CHIEF KEEF - Two Zero One Seven

Things are going fast, in rap music. Chief Keef's fate is a proof of this. Five years earlier, in 2012, he was on the verge of becoming the master of the world. The big thing, by then, was Chicago's drill music, and the young rapper was incontestably its figurehead. Multiple media talked about him, as many labels courted him, and he had the opportunity to release a popular album. One year later, he joined Gucci Mane's 1017 Brick Squad crew, he featured on Kanye West's Yeezus, and even Lou Reed praised him. But suddenly, it was over. Chief Keef had to deal with judiciary issues, he was dropped from Interscope, and after having built his success out of a populist stance, he turned more or less experimental. He even left Chicago, he announced he would retire from music, and he didn't release any project in 2016.

CHIEF KEEF - Two Zero One Seven

Glo Gang :: 2017 :: download mixtape

2017, though, was another story. In the very first day of the new year, he released a mixtape named after it. And this release, its lo-fi sound and approximate mix put aside, happened to be quite good. Chief Keef, it is known, is not a lyricist. He is something superior: he is a musician. He has an excellent ear, which allows him to put together a curious mix of sing-songs and harsh words on "Fix That", and to make these sound cohesive. He is less belligerent than before, and sometimes he is singing some strange and frail songs, like with "Falling on the Floor". Even his "bang bangs", his signature, sound soft and susurrated. But still: his tired, worn and aged tone is as impactful as his brash lyrics of yesterday.

Chief Keef covers most of the production work, along with the loyal Young Chop, and another star on the decline, Lex Luger. Almost no-one is invited to rap along himself, except Tadoe. And though, Two Zero One Seven is super diverse: "Short", "Go", and the outstanding "Stand Down", are supported by a trap music artillery; the melody on "So Tree" is catchy, as well as the relentless piano keys on "Dope Smokes"; and there are a few indolent tracks. The rapper and producer plays with various colors. He also has a great idea: inserting, in the very middle of the project, just after its best half, the atypical "Hit the Lotto", a song sung with Auto-Tune, with the support of his only other guest on the project: his own sister Kash.

In the year Two Zero One Seven, Chief Keef is no longer the center of all attentions, but he is as relevant as ever. He released something like twenty projects in his career, went through a series of mischief, got three or four more or less official children, and developed a passion for painting. And though, in addition to all of this, he started the year with one of its best project. And the guy is only 21. There are people like this, offering to themselves full and exciting lives.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer
  • HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love
  • KASH DOLL - Brat Mail KASH DOLL - Brat Mail
  • MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World
  • QUEEN KEY - Your Highness QUEEN KEY - Your Highness
  • RICO NASTY - Nasty RICO NASTY - Nasty
  • OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

CHIEF KEEF - Two Zero One Seven

, 22:53 - Lien permanent

La roue tourne vite dans le rap, et Chief Keef en est l'exemple. Il y a cinq ans, en 2012, le monde lui était promis. La sensation d'alors, c'était la drill music de Chicago, et le très jeune rappeur en était, sans conteste, la figure de proue. Il avait été couvert par de nombreux médias et courtisé par autant de labels, avant de sortir un album remarqué. L'année suivante, il rejoignait le 1017 Brick Squad de Gucci Mane, et il intervenait sur le Yeezus de Kanye West, s'attirant à l'occasion les éloges de Lou Reed, excusez du peu. Mais après, patatras. Chief Keef fut embarqué dans des ennuis judiciaires sans fin, il fut débarqué de chez Interscope, il prit parfois un virage expérimental pas compris de tous, il quitta Chicago, il annonça vouloir se retirer de la musique, et il passa l'année 2016 sans rien sortir.

CHIEF KEEF - Two Zero One Seven

Glo Gang :: 2017 :: télécharger la mixtape

2017, cependant, s'annonce différemment. Le 1er janvier de la nouvelle année, il a sorti une mixtape à son nom. Et celle-ci, si l'on oublie un instant ses atours lo-fi et les écarts de volume entre les morceaux, s'avère redoutablement bonne. Chief Keef, on le sait, n'est pas un lyriciste. Mais il est bien mieux : un musicien. Il a une vraie oreille, et elle lui permet, par exemple sur le mémorable "Fix That", d'agencer en un tout cohérent un ensemble surprenant de mélodies rappées-chantées et de propos plus tranchants. Il a perdu de sa hargne, et il se lance parfois dans de drôles de chants frêles, comme sur "Falling on the Floor". Même ses "bang bang" rituels paraissent mous et susurrés. Mais son ton fatigué, usé, vieilli (comme disait l'autre), n'est pas moins éloquent que ses agressions d'avant.

Chief Keef prend en main la majorité de la production (avec l'appoint du fidèle Young Chop, ainsi que d'une autre étoile sur le déclin, Lex Luger), et il n'invite presque personne à part Tadoe. Et pourtant, Two Zero One Seven est d'une grande diversité : artillerie trap pataude sur "Short", "Go" et le prenant "Stand Down", mélodie entêtante sur "So Tree", piano répétitif sur cet autre temps fort qu'est "Dope Smokes", et passages plus indolents. Le rappeur et producteur joue de plusieurs couleurs. Il a aussi la bonne idée d'insérer, au beau milieu de la mixtape, à l'issue de la meilleure moitié du projet, un "Hit the Lotto" à contre-courant, interprété à l'Auto-Tune avec son seul autre invité, sa propre sœur Kash.

En deux zéro un sept, donc, même s'il n'est plus au centre de l'attention, Chief Keef est pertinent comme jamais. Après une vingtaine d'albums et de mixtapes, un nombre aussi impressionnant de frasques, trois ou quatre enfants plus ou moins légitimes, et le début d'une passion pour la peinture, le rappeur parvient encore à sortir l'un des projets rap (déjà) les plus marquants de l'année. Ah : et il n'a encore que 21 ans. Il y en a, comme ça, qui s'offrent des vies bien remplies.

Évaluer ce billet

4.5/5

  • Note : 4.5
  • Votes : 2
  • Plus haute : 5
  • Plus basse : 4

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet