GUCCI MANE - Writing on the Wall

What does Gucci Mane do, when leaving his cell? Well, naturally, he delivers a new mixtape. Actually, even when he is imprisoned, he does it, his friends making sure that the numerous songs he recorded before are largely distributed, so that the rapper remains in the headlines. The projects he releases when liberated, though, have a special flavor. They are a way to demonstrate that our guy is still relevant, that he is still fueled by a sacred fire, or to observe a potential evolution in his style. Such was the case with Writing on the Wall, in March 2009. That mixtape, indeed, launched a new era for the rapper, his best one maybe. As a matter of fact, across 2009 and 2010, he released some of his best projects, and reached a larger audience.

GUCCI MANE - Writing on the Wall

We can talk about the weaknesses of this release. They are expected, and accepted by any fan of Gucci Mane. Writing on the Wall, indeed, is too long, and some tracks are superfluous. And of course, DJ Holidays parasites the music every 30 seconds, when bellowing his "holiday season" motto, and delaying the start of the songs. But let's focus now on the strengths: these extraordinarily catchy and naïve melodies like "Hurry", "Going In", "First Day Out", "She Gotta Friend", and "We Got Dat", looking like they have been extracted from records for children or ancient video games ; or, on the opposite, the twirling synth pads like on "Wasted" ; and of course, this simple and mechanical rap, punctuated by the guy's "yeah" and "burr" adlibs.

The subject matters are equally unsurprising. There is actually just one. Gucci Mane, indeed, only cares about his jewelry. Sure, he also alludes to drugs, and to sex, here and there. But his main passions are his watches, and diamonds, and gold chains. He brags about them. He kisses them. He declares his love for them, on the introductive "Hurry". This is materialist rap at its most extreme, the kind that constantly says that, if it doesn't make money, it doesn't make sense. It is so absurd and over-the-top, with so many punchlines, that it is outstandingly funny.

Moreover, Gucci Mane had a few bangers in his back pocket, like "Wasted", with Plies, a "sex, drug & rap'n'roll" song that would be one of Gucci Mane's biggest successes - he would recycle it on his The State vs. Radric Davis album. Another one was the melodic "Game", with Kourtney Money and OJ Da Juiceman, that stands out on the mixtape with its sunny brasses and its reggae tone. "Girls Kissing Girls", about the rapper's lesbian fantasies, featuring Nicki Minaj, is another highlight, as well as "Perfect Diamonds", "Pussy Rehab", and their synthesizers.

Thanks to all of this, the recently freed rapper started a new fruitful phase with Writing on the Wall. Since he couldn't be ignored any longer, some argued that his style had improved, that he had a more complex and agile flow than before. Such evolutions, though, were very organic and barely perceptible. On the opposite, what we like with Guwop is his constancy. It is his successful way to use ad infinitum the same recipe, the same formula, and the same product, as those he already delivered as soon as in 2006, with his fundamental Chicken Talk mixtape.

Download this mixtape

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer
  • HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love
  • KASH DOLL - Brat Mail KASH DOLL - Brat Mail
  • MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World
  • QUEEN KEY - Your Highness QUEEN KEY - Your Highness
  • RICO NASTY - Nasty RICO NASTY - Nasty
  • OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

GUCCI MANE - Writing on the Wall

Que fait Gucci Mane dès qu'il sort de prison ? Eh bien, naturellement, il nous offre une nouvelle mixtape. Bon, à dire vrai, il en propose aussi quand il est incarcéré, ses amis s'employant à distribuer les tonnes de morceaux qu'il enregistre à tire-larigot, dans ses moments de liberté, pour s'assurer que le rappeur d'Atlanta reste toujours au coeur de l'actualité. Mais celles qu'il propose après ses périodes de réclusion ont une saveur spéciale. Elles permettent de vérifier si l'Homme Gucci est toujours animé du feu sacré, et si son style a évolué. Cela a été le cas, par exemple, de Writing on the Wall, en mars 2009. Cette mixtape, en effet, a inauguré une nouvelle phase pour le rappeur, la plus riche de sa carrière, celle où, dans les années 2009 et 2010 où il a sorti quelques-uns de ses meilleurs projets, et approché de près le succès public.

GUCCI MANE - Writing on the Wall

Passons vite sur les défauts de cette sortie. Ils sont attendus, et acceptés par tout fan de Gucci Mane : Writing on the Wall est trop longue, plusieurs de ses morceaux sont superflus, et elle est parasitée par les cris de DJ Holiday, qui beugle son insupportable "holiday season" toutes les 30 secondes, faisant subir un faux départ à plusieurs titres. Concentrons-nous plutôt sur l'essentiel, attardons-nous sur les points forts, qui sont eux aussi les mêmes que d'habitude : ces irrésistibles mélodies synthétiques et naïves, comme sorties d'un disque pour enfants ou d'un jeu vidéo préhistorique ("Hurry", "Going In", "First Day Out", "She Gotta Friend", "We Got Dat") ; ou au contraire, ces grandes nappes tournoyantes ("Wasted") ; et puis ce style de rap simple et mécanique, rythmé ici ou là par les "yeah" et les "burr" coutumiers du bonhomme.

Les thèmes de la mixtape sont eux aussi sans surprise. Ou plutôt, devrions-nous écrire, le thème unique de la mixtape. Ici, en effet, Gucci Mane ne parle que d'une seule chose : sa panoplie de bijoux. On l'entend les vanter, déclarer son amour pour eux, et même les embrasser sur l'introductif "Hurry". Seules des allusions aux stupéfiants et des considérations pornographiques, ça et là, le détournent de sa passion pour ses montres, ses diamants et ses chaînes en or. Il pousse le matérialisme à son extrême, déclarant sur "Game", comme tant d'autres rappeurs avec lui, que si ça ne fait pas de dollars, ça ne fait aucun sens. Il le fait tant, avec un tel goût pour la formule, un tel sens de l'absurde, que ça en est irrésistiblement drôle.

Et puis il y a les tubes, comme "Wasted" avec Plies, un single sex, drug & rap'n'roll, qui sera l'un des succès de Gucci Mane et qu'il recyclera sur son album The State vs. Radric Davis. Comme aussi le très mélodique "Game", avec Kourtney Money et OJ Da Juiceman, qui se distingue avec bonheur du reste de la mixtape, grâce à ses cuivres ensoleillés et à ses tons quasi reggae, tout autant que "Perfect Diamonds" et "Pussy Rehab" avec leurs nappes atmosphériques, et l'exposé par le rappeur de ses fantasmes lesbiens sur "Girls Kissing Girls", avec Nicki Minaj.

C'est grâce à cela que Gucci Mane réussissait son coup, et qu'il inaugurait avec Writing on the Wall une nouvelle période faste. Quelles que soient ses évolutions de style, comme ce flow estimé parfois plus complexe et plus agile qu'autrefois (des évolutions tellement progressives et organiques qu'elles en sont à peine perceptibles), ce qui a toujours fait aimer Guwop, c'est au contraire sa constance, cette manière de décliner à l'infini, comme pour un produit de série, mais avec succès, le registre inauguré dès la fondamentale mixtape Chicken Talk en 2006.

Télécharger cette mixtape

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Vous pourriez aussi aimer...

  • TITY BOI - Codeine Cowboy A 2 Chainz Collective TITY BOI - Codeine Cowboy: A 2 Chainz Collective
  • CONWAY - Reject 2 CONWAY THE MACHINE - Reject 2
  • YOUNGBOY NEVER BROKE AGAIN - 38 Baby YOUNGBOY NEVER BROKE AGAIN - 38 Baby
  • KODAK BLACK - Institution KODAK BLACK - Institution
  • 67 - In Skengs We Trust 67 - In Skengs We Trust
  • LIL WAYNE - The Dedication 2 LIL WAYNE - The Dedication 2
  • NÜK - Red Tape NUK X JOSE THE PLUG - Red Tape
  • POP SMOKE - Meet the Woo POP SMOKE - Meet the Woo

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.