Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music

To menu | To search

ELIGH - Poltergeist

, 23:14 - Permalink

In 2003, Eligh Nachowitz was not a newcomer. Any fan willing to explore deeper than hip-hop's most obvious faces already knew his remarkable As They Pass (1996) and Gas Dreams (1999) albums. This time, however, the rapper was ready to reach the upper level. Thanks to his group's – the Living Legends – growing reputation; thanks, also, to Poltergeist, a consistent, haunted, and poetic record, stronger than his previous releases.

ELIGH - Poltergeist

G&E Records :: 2003 :: buy this record

The key formula hadn't changed much. A man of many talents, Eligh was taking care of everything on the album, as usual. The lyrics, the beats, and the cover art – rather ugly, as always – were all his work. His sharp and particularly quick flow, dominated the record, except on the few occasions when others were supporting the rapper: some Living Legends fellows like Bicasso, Murs, The Grouch, PSC or Sunspot Jonz, another key player of California's underground, Abstract Rude, and the guy's own mother, Jo Wilkinson.

There was something more, though. From the smooth "Pattern Traps" to the fast "3 Minute Rip Down", with its electronic nuances, sophisticated beats, and delicate tracks, Poltergeist had a larger breadth and variety than its predecessors. Marked by Eligh's addictions to drugs and alcohol, this was also a dark and gloomy record, which also benefited from the additional musicality of some guitars, played by Robert Miranda and John O'Kennedy.

Sometimes, Eligh was dropping hits, like with "Ancient Grandfather", the melodic "The Mountain", and the well-named "Funk". But he was also able to play with emotions, with deep and quiet tracks like "M.I.C.helle", "To Angela The Last Love Song", "Meditation", or "A Poet Sits". Thanks to these, Poltergeist looked like the rapper's masterpiece, his opus magnus. His next release, however, Enigma, would be even better. It would take Eligh's formula to its logical conclusion, providing a richer kind of hip-hop, an even more mystical and musical one, just before serious drug issues spoiled the guy's creativity for a few years.

Rate this entry


  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

ELIGH - Poltergeist

En 2003, Eligh Nachowitz n'en était pas à son coup d'essai. Tout connaisseur de l'underground hip-hop avait déjà pu goûter à ses recommandables As They Pass (1996) et Gas Dreams (1999). Cette fois, pourtant, il avait les cartes en main pour passer à la vitesse supérieure. Grâce à la notoriété de son groupe, les Living Legends, auxquels la signature récente de Murs chez Def Jux apportait un supplément de publicité ; grâce aussi à ce remarquable Poltergeist, un disque solide, constant, habité et poétique, supérieur en tout point à ses prédécesseurs.

ELIGH - Poltergeist

G&E Records :: 2003 :: acheter cet album

La recette avait peu évolué. En parfait homme à tout faire, Eligh s’occupait de tout, comme toujours. Les paroles, les sons et la pochette (immonde, comme d'hab') étaient de lui. Son phrasé, affûté et rapide, dominait le disque. Tout juste quelques comparses des Living Legends (Bicasso, Murs, The Grouch, PSC, Sunspot), un autre acteur clé de l'underground californien, Abstract Rude, ainsi que sa propre mère, la chanteuse Jo Wilkinson, venaient-ils l’épauler ci ou là.

Il y avait pourtant un truc en plus. Du soyeux "Pattern Traps" au trépidant "3 Minute Rip Down", Poltergeist dévoilait, avec ses teintes électroniques, son refus de la routine des boucles, ses passages délicats ("A Poet Sits"), plus de diversité et plus d'ampleur qu'avant. Marqué par les addictions d'Eligh à la drogue et à l'alcool, c'était aussi un album plus noir, presque glauque, auquel John O'Kennedy et Robert Miranda, des guitaristes, apportaient parfois un supplément de musicalité.

Eligh s'y montrait capable d’aligner de vrais tubes, avec la suite formée par "Ancient Grandfather", le mélodique "The Mountain" et, avec Bicasso, le dansant et bien nommé "Funk". Ou au contraire, avec cette fin profonde et paisible, il se posait et jouait de la corde sensible ("M.I.C.helle", "To Angela The Last Love Song", "Meditation" et surtout "A Poet Sits"). Poltergeist semblait alors être la grande oeuvre du rappeur, son opus magnus. Le suivant, Enigma, lui serait pourtant supérieur encore. Il pousserait à son terme la logique, poursuivant l'évolution d'Eligh vers un rap toujours plus riche, mystique et musical, avant que ses sérieux problèmes de drogue n'entament sa créativité pour plusieurs années.

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Vous pourriez aussi aimer...

  • COOTIE - Welcome to the Trap COOTIE - Welcome to the Trap
  • Z MONEY - Back 2 the Blender Z MONEY - Back 2 the Blender
  • RAPPIN' 4-TAY - Don't Fight the Feelin' RAPPIN' 4-TAY - Don't Fight the Feelin'
  • KODAK BLACK - Back For Everything KODAK BLACK - Back For Everything
  • GUNPLAY - Off Safety DJ P-CUTTA & GUNPLAY - Off Safety
  • NUTSO THUGN - Apeface NUTSO THUGN - Apeface
  • BANDGANG BIGGS - Biggs Campaign BANDGANG BIGGS - Biggs Campaign
  • DEM FRANCHIZE BOYZ - On Top of Our Game DEM FRANCHIZE BOYZ - On Top of Our Game

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.