed, she promised to make it, whatever skeptics and badmouths thought about her. She already celebrated her success on "Lick", where she exulted about her victory over poverty, and her ability to spend money. She praised her ambition and perseverance on "Never Give Up". And quite often, her appetite turned into aggressive raps, like with "Pull Up", "Pop Off", and the outstanding "Leave That Bitch Alone", where she played a jealous and revengeful lover.

To get what she wanted, Cardi B optimized her chances. Instead of going the risky way, she appropriated the recipes of today's rap. Her style, essentially, is to file under trap music, the dominant genre in the 2010's. There is a bit of variation, though, like with the New-York sounding "Bronx Season", Migos-like vocal tricks on "Lick" (an alternate version exists with Offset), the atmospheric ambiances of " Hectic", a bit of pop and R&B with Josh X, on "Never Give Up", and an allusion to her Caribbean roots (she is of Dominican and Trinidadian origin) with the dancehall "Back It Up", featuring the Jamaicans Konshens and HoodCelebrityy.

Her character as a sensual but strong and possessive woman, also belongs to a well-established tradition. Her ex-stripper persona, prone at exalting her carnal pleasure and controlling her own sexuality, like on the melodic and very strong "Rollin'", belongs to the long line started by Lil' Kim. Her success, but also the humoristic nature of her raps, mark the final acceptance of a popular model in rap music: the sassy, and nonetheless feminist, young lady.

Cardi B, nowadays, is a symbol. She is more than a rapper. She is a new feminine icon, a status she leveraged when, answering Remy Ma's invitation, she joined her, The Lady of Rage, MC Lyte, Young M.A, Monie Love, Lil' Kim and Queen Latifah, to deliver the latter's feminist anthem, "U.N.I.T.Y.". Due to her journey, due to her ascension from the creepy world of strip clubs to fame, she is nowadays a perfect incarnation of the American Dream. Since she is Offset's companion, because of his unfaithfulness and her pregnancy, and the general interest of the media for her life, she is socialite. Last but not least, she is a businesswoman, whose name is associated to various brands. Cardi B is larger than rap music. But she earned her place in it.

Buy this mixtape

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer
  • HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love
  • KASH DOLL - Brat Mail KASH DOLL - Brat Mail
  • MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World
  • QUEEN KEY - Your Highness QUEEN KEY - Your Highness
  • RICO NASTY - Nasty RICO NASTY - Nasty
  • OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

CARDI B - Gangsta Bitch Music Vol. 2

Depuis quelques années déjà, son nom bruissait à nos oreilles. Peu à peu, en effet, il semble qu'on ait préparé le terrain au next big thing du rap féminin, et que ce titre ait été dévolu à Belcalis Almanzar. La confirmation est venue ces tout derniers mois, et elle a été spectaculaire : en 2017, avec "Bodak Yellow", Cardi B a été la première rappeuse à décrocher en solo un single numéro 1 aux Etats-Unis, depuis… Lauryn Hill, vingt ans plus tôt ! Et ce n'est pas tout. D'autres tubes ont suivi, "No Limit", "MotorSport", "Bartier Cardi". Et puis enfin, en 2018, son album Invasion of Privacy connaît un triomphe total, tant du point de vue critique que commercial. Bref, la rappeuse du Bronx a désormais rejoint Nicki Minaj au firmament du rap américain.

CARDI B - Gangsta Bitch Music Vol. 2

Et pourtant, quelque chose a bougé dans la façon avec laquelle elle a construit sa notoriété. Nous avons changé d'époque. Si Nicki Minaj avait d'abord été une rappeuse, si, en premier lieu, elle s'était fait connaître par ses mixtapes et pour son agilité verbale avant d'étendre son horizon à d'autres champs, Cardi B a suivi le chemin inverse. Elle a été, pour commencer, une strip-teaseuse. Et c'est forte de cette expérience qu'elle s'est construit un public, tout d'abord sur les réseaux sociaux Vine et Instagram, puis par la téléréalité, en participant à l'émission de VH1, Love & Hip Hop: New York. Son image de rappeuse, elle l'a bâtie a posteriori. Pour cela, elle a pu s'appuyer en partie sur sa street credibility (adolescente, elle a fait partie des Bloods ; et les strip clubs pour les rappeuses, c'est un peu comme le deal de drogue pour les rappeurs : l'épreuve initiative par excellence). Enfin, en 2016 et 2017, elle a fait ses preuves sur mixtapes.

Nommées toutes deux Gangsta Bitch Music, elles valent autant le coup d'oeil que Invasion of Privacy. Sur le second volume, notamment, il était évident que Cardi B cherchait à gagner ses galons de rappeuse. C'était le propos du tout premier titre, un "Bronx Season" où elle promettait de parvenir à ses fins, contre les sceptiques et les médisants. Elle célébrait déjà son succès sur le titre "Lick", où elle jubilait d'avoir vaincu la pauvreté et de pouvoir claquer tout son fric. Elle invitait à l'ambition et à la persévérance sur "Never Give Up". Et souvent, elle manifestait sa verve et son envie par un rap agressif, comme sur "Pull Up", "Pop Off", et sur le très bon "Leave That Bitch Alone", où elle se présentait en amante jalouse et vengeresse.

Pour parvenir à ses fins, Cardi B a mis toutes les chances de son côté. Plutôt que d'opter pour la prise de risque et pour l'originalité, elle s'est appropriée pleinement les formules du rap d'aujourd'hui. Sa musique, pour l'essentiel, est à classer dans la trap music, le sous-genre dominant des années 2010. Elle le décline comme il convient, recourant sur "Bronx Season" à des sonorités new-yorkaises, usant des mêmes artifices vocaux que Migos sur "Lick" (il en existe d'ailleurs une version avec Offset), choisissant des ambiances atmosphériques de saison sur "Hectic", fricotant avec la pop et le R&B avec le chant de Josh X, sur "Never Give Up", et faisant un clin d'œil à ses racines caribéennes (elle est d'origine dominicaine et caribéenne) sur le dancehall de "Back It Up", appuyée par le Jamaïcain Konshens et par HoodCelebrityy.

Ses allures de femme sensuelle, mais possessive, forte et possédée, s'inscrivent elles aussi dans une tradition bien établie. Son personnage sexy d'ancienne strip-teaseuse, mais aussi ses hymnes en faveur du plaisir féminin et du contrôle de sa sexualité, comme ici sur le mélodique et le très bon "Rollin'", ne sont que les avatars les plus récents de la lignée inaugurée par Lil' Kim. Son succès, mais aussi la forte teneur humoristique de ses raps, consacrent l'acceptation finale d'un modèle féminin, celui de la femme délurée, comme porte-drapeau du féminisme.

Car Cardi B, aujourd'hui, est un symbole. Elle est plus qu'une rappeuse. Son statut d'emblème féministe, elle en a usé quand, à l'invitation de Remy Ma, elle l'a rejointe sur scène avec The Lady of Rage, MC Lyte, Young M.A, Monie Love, Lil' Kim et Queen Latifah, pour reprendre l'hymne de cette dernière, "U.N.I.T.Y.". Du fait de son parcours, de son élévation du contexte glauque des strip clubs à son immense notoriété, elle est aussi l'incarnation contemporaine du Rêve Américain. Parce qu'elle est la compagne d’Offset, parce que les infidélités de ce dernier, puis la récente grossesse de la rappeuse, ont fait les choux gras de la presse, elle est également un people. Enfin, elle est aussi une business woman, dont le nom est associé à plusieurs marques. Bref, Cardi B est bien plus grande que le rap. Mais elle y a aussi toute sa place.

Acheter cette mixtape

Vos 10 albums rap 2010-19

Désignez vos 10 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de la décennie 2010-19. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, et la sélection de Fake For Real en parallèle.

Album #01

Album #02

Album #03

Album #04

Album #05

Album #06

Album #07

Album #08

Album #09

Album #10

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Vous pourriez aussi aimer...

  • NÜK - Red Tape NUK X JOSE THE PLUG - Red Tape
  • POP SMOKE - Meet the Woo POP SMOKE - Meet the Woo
  • DIGGA D - Double Tap Diaries DIGGA D - Double Tap Diaries
  • LD - The Masked One LD - The Masked One
  • MERYL - Jour Avant Caviar MERYL - Jour Avant Caviar
  • WNC WHOP BEZZY - Addy World WNC WHOP BEZZY - Addy World
  • DUKE DEUCE - Memphis Massacre 2 DUKE DEUCE - Memphis Massacre 2
  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.