Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

HAND HELD ASPECTS - From Point A To H

, 22:41

Artistic success works like a lottery. Talent is one of its conditions, but it doesn’t weight much compared with random encounters which will allow such or such to be better exposed than others. And though patience and time help separating the wheat from the chaff, what can they do for grains scattered on the way? In other words, how many good records have never been celebrated by any? And when they have been celebrated, how many are forgotten because the media which praised them has disappeared itself? Thousands, without a doubt, and From Point A to H could be one of those.

HAND HELD ASPECTS - From Point A To H

Continue reading...

EIBOL - Interview

, 11:07

Until last year, Fingerprint Records was just a name for me, just a label I had heard of from one or two reviews here and there on the Internet. But one day, I contacted the manager of the label to tell him I had reviewed the latest Nobs album, and he proposed to send me his own solo album. Finally, I found myself with one of 2005’s nicest surprise between my hands and ears, a record named Karma Kingdom that was exactly what I was expecting from hip hop at this moment. Now, I guess there’s no use for me to tell you why I wanted to know more about this talented guy named Eibol.

EIBOL - Interview

Continue reading...

EIBOL - Karma Kingdom

, 22:28

You may not know EiboL (say it "eyeball"). This guy, though, has been active on the New York rap scene since the late 90's. With Losaka, StayInSane and Hippo, his colleagues from the Hand Held Aspects (H2A) collective, he recorded the remarkable From Point A to H. He is, moreover, the boss of Fingerprint Records, a label known for releasing Nobs' solid Workin' album last year, and he is one of the rapper's producers. Both men, also, belong to Neandertal Youth, a band which authored another remarkable underground record, Unearthed: The Early Years.

EIBOL - Karma Kingdom

Continue reading...

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

HAND HELD ASPECTS - From Point A To H

, 22:50

Le succès fonctionne comme une loterie. Le talent pèse finalement peu face au hasard des rencontres qui permettront à untel d'être mieux exposé que tel autre. Et si le temps fait son œuvre, s'il aide à rejeter l'ivraie de ce qui a marché autrefois, il ne retrouve pas toujours le bon grain qui s'est éparpillé en route. En d'autres mots, combien de bons disques n'ont-ils jamais été célébrés par quiconque ? Ou, quand ils l'ont été, combien sont retournés dans l'oubli, parce que les médias qui les avaient alors vantés ont eux-mêmes disparu ? Des milliers, sans doute, et From Point A to H pourrait bien être de ceux-là.

HAND HELD ASPECTS - From Point A To H

Lire la suite...

EIBOL - Interview

, 11:41

Fingerprint, jusqu’à l’an passé, c’est un label dont je n’avais que vaguement entendu parler, au détour d’une ou de deux chroniques aperçues sur le Web. Mais je n’avais jamais creusé. Jusqu’au jour où, informant le patron du label de ma chronique du dernier Nobs, il propose de m’adresser son premier album solo. C’est ainsi que je me suis retrouvé avec entre les mains et les oreilles la meilleure surprise de l’année 2005, un Karma Kingdom qui correspondait pile poil à ce que j’avais envie d’entendre en matière de hip hop. Inutile donc d’expliquer d’où est sortie mon idée d’en apprendre plus sur Eibol, son talentueux créateur.

Lire la suite...

EIBOL - Karma Kingdom

, 18:28

Vous ne connaissez sans doute pas EiboL (prononcer "eyeball"), pourtant, le bonhomme est actif sur la scène rap depuis la fin des années 90 et s’est déjà illustré sur disque, notamment sur le From Point A to H des Hand Held Aspects (H2A), un collectif dont les membres sont Losaka, StayInSane et Hippo. Pour aller vers des références légèrement (mais à peine) plus connues, précisons qu’Eibol est aussi le patron de Fingerprint, label basé près de New-York, et qu’il a sorti l’an dernier le très bon Workin’ de Nobs, dont il est également l’un des producteurs. Les deux hommes font d’ailleurs partie d’un autre groupe, Neandertal Youth, responsable d’un autre disque qui vaut le détour, Unearthed : The Early Years.

EIBOL - Karma Kingdom

Lire la suite...