MOUSE ON THA TRACK & LIL CALI - Just Because

Mouse On Tha Track is mostly known as Lil Boosie's producer. To the connoisseurs, he is also accountable for some remarkable mixtapes, like Swagga Fresh Freddie and Millionaire Dreamzzz, a few solo projects he released while his main partner was in jail. But he also worked with other rappers, like Lil Cali. That one was also coming from Louisiana, from the smaller city of Ponchatoula, and he was part of Boosie's entourage. The first time he was noticed was in 2004, when he collaborated with him on the "U Ain't Sayin' Nuttin'" track. And though, contrary to others, he was not part of Trill Entertainment – he would join temporarily Asylum, and then UTP, the label of his youth idol Juvenile – he was associated with that crew.

MOUSE ON THA TRACK & LIL CALI - Just Because

One highlight in Lil Cali's career was that mixtape, Mouse On That Track contributed to, both as a producer, and as a rapper. There was none of Lil Boosie's occasional social depth in it. Just Because, however, was a good sample of Baton Rouge's festive kind of gangsta rap. The inconsequent lyrics were those of hedonist playas, enjoying true pleasures like sex, cash and club life. Except for Young Dro, all guests were Louisianans, like female rapper 3D Na'Tee, or a still unknown Kevin Gates. Mouse On Tha Track's raps looked actually more like chants, and they were quite complementary to Lil Cali's more orthodox ones. The rhythms were rousing and bouncy, and the sounds catchy and enticing. They almost looked like carnival music, like with the whistles on "Aint No Love", a track derived from Bobby Bland's similar named song.

That mixtape had many tracks like that, it was homogeneous. It had even better ones, true hits, like the anti-dickrider anthem "Get Off My Nuts", the braggadocio suite and exquisitely repetitive "High Definition", a great featuring of Young Dro, plus a few scratches, on "Ric Flair", and the swarming synthesizer of the aggressive "Merk". Even when Lil Cali wasn't there anymore, it banged, like with "Rubbin' on My Head", and the bonus "Work Dat Lumba". Which showed that even with the cat gone, be it Lil Boosie or Lil Cali, the Mouse still played it hard.

Download this mixtape

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer
  • HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love
  • KASH DOLL - Brat Mail KASH DOLL - Brat Mail
  • MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World
  • QUEEN KEY - Your Highness QUEEN KEY - Your Highness
  • RICO NASTY - Nasty RICO NASTY - Nasty
  • OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

MOUSE ON THA TRACK & LIL CALI - Just Because

, 23:24 - Lien permanent

Mouse On Tha Track est essentiellement connu pour être le producteur de Lil Boosie. Pour les plus connaisseurs, il est aussi l'auteur de mixtapes remarquables, comme Swagga Fresh Freddie et Millionaire Dreamzzz, sorties en solo pendant que son collaborateur privilégié croupissait en prison. Mais il a aussi travaillé avec d'autres rappeurs, par exemple Lil Cali. Issu lui aussi de Louisiane, mais de la petite ville de Ponchatoula, ce dernier a également fait partie de l'entourage de Boosie. C'est d'ailleurs par une collaboration avec lui, sur le titre "U Ain't Sayin' Nuttin'", qu'il s'est fait connaître, en 2004. Et s'il n'a jamais rejoint l'écurie Trill Entertainment (il sera signé un temps sur la major Asylum, et puis plus tard sur UTP, le label de son idole de jeunesse Juvenile), il lui aura été étroitement associé.

xx

Str8 Jacket Ent. :: 2009 :: télécharger la mixtape

L'un des épisodes marquants de la carrière de Lil Cali a donc été cette mixtape, conçue avec un Mouse On Tha Track présent au micro tout comme à la production. Si l'on n'y retrouvait pas l'épaisseur sociale qui caractérise parfois Lil Boosie, Just Because était en tout cas une illustration fidèle de l'atmosphère gangsta festive du rap de Baton Rouge. Les paroles étaient celles, inconséquentes, de m'as-tu-vu hédonistes, elles célébraient ces plaisirs de la vie que sont le club, le sexe, le cash ; à l'exception de Young Dro, les invités n'étaient que des Louisianais (la rappeuse 3D Na'Tee, un Kevin Gates encore méconnu) ; les raps de Mouse On Tha Track étaient quasiment des chants, formant un complément parfait à ceux, plus attendus, de Lil Cali ; ses rythmes étaient sautillants et dansants, et ses sons entrainants et relevés, voire presque carnavalesques, comme avec les sifflets de "Aint No Love", dérivé méconnaissable du titre quasi homonyme de Bobby Bland.

Des titres de cet acabit, cette mixtape extraordinairement homogène ne comptait que cela. Elle en proposait même de bien meilleurs, de véritables tubes, par exemple cet hymne anti "suceurs de boules" (pour parler clairement) qu'est "Get Off My Nuts", cette suite de fanfaronnades qu'est l'exquisément répétitif "High Definition", la grande collaboration avec Young Dro, scratches à l'appui, qu'est "Ric Flair", ou ce titre tout en synthétiseur vibrionnant qu'est l'agressif "Merk". Et même quand Lil Cali n'était plus là, comme sur "Rubbin' on My Head" et sur le bonus "Work Dat Lumba", c'était bien. Comme quoi, même les chats partis, qu'il s'agisse de Lil Boosie ou de Lil Cali, la Souris continuait à nous faire danser.

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 2009

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 2009. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet