Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

LADY LESHURR - Friggin L

, 15:13 - Permalink

Lady Leshurr is one of those who, recently, benefited from the grime resurgence. Along with others like Skepta or Stormzy, this British rapper caught the attention of her American peers over the last few months, with her "Queen's Speech" freestyle series. The fourth of them even made it to a Samsung commercial, exposing her to a large audience. And in her recent interviews, she mentioned potential collaborations with US heavyweights like Bangladesh and Timbaland.

LADY LESHURR - Friggin L

Self-released :: 2011 :: download mixtape

It is not the first time, though, that Lady Leshurr is identified as a rising star, or that she is noticed in America. It happened already, by 2011, with her third – or maybe her fourth, depending on how we count them – mixtape: Friggin L. This was such a defining release for her, that she would name that way her own clothing brand. The reason why this was noticed, was her own take on Chris Brown's "Look at Me Now". Her video was a parody of the original one, and it buzzed significantly on the Internet, catching the ears of people like Lil Wayne and Trey Songz. And Lady Leshurr's notoriety developed even further a bit later, with the success of her single "Blazin’", a collaboration with the production duo Torqux. By then, she had been offered attracting deals by major labels. But she declined their proposals, apparently unhappy with being positioned as a rival to Nicki Minaj.

This background story is telling us something about Lady Leshurr: her music has a strong US focus, even if she is associated to the grime scene. After having been an actress in a movie about gangs, 1 Day, by 2009, and relocated to London, she'd been acknowledged by grime rappers as one of them. And her style, made for a large part of freestyles delivered in double time on IDM-sounding music – she even collaborated with electronic music veterans like Orbital – was quite close to theirs. However, the citizen of Birmingham whom Melesha O'Garro was, has been primarily influenced by the likes of Eminem, Missy Elliott and Busta Rhymes, in their most extravagant times. And her music is full of such American influences.

This is obvious on Friggin L. This traditional kind of mixtape – it compiled freestyles delivered on existing materials – did not only appropriate Chris Brown's music. As early as with the first track, with her impressively quick flow, she rode Rick Ross' monstrous "B.M.F". She did the same with Lil Wayne and Cory Gunz's "6 Foot 7 Foot". And then, with "Pizzin' on 'Em", putting aside her typical style of rap, she imitated Nicki Minaj's in a convincing way on her own "Did It on 'Em". It was only at the end, with "Touch a Follow Button", that Leshurr recalled where she was from. When, as an Englishwoman of Caribbean descent, she turned into dancehall; or when she was 100% grime again with Tinchy Stryder's "Game Over".

It was actually the second time that Lady Leshurr played with that track. She had done it one year earlier, along with seven other UK female rappers, on a powerful feminist anthem. But with Friggin L, it was her own manifesto that she delivered.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

LADY LESHURR - Friggin L

, 15:13 - Lien permanent

Lady Leshurr est de ceux qui, depuis quelque temps, profitent de la résurgence médiatique du grime. Avec quelques autres comme Skepta ou Stormzy, elle fait partie de ces rappeurs britanniques auxquels des Américains accordent désormais une attention toute particulière. Elle a fait à nouveau parler d'elle, ces derniers mois, avec une série de freestyles intitulés "Queen's Speech", dont le quatrième fit l'objet d'un spot publicitaire pour Samsung, l'exposant à un très large public. Et dans ses interviews récentes, il a été question de collaborations possibles avec des poids lourds de la production en Amérique, comme Bangladesh et Timbaland.

LADY LESHURR - Friggin L

Autoproduit :: 2011 :: télécharger la mixtape

Ce n'est pourtant pas la première fois que Lady Leshurr fait figure d'artiste prometteuse, ni même qu'elle se fait remarquer Outre-Atlantique. Cela était déjà arrivé en 2011, avec sa troisième (ou quatrième, selon les décomptes) mixtape, Friggin L, une sortie si capitale qu'elle nommera ainsi sa future ligne de vêtements. Celle-ci, en effet, avait été annoncée par une réinterprétation du "Look at Me Now" de Chris Brown, dont la vidéo, une parodie de l'originale, fit un carton sur le Web, et attira une première fois les égards de gens comme Lil Wayne et Trey Songz. La notoriété de la rappeuse fit encore un bond ensuite, avec le succès du single "Blazin’", conçu avec le duo de producteurs Torqux. D'après ses dires, de gros labels lui firent des offres en ces années-là, qu'elle déclina, refusant qu'ils contrôlent son image et qu'ils l'entraînent dans une rivalité fictive avec Nicki Minaj.

Ces diverses aventures disent quelque chose sur Lady Leshurr : sa musique a un fort tropisme américain. Certes, la rappeuse s'est d'abord fait connaître auprès de la scène grime. Après avoir joué un rôle important dans un film sur la vie des gangs, 1 Day, en 2009, elle avait été adoubée par quelques grands noms du genre, et elle s'était relocalisée près d'eux, à Londres. Et son style, fait en majeure partie de freestyles, d'un rap en mode double time et de sons issus des musiques électroniques (on l'a aussi vue collaborer avec Orbital, vétérans de l'electronica), a toutes les caractéristiques de cette musique. Cependant, cette citoyenne de Birmingham qu'est Melesha O'Garro, dont les principales influences sont Eminem, Missy Elliott et Busta Rhymes dans leurs moments les plus extravagants et dans leurs raps les plus hypersoniques, joue aussi bien des influences américaines.

C'était évident sur Friggin L. Cette mixtape à l'ancienne (une suite de freestyles sur la musique des autres) ne se contentait pas de recycler Chris Brown. D'emblée, c'est le mastodonte "B.M.F" de Rick Ross qu'elle investissait, avec son débit rapide. Puis venait le tour du "6 Foot 7 Foot" de Lil Wayne et Cory Gunz. S'émancipant de son phrasé habituel, elle imitait Nicki Minaj de manière convaincante sur "Pizzin' On 'Em", sur la musique du "Did It On 'Em" de l'intéressée. Il n'y avait guère qu'à la fin que Lady Leshurr rappelait une bonne fois ses origines : quand cette Anglaise d'ascendance caribéenne tournait dancehall sur "Touch a Follow Button", et quand elle redevenait 100% grime, en rappant sur le très électronique "Game Over" de Tinchy Stryder. En 2011, c'était en fait la seconde fois qu'elle s'accaparait ce morceau. Elle l'avait fait déjà, l'an passé, avec sept autres rappeuses anglaises, le temps d'un retentissant manifeste féministe. Mais cette fois, sur Friggin L, c'est bel et bien son manifeste à elle, qu'elle signait.

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 2011

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 2011. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet