PEEZY - Ballin Ain't A Crime

There's not only one Peezy in the rap game. While the buzz is growing around OMB Peezy, another guy with the same moniker deserves our full attention: Team Eastside Peezy (per a new trend, rappers are now including their bands' name to their own: will we talk soon about WTC Raekwon?). His Ballin Ain't a Crime mixtape is, indeed, one of the best in 2017. Contrary to the young rapper from Alabama, though, this Peezy is quite experienced. Based out of Detroit, his collective is active since the early 2010's. Now almost 30, Phillip Glen-Earl Peaks already released several albums or mixtapes, like Mud, Sweat & Tears in 2015, his most noticeable one.

PEEZY - Ballin Ain't A Crime

Ballin Ain't a Crime was preceded by a non-musical event. Peezy, indeed, was arrested in 2016, with other members of his 6 Mile Chedda Grove gang, for racketeering. Following this, he titled his mixtape in a way that looks like his line of defense: ballin', showing up one's fancy lifestyle, is actually not a crime. The ways through which he achieves it, though, might very well be criminal, when reading between the lines the lyrics of the same-named song. This is one of the best on this free album, as well as the perfect introduction to the rapper: a bit like his neighbors (and collaborators) from Doughboyz Cashout, Peezy is both a flamboyant and threatening rapper, and a heir to No Limit – he uses the same "uhh" as Master P – but his beats are dryer, neater, cleaner, colder, his synthesizers more modern. He sounds more northern.

Some tracks don't comply with this formula. They are softer, like the Auto-Tuned "Session Litt", or "Eastside", a song with Philthy Rich, a guy already strongly connected to Detroit, and also with Jim Jones. But generally, the same recipe as "Ballin Ain't a Crime" applies through the mixtape. The same swift and relentless music supports the best tracks. Same with Peezy's implacable flow, who manages to outshine his many guests. Same again with the themes: his thirst for wealth, his street tales, and a few sexist words about girls ("All Over", "Soaking Wet").

This project, however, is never too repetitive. The bells and piano keys on the great "Against All Odds", the synthesizer on "Regardless", the guitar on "Soaking Wet", the rhythmic versatility of "I Got Mo", the relentless loop on the striking "Neverseen B4", or the sad trap music of "All Over" (one of his songs with Babyface Ray, another eminent guy from Team Eastside), make the mixtape diverse enough, until it is getting closed with "Everybody", another banger. Thanks to releases like this, it is now obvious: Detroit is one of the most exciting scenes in modern rap.

Download this mixtape

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer
  • HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love
  • KASH DOLL - Brat Mail KASH DOLL - Brat Mail
  • MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World
  • QUEEN KEY - Your Highness QUEEN KEY - Your Highness
  • RICO NASTY - Nasty RICO NASTY - Nasty
  • OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

PEEZY - Ballin Ain't A Crime

, 23:29 - Lien permanent

Un Peezy peut en cacher un autre. Alors que le buzz monte autour d'OMB Peezy, c'est un autre, Team Eastside Peezy (suivons donc cette mode qui consiste à précéder le nom d'un rappeur de celui de son collectif – parlerons-nous bientôt de WTC Raekwon ?) qui mérite toute notre attention. Celui-ci, en effet, a sorti avec Ballin Ain't A Crime, l'un des projets les plus notables de 2017. Contrairement au jeune natif de l'Alabama, cependant, celui-ci a de la bouteille. Son collectif, basé à Detroit, fait parler de lui depuis le début des années 2010. Et à presque 30 ans, Phillip Glen-Earl Peaks (son vrai nom) a déjà plusieurs albums ou mixtapes à son actif, dont Mud, Sweat & Tears, un projet de 2015, son plus remarqué à ce jour.

PEEZY - Ballin Ain't A Crime

Boyz Entertainment :: 2017 :: télécharger la mixtape

La sortie de Ballin Ain't A Crime a été précédée d'un fait divers. Fin 2016, en effet, Peezy s'est fait coffrer avec d'autres membres du gang 6 Mile Chedda Grove, pour des faits de racket. Le titre s'affiche donc comme sa ligne de défense : "ballin'" (étaler ses goûts de luxe), n'est pas un crime en soi. Mais les moyens employés pour y parvenir pourraient bien l'être, à lire entre les lignes le texte du titre éponyme. Celui-ci, l'un des meilleurs de cet album gratuit, est aussi une introduction parfaite au style du rappeur : dans un genre proche de ses voisins (et collaborateurs occasionnels) de Doughboy Cashout, Peezy donne dans un rap de flambeur menaçant, héritier lointain de No Limit (on y entend toujours les fameux "uhh" de Master P), mais avec des beats secs, nets, propres, plus froids et plus cliniques, plus nordiques en somme, et des nappes de synthétiseurs bien actuelles.

Quelques passages sont plus mous, comme le rap sous Auto-Tune de "Session Litt", et "Eastside", un titre grand écran en présence de Jim Jones (et d'un Philthy Rich qui confirme les liens forts de Peezy avec la Bay Area). Mais dans l'ensemble, c'est la formule de "Ballin Ain't A Crime" qui domine sur la mixtape du même nom. C'est la même musique véloce qui soutient les autres grands titres. C'est aussi, malgré les nombreux invités, le débit implacable de Peezy. Ce sont les mêmes envies de richesse, les mêmes contes sur les rivalités de la rue, entrecoupés de quelques considérations machistes sur les filles ("All Over", "Soaking Wet", etc.).

Ce projet, toutefois, a ce qu'il faut pour ne pas être répétitif. Les cloches et les touches de piano du formidable "Against All Odds", les nappes de "Regardless", le guitar rap de "Soaking Wet", les changements de rythmes d'un "I Got Mo", la boucle sans répit du saisissant "Neverseen B4" ou la trap triste de "All Over" (un des titres avec Babyface Ray, autre membre remarquable de la Team Eastside), toutes ces variations qui s'enchainent, jusqu'à la conclusion soutenue qu'est "Everybody", un autre tube, concourent à parfaire une recette devenue synonyme du Detroit d'aujourd'hui, et l'une des plus exaltantes dans le rap contemporain.

Évaluer ce billet

5/5

  • Note : 5
  • Votes : 1
  • Plus haute : 5
  • Plus basse : 5

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet