GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch

According to a tacit hip-hop rule, it is impossible for two female rappers to coexist. For that reason, some had opposed La Chat to Gangsta Boo. However, none has ever stepped on the other's toes. While the latter was a member of Three 6 Mafia, the former was "only" an affiliate, though a very close one. And while Lola Mitchell sometimes used sexy postures when going solo, by the end of the 90's, Chastity Daniels had never been anything else than a thug, she was unilaterally hardcore. As a matter of fact, there hasn't been any conflict between these two.

GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch

Quite the opposite. The two ladies, indeed, had planned a joint project. That happened eventually, but quite late in time, in 2014. That record was titled Witch, both rappers impersonating a manipulative and maleficent enchantress, quite appropriately in the horrific universe set twenty years earlier by the Three 6 Mafia. They deployed that comparison as soon as with the first track, "Witch Brew", in a sepulchral atmosphere, and with the help of Canadian singer Fefe Dobson. And afterwards, proudly and bombastically, the two women explained how they exploited men, and bragged about their unsentimental ways to have sex: "I don't want relationships, right now I am only fucking you", did they pretend on "Sum 2 Do". Of course, they were also obsessed with money, and they got high with drugs. And they assaulted their peers, women who, contrary to them, had not attitude, no pride, and no inclination to violence.

Produced by Drumma Boy and a couple of others, Witch might have been a minor album, but it was addictive. Both sorcerers were experts in alchemy. Their two voices, one neat and the other raspy, were complementary, on catchy songs like "Till the Day" and the threatening "Sweet Robbery", and on a few others featuring guests: the drug, sex and savagery fury on "On That", with Lil Wyte, and to a lesser extent "B!tchy", the single that heralded the album (though absent from it), and rallied the three greatest ladies of the South with the addition of Mia X.

The last track on Witch, where both women celebrated their comradery, was also one of the most remarkable. "Thelma & Louise", such was the name. It refered to the movie, of course, but also, maybe, to the album Lil' Kim and Foxy Brown had been planning to record together before getting into their catfight. At the end of the day, what the two New-Yorkers had failed to achieve, the two greatest female rappers from Memphis had delivered it, and with panache.

Buy this album

Rate this entry

5/5

  • Note: 5
  • Votes: 1
  • Higher: 5
  • Lower: 5

You may also like

  • AZJAH - Princess Diaries AZJAH - Princess Diaries
  • LIL DEBBIE - Debbie, avr. 2020 LIL DEBBIE - Debbie
  • KATE TEMPEST - Let Them Eat Chaos KATE TEMPEST - Let Them Eat Chaos
  • NADIA ROSE - Highly Flammable NADIA ROSE - Highly Flammable
  • LEIKELI47 - Acrylic LEIKELI47 - Acrylic
  • ASIAN DOLL - Drippin' in Glo ASIAN DOLL - Drippin' in Glo
  • CARDI B - Invasion of Privacy CARDI B - Invasion of Privacy
  • RAPSODY - Laila’s Wisdom RAPSODY - Laila’s Wisdom

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch

Comme le veut une règle tacite en matière de hip-hop féminin, celle selon laquelle deux rappeuses ne peuvent coexister, on a parfois opposé La Chat à Gangsta Boo. Elles n'ont pourtant jamais vraiment marché sur les mêmes plates-bandes. Alors que la seconde a fait partie de Three 6 Mafia, la première n'aura été qu'une affiliée (certes très proche de la bande). Alors que Lola Mitchell a parfois joué de la carte sexy de mise à l'époque où elle a émergé, à la fin des années 90, Chastity Daniels, elle, n'a jamais été qu'une furie et une sauvageonne, encore plus unilatéralement hardcore que l'autre. Par ailleurs, elles n'ont jamais été en conflit.

GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch

Au contraire, les deux dames ont longtemps envisagé de sortir un projet commun. Celui vit finalement le jour en 2014, et il prit le nom qui leur convenait le mieux : celui de la sorcière, celui de l'enchanteresse manipulatrice et maléfique, tout à fait à sa place dans l'univers infernal mis en scène vingt ans plus tôt par la Three 6 Mafia. Cette comparaison, elles l'ont travaillée d'entrée sur le titre "Witch Brew", dans l'ambiance sépulcrale de circonstance, avec l'assistance de la chanteuse canadienne Fefe Dobson. Ensuite, les mentons relevés, elles nous ont expliqué comment tirer profit des hommes et elles ont exalté le sexe sans sentiment ("I don't want relationships, right now I am only fucking you" disaient-elles sur "Sum 2 Do"). Elles se sont montré fascinées par l'argent et défoncées à la drogue. Et elles s'en sont prises à leurs paires, ces femmes qui n'ont ni leur attitude, ni leur fierté, ni leur promptitude à la violence.

Produit par Drumma Boy et par une poignée d'autres, Witch est de ces albums mineurs auxquels on prend plaisir à revenir. Car l'alchimie fonctionne, entre la voix claire de l'une, et celle, abimée, de l'autre. C'est patent sur des morceaux relevés et pleins d'entrain comme "Till the Day" et le menaçant "Sweet Robbery", et même quand Gangsta et La Chat invitent d'autres intervenants : sur le déferlement de drogue, de sexe et de sauvagerie de "On That", avec Lil Wyte, ou, dans une moindre mesure, sur ce "B!tchy" qui annonça l'album (bien qu'il n'y figure pas). Ici, avec l'ajout de Mia X, étaient réunies les trois grandes dames du rap du Sud.

Et parmi les morceaux mémorables associés à Witch, figure aussi le dernier, où les deux femmes célèbrent leur camaraderie. "Thelma & Louise", s'intitule-t-il, et c'est bien sûr le nom du film. Mais cela aurait dû être aussi, il y a fort longtemps, celui du projet commun de Lil' Kim et de Foxy Brown, avant que ces deux rappeuses ne se crêpent le chignon. Au bout du compte, ce que les deux New-yorkaises ne sont pas parvenu à entreprendre, les deux grandes dames de Memphis l'auront mené à bien, sur tous les plans ou presque.

Acheter cet album

Vos 10 albums rap 2010-19

Désignez vos 10 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de la décennie 2010-19. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, et la sélection de Fake For Real en parallèle.

Album #01

Album #02

Album #03

Album #04

Album #05

Album #06

Album #07

Album #08

Album #09

Album #10

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Vous pourriez aussi aimer...

  • R.A.P. FERREIRA - Purple Moonlight Pages R.A.P. FERREIRA - Purple Moonlight Pages
  • E-40 - My Ghetto Report Card E-40 - My Ghetto Report Card
  • BENNY THE BUTCHER - The Plugs I Met BENNY THE BUTCHER - The Plugs I Met
  • NICE - Must Be Nice 2 NICE - Must Be Nice 2
  • LIL BOOSIE  - Bad Azz LIL BOOSIE - Bad Azz
  • POLO G - The Goat POLO G - The Goat
  • PIMP C - Pimpalation PIMP C - Pimpalation
  • AJ TRACEY - AJ Tracey AJ TRACEY - AJ Tracey

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.