Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

Tag - Astronautalis

Entries feed Comments feed

ASTRONAUTALIS - This Is Our Science

, 23:16

Though Astronautalis is a key player on the indie hip-hop scene - at least regarding the folk rap subgenre – none of his albums is flawless. The very first, You and Yer Good Ideas, was full of promises, with some great tracks like the admirable "Ocean Walk", but it was still a bit too green, too amateur. The next one, Mighty Ocean and Nine Dark Theaters, was the exact opposite; the production was so polished that it sounded almost too clean, too nice. And the one after, Pomegranate, was only partly convincing. In 2011, though, he reached a perfect balance with This Is Our Science, which he released on Fake Four Inc.

ASTRONAUTALIS - This Is Our Science

Continue reading...

ASTRONAUTALIS - Interview

, 22:19

"Astronautalis is definitely a rapper who sings the occasional chorus, as opposed to a singer who dabbles in rap". This is the much relevant way the Floridian guy is introduced in a review from the All Music Guide. This difference may seem subtle, but it is capital. This is the key explanation of the personal music our Floridian guy makes. In this interview, Andy Bothwell tells us how the white battle MC he is has become the author of one of this year’s best albums.

Continue reading...

ASTRONAUTALIS - The Mighty Ocean & Nine Dark Theaters

, 22:25

A small buzz has recently started around Andy Bothwell, a.k.a. Astronautalis, a new rapper who has been presented to the indie audience as a new hero for the intimist folk rap sub-genre, a common practice now. Even before its release, by the middle of 2006, The Mighty Ocean & Nine Dark Theaters started receiving praises. And, admittedly, the Floridian worked toroughly on this second album.

ASTRONAUTALIS - The Mighty Ocean & Nine Dark Theaters

Continue reading...

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

Mot-clé - Astronautalis

Fil des billets Fil des commentaires

ASTRONAUTALIS - This Is Our Science

, 23:24

Astronautalis a beau être un personnage important de la scène indie, tendance folk rap, on peine à lui trouver un album irréprochable. Le tout premier, You and Yer Good Ideas, avait été riche de promesses, avec des temps forts comme l'admirable "Ocean Walk", mais il sonnait encore jeune et amateur. Le second, Mighty Ocean and Nine Dark Theaters était tout à l'opposé, il bénéficiait d'une production soignée, mais il en était parfois presque trop propre, trop joli. Et le suivant, Pomegranate, n'était qu'à moitié convaincant. Cependant, sorti en 2011 chez Fake Four, This Is Our Science n'est pas loin de l'équilibre parfait.

ASTRONAUTALIS - This Is Our Science

Lire la suite...

ASTRONAUTALIS - Pomegranate

, 22:17

Par ici, on l'aime plutôt bien, Astronautalis. Avec Why?, Buck 65 et Ceschi Ramos, il est l'un de ceux qui réussissent le mieux le mélange entre indie rock, folk et rap. Parce qu’il reste quelque chose de son passé de battle MC dans son chanté / rappé, et qu'il sait faire preuve d’une virtuosité maîtrisée, il parvient à naviguer sans douleur et sans couture d'un style à l'autre, sans que cela ne jure jamais.

ASTRONAUTALIS - Pomegranate

Lire la suite...

ASTRONAUTALIS & BABEL FISHH - Split Series Part 2

, 21:25

Plus que jamais, XNDL et son label poursuivent leur action de prosélytes du rap indé en Europe, notamment avec ce récent split LP où sont mis en valeur l’irréprochable Astronautalis et le texan fou Babel Fishh.

Lire la suite...

ASTRONAUTALIS - Interview

, 23:32

"Astronautalis est un rappeur qui chante à l'occasion, pas un chanteur qui s'essaye au rap", à la Beck, affirme une critique très pertinente du All Music Guide. La nuance est subtile, mais elle est capitale. Elle explique pourquoi la musique du Floridien est si singulière. Dans cette interview, Andy Bothwell nous détaille comment un blanc-bec adepte de battle rap a changé un jour de formule pour sortir au final l’un des meilleurs albums de cette année.

ASTRONAUTALIS - Interview

Lire la suite...

ASTRONAUTALIS - The Mighty Ocean & Nine Dark Theaters

, 14:25

Cela faisait un moment qu’un petit buzz montait autour d’Andy Bothwell, alias Astronautalis, annoncé auprès du public indé comme le nouveau héros du folk rap intimiste devenu presque monnaie courante depuis le début des années 2000. Avant même sa sortie mi-2006, The Mighty Ocean & Nine Dark Theaters avait été précédé d’une rumeur favorable. Et il faut reconnaître que le Floridien a en effet très bien préparé les choses pour ce second album. Il l’a chiadé.

ASTRONAUTALIS - The Mighty Ocean & Nine Dark Theaters

Lire la suite...